Long Distance Calling
Boundless


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (240 Reviews)
February 8th, 2018 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Truly

I’ve always had a certain willingness to enjoy instrumental post rock albums. There’s a beauty in being able to tell a story without words, lyrics or sung propaganda. From Germany, Long Distance Calling sing true to that theme, creating a remarkable album without relying on what would be the most prominent element of most bands. Boundless defines what beauty beyond words can truly mean in modern music. Six records in, it’s easy to hear that Long Distance Calling have trimmed away the frills, returning to a semi-basics soundscape, captivating their listeners’ with “boundless” levels of musical prowess bridging the gaps between progressive rock, post metal and cinematic atmosphere without becoming overbearing or drawn out.

Fairly enough, the question of how this band could benefit from a vocalist may breach new listeners’ lips, but those familiar with this group will look back to the last two releases, filled with vocal melodies aplenty. Unfortunately, the addition of a vocalist neither added to nor subtracted from the Long Distance Calling formula. Rather, Boundless is an album that allows the listener to “feel”, rather than being told how to. Despite the freedom involved with not having a vocalist run a particular theme throughout an album, it’s also Boundless’ biggest flaw. It’s pointless to be arguing about “what could have been” in the same way a blind man is punished for his inability to see.
Contrast between hard rock riffs, minimalist calms, violins as well as many sonic twists and turns that permeate throughout the album’s length. Being forty-nine minutes, Boundless bleeds creativity from start to finish. Album opener, “Out There” is a punchy classic-rock track, creating a super accessible atmosphere for new and old fans. The track identifies a pure, honest tone to this German act’s music. Steady ebbs and flows build into brilliant crescendo, gently easing before building on a roller coaster ride of enjoyable music showing that whatever the mood Boundless will interact. On repeated listening experiences it becomes less and less important to pick apart highlights in a singular manner. Instead, the altogether soundness of the record shines through, making certain tracks, “Like A River” (including some beautiful violin work) bring everything together – instead of standing above them.

Overall, Boundless makes for a welcome, if not completely demanding listening. Like background music you can do without it, but it makes whatever you’re doing all the more enjoyable. Long Distance Calling have shown just how practiced their sound is, and how instrumentally sound they are as a band. Six albums in, who needs a vocalist" The music speaks for itself.



Recent reviews by this author
Bad Wolves DisobeyAlkaloid Liquid Anatomy
Sevendust All I See Is WarLetters From The Colony Vignette
Ihsahn AmrParkway Drive Reverence
user ratings (40)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Seems like a slow review week so here's another.



stream/buy:





https://longdistancecalling.lnk.to/Boundless

Dewinged
February 7th 2018


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tx for reviewing this Nocte, I couldn't get much into it, maybe I was hoping to get some Pelican off it, Idk.

Good write up man, mental pos.

Digging: Grayceon - IV

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry De, I promise I’ll get back to the heavier stuff next

Thanks for the invisi-pos

Dewinged
February 8th 2018


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha I'll read anything you post man, heavy or not ;)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A true fan, love you mate : ]

I’ve got a few ready, just didn’t want to hog the front page with them all

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


574 Comments


nice write-up - I've never been able to get into instrumental post-rock (or much post-rock at all) but this seems like it could be interesting



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Try We Lost The Sea - Departure Songs. Released off my favourite label.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


14273 Comments


sweet rev man, might have to give this a spin

Digging: Charlie Puth - Voicenotes

Artuma
February 8th 2018


29397 Comments


this band still exists? oh well, good for them i guess

SacredSerenity
February 8th 2018


669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, Departure Songs is THE stand out Post Rock record. Looking forward to this though, the first Single reminded me a lot of the first two albums .

ProjectFreak
February 8th 2018


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Departure Songs is THE stand out Post Rock record



Godspeed You! Black Emperor would like a word with you

Durrzo
February 8th 2018


1541 Comments


Ascending is an awesome track, especially the back half, but as a whole the album didn't do a lot for me.

On the topic of well made albums in this genre, I think Mitau by Audrey Fall is hugely enjoyable. They went on hiatus after releasing so it may be all we ever get from them, sadly.

ProjectFreak
February 8th 2018


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

personal favorites:



God Is An Astronaut - Age of the Fifth Sun

This Will Destroy You - This Will Destroy You

Red Sparowes - Every Red Heart Shines Toward the Red Sun (also those song titles are spectacular)

Caspian - Dust and Disquiet

And I guess I gotta include GY!BE mostly for their huge influence/innovation



Artuma
February 8th 2018


29397 Comments


"On the topic of well made albums in this genre, I think Mitau by Audrey Fall is hugely enjoyable."

somehow i found that album fairly underwhelming. then again, i'm no huge departure songs fan either although it's enjoyable

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2018


4507 Comments


I didn't get into their previous album, don't know why. I hope this one is better.

Digging: Church of the Cosmic Skull - Science Fiction

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the feat. guys : ]





teamster
February 8th 2018


2669 Comments


Thanks for the review Ralph Macchio. My brand of vodka .. and you know it.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2018


8648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ralph wot?

Flugmorph
February 9th 2018


18013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album sounds incredible

the drums and bass are just marvelous

Shiranui
February 9th 2018


550 Comments


Saw them live a couple of weeks ago. Their drummer is most definitely the musician who stands out from this band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy