Owen
The Falls of Sioux


3.7
great

Review

by A.R.O. STAFF
April 29th, 2024 | 30 replies


Release Date: 04/26/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: summery snug dreamfolk for you!

As someone with no knowledge of Owen’s storied discography nor nostalgia for Mike Kinsella’s flagship project American Football, I can say without bias that The Falls of Sioux is a lovely little indie folk album. Most cuts might seem foreign to anyone familiar only with his early emo days, but the cinematic production and chiming guitars feel like a natural extension of Kinsella’s work on LP3. The western guitars and high-noon bells of opener “A Reckoning” belie the song’s grizzled brand of Americana, while “Beaucoup”’s subtle guitar antics never threaten to overshadow the surprising potency of Kinsella’s heartfelt “coup”-ing (one rare moment where his vocals steal the spotlight from these layered soundscapes).

Yet the remaining album is more boilerplate indie folk than we’re led to believe. “Virtue Misspent” especially will draw ire from those sick of the post-Punisher state of folk; the tune plays as if he’s breathlessly trying to catch up with pop culture before a truly head-scratching spoken word feature derails its would-be crescendo. Thankfully, this is the only proper miss, and nearly every other song has its charms—S. Carey's clattering percussion on “Mount Cleverest,” “Hit and Run”’s delicate mix of strings and plucked guitars. Even better, “With You Without You” ties all these dream-folky sonic whims into a resplendent finale packed with crystalline guitars guided by a steady, pounding pulse.

Anyone enamored by American Football’s late-career swerve into dream pop will find some jewels well worth digging for, and at 40 minutes, the album is perfectly sized for anyone looking for diversion in its cozy sound.



Recent reviews by this author
Willow Smith EmpathogenHabitants Alma
Allie X Girl With No FaceShygirl Club Shy
King Creosote I DESFrost Children Hearth Room
user ratings (29)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Choice Cuts: With You Without You / Beaucoup / Penny / A Reckoning

Hawks
April 29th 2024


89540 Comments


Gotta hear this.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

curious what the hawks take will be!

Futures
April 30th 2024


11093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

with you without you and beaucoup are head and heels above the rest. at least this got me to jam at home with owen finally.

Trebor.
Emeritus
April 30th 2024


59903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Didn't even know this was coming out

Cormano
April 30th 2024


4171 Comments


how the hell has it been 4 years since The Avalanche wtf

PTRKoulou
April 30th 2024


43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Idk, while the choice of a spoken word passage and its flow kind of leaves me feeling weird, I love Virtue Misspent. Its genuine Owen music, as usual, and has those cool overlaying synths.



Listening to the rest of the album right now. Got some expectations for this!

henryChinaski
April 30th 2024


5048 Comments


Need to check! Totally forgot about this guy

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Hope y’all enjoy!!

“Virtue Misspent” isnt a bad track I just thought it felt like it was on autopilot

PunkerBlast
April 30th 2024


433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's a solid album. I did a real fast shout out a couple days after it came out. The only song that doesn't quite do it for me now is MT. Cleverest for some reason. I like Virtue Misspent well enough. The spoken part is fine, I mean there were drinks heh the Avalanche is a masterpiece I thought. This is still an very good album. Beacoup is beautiful and has a really great video too. Probably too relatable for me.

theBoneyKing
April 30th 2024


24514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pleasant album, I do like it a bit more than The Avalanche but I can’t always subscribe Kinsella’s vocals and melodic choices and some songs feel like a bunch of random but individually very nice elements that don’t quite hang together compositionally. My mom really loves this though.

ThyCrossAwaits
April 30th 2024


4008 Comments


I just moved out of the city of Sioux Falls, that does actually have falls like this

Place sucks don’t go there

Gmork89
April 30th 2024


8694 Comments


This is really good so far.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"My mom really loves this though."

shit i should rec this to my mom

Trebor.
Emeritus
May 1st 2024


59903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I once saw him live and between songs some woman remarked "all his songs sounds the same" and I was LIVID

Spec
May 1st 2024


39656 Comments


did you FUCK HER up?

Colton
May 1st 2024


15433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is great. review is lazy

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Hell yah glad u dig

Colton
May 2nd 2024


15433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh it’s you



I didn’t mean that in a rude way, the review just reads like you were trying to get something up for this and didn’t really take the time to expand on anything or convey much about the album. comparing it to Phoebe when it’s so consistent with the rest of his discog which precedes her by decades is also strange. also just doesn’t sound like her

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2024


26310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

that's fair it was a bit low effort compared to some of my other reviews, still trying to find a staff rhythm

i didn't mean to say it sounded like phoebe exactly, by calling it "post-Punisher" i was trying to succinctly convey that the album sometimes feels takes the path of least resistance towards contemporary genre cliches especially in its weakest moments



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy