Kayo Dot
Coffins on Io


4.0
excellent

Review

by HamishObserves USER (1 Reviews)
October 13th, 2014 | 333 replies


Release Date: 10/16/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: He drew the pictures of his dreams - mechanically.

Kayo Dot emerged into my musical life with Hubardo. That album was a revelation to me, through both its vivacity and aplomb, and comfortably resided amongst my favourite albums of last year. Nonetheless, I was content to explore Kayo Dot's discography with patience - and so, just as I was once again growing intrigued by their work, it was a delight to discover they would be releasing another album this year.

Coffins on Io is terrifically distinct to Hubardo. Rather than conducting an exposition of the band's stylistic shift, I think this change is best expressed through contrasting the thematic tone of this album to its antecedent. It was interesting to note that Hubardo, both lyrically and sonically, had an intense reliance on earthly nature. Yet Coffins draws upon a wholly different source - that of space highways and cosmic ordeals. There is a strong sci-fi tone to this album, which is conveyed in its streamlined and often emphatic instrumentation. The seas, rivers, trees and storms portrayed in Coffins' predecessor are supplanted by a futurist void.

Coffins on Io hums with a sleek and synthetic resonance. Regardless, I'd most liken Coffins on Io to some of the more impressive progressive rock acts of old. Peter Gabriel-era Genesis is conjured in Kayo Dot's flair and force. Electronics intimate over a tightly bound drum performance, whilst bass and guitar cruise along in strange, planetary melodies. On occasion the music will open into a great aperture where Toby Driver's vocals resound. His performance is captured in intimate detail, especially on the uneasy croon of Offramp Cycle, Pattern 22 - 'Blood on my hands/And the thing on the backseat/That used to be human.'

Each of these songs is vibrant and exciting. A mighty finale arises from the darkness and dormancy of The Mortality of Doves, symbolising the great turmoil of Coffins on Io. As for the opening of Library Subterranean - one can imagine standing bereft and alone before an empyrean infinite. However, the grandeur of these moments is somewhat mitigated by instances of mildness and repetition. For example, Spirit Photography features a lapse which stifles the song. Whilst I appreciate it as being zany and alien, the conclusion of Library Subterranean does persist for longer than feels intuitive or necessary. The same can be said for quite a few melodies here.

Though Kayo Dot's approach is highly individual, and decidedly makes no concessions, this album is configured in a way which could interest many. The band perform acutely and execute the conceptual aspect of this album with finesse. I haven't yet been mesmerised, but I consider Coffins on Io to be an excellent piece of music.


user ratings (347)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
AlexanderScriabin (4)
I should be somewhere, praying that I'm dreaming...

CamWJohnson (3)
Toby Driver promises a more grounded, '80s-esque flavor with Kayo Dot's latest experiment, "Coffins ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
HamishObserves
October 12th 2014


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first text review. Here's my YouTube channel, where I review and discuss music - http://www.youtube.com/user/MorbidObscurity



I'll be talking about Coffins on Io over there too. Let me know what you think, everyone!

AnimalsAsSummit
October 12th 2014


3479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i find it awesome that hubardo opened an entry point to kayo dot for a lot of people; its quite an eclectic stew that really showcases the band at their prime (although i think this is a bit better). lovely review too

Digging: Toby Driver - They Are the Shield

makrand
October 12th 2014


52 Comments


Lovely first review Hamish. Have a pos.

Veldin
October 12th 2014


3561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2014


6675 Comments


Very nice first review, pos. I'll give it a more thorough read later and try and come up with some better feedback, but all in all
this looks very well written

BMDrummer
October 12th 2014


14285 Comments


very good first review, gonna check your youtube stuff man

scottpilgrim10
October 12th 2014


4750 Comments


Fantastic review. Still need to check this

ILJ
October 12th 2014


6941 Comments


"Coffins on Io is a significant development from Hubardo."

perhaps i'm mistaken but i don't think "development" is necessarily the word you're looking for. departure, maybe? reads awkwardly this way

Asdfp277
October 13th 2014


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

artwork is gorgeous, has anybody discussed that already?



it's gorgeous

HamishObserves
October 13th 2014


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ILJ - Thanks for pointing that out, you're right.

Ending
October 13th 2014


2177 Comments


Can't wait to hear this.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2014


8870 Comments


Probably inside my top 5 albums this year with this,

ChoccyPhilly
October 13th 2014


11779 Comments


Your youtube stuff is quality, as is this review :]

johnnydeking29
October 13th 2014


11671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pos'd, nice job. A little bit more comparison with Hubardo than I would have considered necessary, but you worked it to your style and I'm just being picky. Hopefully that other review will be forgotten forever now.

Digging: Coheed and Cambria - The Unheavenly Creatures

HamishObserves
October 13th 2014


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the responses, all!

hogan900
October 13th 2014


2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I completely agree with you on almost all your points, pos.



I do like this better than Hubardo though, this is probably my 3rd favorite Kayo Dot.

Totengott
October 13th 2014


4217 Comments


Still need to hear this, nice review and have a pos.

Comatorium.
October 13th 2014


4843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Better review than the last. The only subpar moments are some parts of the last track.



Does anyone else feel like The Assassination of Adam should've had some harsh vocals thrown in? I feel like they missed an opportunity there.

Veldin
October 13th 2014


3561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://emptylighthouse.com/kayo-dot-go-pop-pop-goes-weird-review-coffins-io-534699229



Pretty good read with some humor mixed in.

trackbytrackreviews
October 13th 2014


3365 Comments


Is it too early to 5 it already



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy