| Sputnikmusic

I’ve been mulling a review of David Bowie’s most recent album, Blackstar, which, if you’re reading this, no doubt you’ve realized was released mere days before his passing on January 10th. He died in peace, surrounded by family, so we’re told by his publicist. Could there be a better way to go for a man who […]

I’ve occasionally come across a particular notion in the music community that the more we listen to the more we build expectations, higher and higher until the bar’s raised unattainably high and we in turn forget what it’s like for that threshold to be met in the first place. I’ve never explicitly agreed with this thought because […]

Tags: , ,

From an editorial standpoint, the Year-End features are a lot of fun, despite the hectic scheduling and frenetic coordinating necessary to ensure we meet our [perpetually-malleable] deadlines. This is especially true for the Users’ Year-End list, which requires me to rely on the site’s contributing contingent to create the blurbs that complement each album in the feature. […]

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always found late December/early January to be a dead zone for music.  Aside from a few stray finds, it’s typically just a time for me to reflect upon the previous year, look at others’ year-end favorites, and see if I can augment my musical collection with their discoveries. […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 10. Intronaut – The Direction Of Last Things [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] Love it or hate it, progressive metal is a tough genre to tackle because it takes true skill to balance technicality and emotion. At the same time, it’s another skill to make it sound completely engaging even when it’s nothing […]

Oh, you thought this was going to be the Top Ten LPs of 2015 feature? It’s okay. You can come back tomorrow (maybe) for the 10-1 LPs. –Jom 10 (tie). Foreign Fields – What I Kept in Hiding [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] 10 (tie). Plini – The End of Everything [Bandcamp] // [Spotify] // […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 30. Hiatus Kaiyote – Choose Your Weapon [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] It took me a long time to come around to Choose Your Weapon. Even as an avid fan of their debut, the follow-up is incomparably perplexing. Every time you start to wrap your head around the groove, tracks […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 50. The Tallest Man on Earth – Dark Bird Is Home [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] Despite expanding his sound to fill a much broader scope, Kristian Matsson’s fourth full length shares a vital component with its predecessors: an unmistakable feeling of connection with the listener. Deemed his most […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 10. Dance Gavin Dance – Instant Gratification [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] Holy shit. Hooooooooooooooooooly shit, you guys. Just picture me, sitting here, profound grin across my face as I read every single comment about Bring Me The Horizon coming in at #42… Let’s just say I’m truly thankful to be able to join […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 30. Cult Leader – Lightless Walk [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] In 2012, I felt a renewed faith in “heavy” music. When Gaza dropped No Absolutes In Human Suffering, it was refreshing, to say the least. Three years later, Cult Leader have risen from the ashes and released an album mired in […]

50-31 | 30-11 | 10-1 50. Fightstar – Behind the Devil’s Back [Official Site] // [Spotify] // [Facebook] Following a surprise hiatus and the ongoing reunion rumors of front-man Charlie Simpson’s seemingly buried boy-band past, anyone could be forgiven for thinking that 2009’s superb Be Human would be Fightstar’s swan song. However, the English post-hardcore, come-alternative metal quartet […]

Welcome back!  It’s hard to believe that it’s already been a year since the highly acclaimed SMA’s (Sowing’s Music Awards) made its debut, and – to your certain delight – the feature has returned in 2015 to bring you the best of…well, whatever I say is best.  I’m sure you are the most excited you’ve been all […]

Can we start again, go back to what it meant back then? The intentions have never been lost, but in the case of Bane, we can’t go back. Instead, there are a few select chances left for both Europeans and North Americans to see the legendary Boston hardcore outfit, who will be drawing a line […]

Zardonic is one of the heaviest non-underground DJ-s out there right now, which is also why I was so interested in chatting him up. One of the main things that I look for in music is adrenaline, and Zardonic’s music has a lot of that. It’s not hard to see why either: Federico Agreda, the […]

Run River North – “Mr. Brightside” It isn’t often that I feel compelled to share cover versions of songs.  Then again, most covers aren’t so stunning that they stop you in your tracks.  Run River North’s take on the famous Killers’ single “Mr. Brightside” is absolutely breathtaking, and if you haven’t already stumbled upon it […]

Page 10 of 86« First...89101112203040...Last »

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy