Arcade Fire
Everything Now


3.0
good

Review

by house cat STAFF
July 28th, 2017 | 568 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: dancing around gleefully at the bottom of the barrel

Finally, we can rejoice, boys and girl(s"). We’ve found, for better or for probably worse, a record that voluntarily drags its feet in neon coloured sands; a record that competently trades blows with my very own vapid, circumlocutory style of prose. In anticipation of this here album, Arcade Fire wore a glittered heart on their sleeve, coding the hype machine with the surface-level lyricism of their singles so as to create surface-level expectations that they may glide gracefully over.

(All speculation, of course. In any case:“Looking for signs of life / Looking for signs every night / But there's no signs of life / So we do it again” patently belies the notion.)

Oh, Arcade Fire: you beautiful, sprightly, naïve, optimistic, stupid stupid stupid band.

I refuse to begrudge this group their optimism. In between blind proclamations that arise from the same place as platitudes, Everything Now is a place of genuine triumph. The hook to Put Your Money On Me flies low with the admission: “I know it’s not easy”, momentarily washing away the pomposity, the larger-than-life polished affectations. It is here, at eye level (and/or at face value) that the record feels more like a celebration than an overcompensation. It’s a tightrope walk, sure – where Arcade Fire continually, obstinately take one giant, eager step forward only to follow it up with a thousand smaller steps in the opposite direction. Keep calm: inhale / count to three / exhale.

And it’s entirely understandable – inevitable, even – that this album is verbose; fuelled by a sense of wonder that is mostly lost on me. Sure, Chemistry is indomitably vibrant, but it feels like an especially milquetoast Vampire Weekend (shout-outs to Vampire Weekend) song, replete with deflating wind instruments and the kind of call-and-response vocal that the average person can spot from a mile away. Then, there’s Infinite Content – a split-second of self-reflection that spans two different pieces. It’s ironic, I think, that they run dry the well of precious time to espouse “infinite content”, just to compensate for the fact that – during this record – there isn’t actually much of it. Unsurprisingly, this is what happens when you narrow your scope on the concept of everything, trying to curtail a spectrum of spectrums without deciding on an angle with which to approach it. Arcade Fire aren’t at a loss for words, they’re just at a loss for things to say.

I’m not here to wax lyrical about works like Funeral only to scorn this record like it’s the child I never wanted. Moreso, it’s the child I never knew I never wanted. I’m not one for hype – I either ignore it or learn to love something I’ve become prematurely invested in. Everything Now, I feel, is Arcade Fire commanding respect by ignoring the hype that they’ve inadvertently generated. Forgive me for shoehorning in a vague sense of positivity, but there will always be something to be said of bands that do their own thing, even if their fans insist it’s the opposite. So, by all means, it’s my belief that this record is surface-level. It’s fleeting and it’s turgid and it’s offensively ornate, but Arcade Fire probably couldn’t care less -- and that’s a wonderful thing.



Recent reviews by this author
Drug Church CHEERcolourblind Move Like You
Horror My Friend Home LifeMitski Be the Cowboy
Nostrum Grocers Nostrum GrocersCuntz Here Come the Real Boys...Live in the USA
user ratings (401)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
Coldplaz (2.5)
The fall of indie rock giants...

Ocean of Noise (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

in which i write another contrived thing for a subjectively average album and end up feeling a bit guilty

DoofusWainwright
July 28th 2017


20001 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

How bad were The Clash five albums in? People usually compare the discogs for some reason.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2017


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

jack, you are finer at smithing words than Arcade Fire are at churning out hammy, histrionic anthems for the talentless art student..

Digging: The Vanity Set - The Vanity Set

BigPleb
July 28th 2017


55556 Comments


Disco folk? Interesting.

DoofusWainwright
July 28th 2017


20001 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Wedding disco folk

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2017


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

in the small village on the edge of the universe where I grew up, we called people who didn't button their shirt's collars 'disco folk..'

Archelirion
July 28th 2017


5593 Comments


"a record that competently trades blows with my very own vapid, circumlocutory style of prose"
Talk dirty to me

Lovely review once more, almost certainly going to pass on this one. A milquetoast Vampire Weekend (a band I already despise) sounds like my idea of hell

Digging: The Body - O God who avenges, shine forth. Rise up, Judge of

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


11589 Comments


Review is an absolute pleasure to read

Digging: Dekagram - May Flights Of Devils Guide

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you all make me feel warm inside although that might be heartburn

danielcardoso
July 28th 2017


11768 Comments


Amazing review bud :D

DeusAutomata9012
July 28th 2017


561 Comments


I'm sick of all these indie rock bands tryin to hard to be the bee gees, specially the respected ones like arcade fire and tame impala. Here the trend is less tolerable than before because most of the songs here are just average, those seems more material crafted by foster the people or another average indie pop band, this is a lazy effort considering this band has made some of the best indie rock out there and considering they made the her soundtrack which is flawless, in reflektor at least the whole thing was fun as hell. I hope they get back to the sound of the funeral, neon bible or suburbs era or the downfall will be much worse



JohnZapp
July 28th 2017


32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont agree with the Chemistry -to- Vampire Weekend comparison at all. Chemistry is more like a dragged out version of Flashbulb Eyes. The song itself isn't bad, but itll have no replay value at all



Other than that, I mostly agree with everything else. There are definitely some highlights on here for me (Electric Blue, Put Your Money on Me, We Dont Deserve Love, Creature Comfort). But the middle of the album where Creature Comfort ends is possibly their worst 3-4 tracks

Ocean of Noise
July 28th 2017


10358 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Amazing review. I hope I like the album more than you do, though.

Digging: The 3rd and the Mortal - Tears Laid in Earth

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks ocean and daniel!

@Deus: you ok bud? you feelin wronged or somethin??

Chortles
July 28th 2017


21294 Comments


rev is a total beauty

ianblxdsoe
July 28th 2017


1895 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

you are a fucking LEGEND you prolific cunt

Digging: Antarctigo Vespucci - Love in the Time of E?-?Mail

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

my GOODNESS i love you two!!!! ! ! ! !!!

DeusAutomata9012
July 28th 2017


561 Comments



@Deus: you ok bud? you feelin wronged or somethin??


Yeah, I am ok, I am just pissed due to the fact that arcade fire keeps releasing disco music and unlike reflektor which was funny disco music hipsters this is average disco music for hipster, now you understand buddy. I hope arcade fire improves with the next effort cuz if they keep derpin while I am djentin the whole band will be done and everybody will be sad, you see

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2612 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

When will I learn not to reach for the pos icon..? Lovely work as usual. I wasn't huge on the singles, but I might give this a go.

Digging: Lil Zubin - Heavy Down Pour

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2017


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

understandable have a nice day



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy