Alcest
Les Chants de L'Aurore


4.0
excellent

Review

by jesper STAFF
June 20th, 2024 | 594 replies


Release Date: 06/21/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: emerging from the shelter to frolic on the hill

I could throw lots of pretty if unsurprising adjectives at Les Chants de l'Aurore, and while they would be appropriate descriptors for this new Alcest album, they wouldn't quite capture its essence. Not that a review should strive to do so - I'm mostly here to pretentiously say “album good” or “album bad” - but it's quite striking how the French outfit's music has, sometimes quite literally, transcended words. Even when the band sought out the furthest corners of their blackened dreamgaze sound, songs felt all-encapsulating: the type of music to shush you into full-on aural submission. As such, the most appropriate compliment I can give Les Chants… is that I keep having to turn it off to actually write this review.

Alright, cool, it's a captivating album - what's new? Not much, to be fair: Les Chants… sounds like an Alcest album, and thankfully it sounds like a good Alcest album. While it would have been cool to hear Neige and co. experiment a little beyond their recording setup, it's hard to think of a band more deserving of a sonic victory lap. Admittedly, 2019's Spiritual Instinct already felt like a victory lap of sorts, but where that album embraced a darker, more immediate comfort zone, this new album is a little lighter. Les Chants… is a little more summery hill and a little less clouded mountain. Its guitars shimmer on a near-Shelter level and each song feels highly organic rather than deliberate: best of all, the album is entirely balanced and does not rely extensively on one particular songwriting trick. Alcest seem content crafting an atmosphere, and subsequently allowing it to naturally evolve songs into unique experiences. From acoustic meanderings to explosive climaxes and lots of trademark reverb-drenched “ooooooohh”s, Les Chants… finds a way to weave together just about every sonic location the band have visited before.

This does mean that it's not a particularly surprising album: Les Chants… mostly finds its own spot in Alcest's discography by being the most complete and accurate representation of what the band are all about. It's unlikely to turn naysayers into fans, but if you need an album to introduce newcomers to Alcest, this might just be the one to show them. You know what, make it a flowchart: what's your favourite aspect of the album? The climaxes -> check Kodama, the delicate dreaminess -> check Shelter, the lushness -> check Écailles de Lune. Either way, happy summer, and don't you dare yap or write through this album: meadow-frolicking only, please.



Recent reviews by this author
In Hearts Wake IncarnationThe Dangerous Summer Gravity
The Story So Far I Want to DisappearBathe Alone I Don't Do Humidity
DIIV Frog In Boiling WaterGraywave Dancing in the Dust
user ratings (256)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


5545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tldr alcest's second straight summer album and this one actually drops in summer lfg

JayEnder
June 20th 2024


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Back to back banger Jesp reviews, niceee. Very stoked for this, from what I hear this sounds like an amalgamation of everything they've done.

Purpl3Spartan
June 20th 2024


8774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excited for this

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


2307 Comments


Awesome review and more or less what I was hoping from how the album was rolled out. Excited to listen/frolic this weekend

budgie
June 20th 2024


36711 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks jesper !!!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


5545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys!! accidentally dibsed three june 21st albums so i'm glad these revs are readable hahaha

JayEnder
June 20th 2024


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is Foreign Hands the third one? 🤔

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


61266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lfg fully expecting this to be one of the corniest releases of the year, but if it brings back the Shelter vibes maybe it has a chance

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


5545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is the dangerous summer 😔

lol i mean this band is the best type of corny but it is the shelteriest they've been since shelter without being over(t)ly sheltery

DungeonBoy
June 20th 2024


9830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is incredible

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

About to dive in. Good write up Jesp. :*

zaruyache
June 20th 2024


27529 Comments


alcest time tmrw yay

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Half way through, this is incredible (like Dungeon said)

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2024


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Of course there was gonna be japanese spoken word, Neige, you lovely weeb

budgie
June 21st 2024


36711 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh cool metal tracker has it up, thought i was gonn have to wait 24 hours to hear it again

Dmax28
June 21st 2024


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably their best album. Waaaay better than the last. I enjoy this more than any of their other stuff. This is easily the brightest they have ever sounded, while being more focused than most of their stuff. This is what I've wanted from them for a long time.

budgie
June 21st 2024


36711 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

absofruitly

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2024


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album of the Year.

cloakanddagger
June 21st 2024


741 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fantastic album, perfect for the summer solstice.

kalkwiese
June 21st 2024


10489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't wait to get to this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy