Rotting Christ
Rituals


2.0
poor

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (145 Reviews)
February 4th, 2016 | 228 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: the only ritual the band successfully committed here was suicide

I'll have to give credit where it's due; Rotting Christ's longevity is impressive. Formed in 1987, they are one of the longest running extreme metal bands, and the most noteworthy to come out of Greece. Starting out as a grindcore project, the band has successfully shifted its sound throughout the years, producing an expansive discography that traverses throughout the many forms of black metal. Their constant evolution has undoubtedly been the key to their longevity thus far; however this seems like the end of the road for these Greek blasphemers. Despite continuing their trend of experimenting on the extreme metal formula, their latest album Rituals is still a frustratingly tawdry and monotonous affair.

Rituals may not sound like any Rotting Christ release before it, but the material strewn about this album feels all too similar to each other. Styled after its namesake, almost every track is based around creating "ceremonial" black/gothic hymns. In a way they succeed -heavy tribal-esque percussion and raucous Satanic chants make appearances throughout the entirety of the album - but this ultimately proves to be one of the album's fatal flaws. If too much of a good thing can make you sick, too much of something mediocre is deadly; Rotting Christ's attempts in creating ritualistic metal are pedestrian at best. As a whole, their performance lacks conviction. Flaccid power-chords ring out ad-nauseam while the drums plod away without any impact, stifled by the pristine production. There's nothing wrong with well produced black metal, but when it causes the punch to lose its power, it becomes counterproductive. Keyboards are used in abundance, yet their atmospheric potential is rendered useless in their sterile simplicity, and though grandiosity is (presumably) the goal, it fails to ever reach those Olympian heights.

Perhaps the worst issue to plague Rituals is how unintentionally hilarious the whole thing is. Black metal is inherently cheesy; the corspepaint, the posturing, etc…, but Rituals is offensively so. It tries so desperately to be serious, but when listening to the rapid-fire incantations of "Apage Satana" it feels poorly-executed, overdone, and worse, contrived. Black metal is capable of taking you many places, but a tiki bar on karaoke night shouldn't be one of them. Rotting Christ have had a long career, with many albums to be proud of - every prior incarnation of their sound has proven worthwhile - however, Rituals is not one of them. With this release, the only ritual Rotting Christ successfully committed, was suicide.



Recent reviews by this author
Ulver The Assassination of Julius CaesarCounterparts You're Not You Anymore
Blood Incantation StarspawnParamore After Laughter
Converge The Dusk in UsDrowning the Light The Vampire Cipher
user ratings (166)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
An empowering and tribal album but a little too repetitive...

EuShock (3.5)
In conclusion, Rituals is a hit-and-miss situation. It possesses both blatant failures and obvious m...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album stream: http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/full-album-premiere-rotting-christs-rituals/



Pretty disappointed with this, as I generally like what these guys do a fair amount. Hope you all enjoy the review, and of course, constructive criticism is welcome.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Midian

Hawks
February 3rd 2016


64170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn is this really that bad? :[



Sweet review as always bro, will jam this tomorrow after work.

Digging: Cell - Hanging Masses

SCREAM!
February 3rd 2016


15754 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

jamming now, hoping to enjoy this more than you did

DatsNotDaMetulz
February 3rd 2016


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was tempted to check this out cos I noticed that Nick Holmes (Paradise Lost, Bloodbath) and Vorph from Samael were guests. Is it really that poor?



Relatively speaking it's probably OK because I've been toying with the idea of reviewing the Facebook meme page Drowning Pool's new album for a bit of self inflicted mental torture.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, it's pretty terrible in my opinion. I was going to mention the guest spots (there are quite a few) but they don't amount to anything at all, so it seemed better left unsaid.

Hawks
February 3rd 2016


64170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've loved everything I've ever heard from these guys so maybe I'll dig it more than you do haha. But we usually agree about these kinds of things so I guess we shall see.

Archelirion
February 3rd 2016


5610 Comments


"a "ceremonial" black/gothic hymns." - should the 'a' be there? Quality review dude, unless general opinion indicates otherwise I'm probably not gonna check this one. It's a shame as of what I've heard of these guys beforehand they're normally quite solid.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the catch Aaron, that is most certainly not supposed to be there haha. I generally advise people to check out albums I dislike anyway, just because you never know what you may like general consensus or not. It is definitely a shame though.

FrozenVain
February 3rd 2016


3008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Interesting review. Gonna jam this asap.



"Black metal is capable of taking you many places, but a tiki bar on karaoke night shouldn't be one of them."



This made me laugh. Can't wait to hear that...I guess.

cvlts
February 3rd 2016


9507 Comments


quality summary lmao

zaruyache
February 3rd 2016


19973 Comments


SPIRIT WHY

Digging: Black Funeral - Empire of Blood

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

did you like this?

SCREAM!
February 3rd 2016


15754 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Upon first listen, I don't dislike it at much as you seem to but it is underwhelming. Will listen again though

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not a *huge* Rotting Christ fan so I can see people who are more into them not disliking as much as I do, but I can't imagine anyone really being satisfied by it either.

DatsNotDaMetulz
February 3rd 2016


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"quality summary lmao"



Well that's TheSpirit.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

that's me ;]

zaruyache
February 3rd 2016


19973 Comments


haven't jammed it yet but the last one was good so I want this to be good spirit whyyyy

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2016


24487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

listen to it first and then ask my why ya jabroni

emester
February 3rd 2016


8249 Comments


Never listened to Rotting Christ believe it or not...

SCREAM!
February 3rd 2016


15754 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

jam theogonia bro



do it naooo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy