Gloryhammer
Space 1992: Rise of the Chaos Wizards


4.5
superb

Review

by noinoeso USER (11 Reviews)
November 19th, 2015 | 48 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gloryhammer creates the ultimate power metal cheesecake recipe. Legendary intergalactic heroes, space eagles and unicorns, Latin chants, symphonic interludes, catchy choruses and kick ass guitar solos.

Power Metal is a genre known as the perfect description for epicness. Stories of fantastical lands and powerful heroes are narrated with a background of super fast drumming and guitars. And it normally is pretty serious stuff. Serious in the sense that one feels in awe with the stories narrated, and wants to grab their imaginary sword to go hunting some dragons. Gloryhammer is surely epic, but they take a self aware and ridiculous approach, capable of making even the most badass metal guy to giggle like a schoolgirl.

One does not need to look further than the band photos to realize that Gloryhammer is a ridiculous bunch. The singer looks like a combination of Iron Man and Green Lantern. The evil wizard has some crazy looking googles, and there is also a ghost in the band. And all of this accompanied of an intergalactic backdrop. These goofy guys surely are ready to kick some space ass.

And sure, the album could make me laugh with its heroic chants to protect the citadel of Dundee, or its narrated sequences that join all fantasy cliches in one paragraph. But is the music any good" Yes, it is. Leaving the theme aside, this album displays good power metal musicianship. The guitars and drums flow smoothly with symphonic passages. The songs do not overstay their welcome and pack powerful guitar solos, extremely catchy choruses that haunt me weeks after listening to the record, and just some awesome power metal segments that could easily get you stopped by the police for driving too fast. The music definitely has the power of "power metal" in it. And the way it comes together with the funny lyrics is just natural and extremely cheesy.

I highly recommend this album to either fans of power metal or to nerdy people that love themselves an epic and ridiculous space opera. This album really puts a grin on my face and has me loudly singing that I am the hero of Dundee that will save the galaxy. If you'll excuse me, I'll go defeat Zargothrax with my flying unicorn.

Recommended Tracks:
Infernum Ad Astra + Rise of The Chaos Wizards
Goblin King of the Darkstorm Galaxy
Heroes (of Dundee)
Apocalypse 1992



Recent reviews by this author
PainKiller Execution GroundRadiohead The King of Limbs
Imperial Triumphant IncesteCold War Kids Robbers and Cowards
Gorguts Pleiades' DustSpacebag Pareidolia
user ratings (108)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nazzadan
November 18th 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ayy I was hoping this would get reviewed at some point.

Loved this album

Ebola
November 18th 2015


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album rules hard

gryndstone
November 18th 2015


1238 Comments


i wanna set the u-knee-verse on fire

i'll give this a listen, it seems amazingly silly in the best of ways

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography

Nazzadan
November 19th 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

title track slays so hard. And such a great video

Negator
November 19th 2015


1556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yayyy a review for this. posd! I love how fun this album is, very refreshing





Gobling king of the darkstorm galaxy ride on the wings of doooooooom



Grant me the power to fight me foes and defeat the lords of the moooooooooon

Negator
November 19th 2015


1556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oops double post

DungeonBoy
November 19th 2015


5792 Comments


1992 was a great year for space. Sweet review, haven't listened to any power metal in a while but this sounds like it could be a fun listen.

Digging: Inculter - Fatal Visions

RunOfTheMill
November 19th 2015


3949 Comments


Yeah, I'll be listening to this, kickass album art :0

noinoeso
November 19th 2015


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the comments! This is my first review so I hope you liked it

RunOfTheMill
November 19th 2015


3949 Comments


Yeah not a bad review, and you weren't kidding about the band photo lolololol:
http://www.gloryhammer.com/photos/gloryhammer1992-2.jpg

Nazzadan
November 19th 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You need to watch this video for the t/t

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGV6bCTMM5w

zaruyache
November 23rd 2015


20653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is the correct combination of painful cheesiness and musical talent.

SomethingSimilar
November 24th 2015


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A MAGICAL WIZARD IS DOING A SPELL

Nazzadan
November 24th 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

VICTORIOUS, EAGLE WARFAAAARE

So glorious, RIDING HIGH UP IN THE SKY

Nazzadan
November 25th 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this at work right now, really resisting the urge to bump to a 5

Rikkukun
December 3rd 2015


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ this

Rikkukun
December 22nd 2015


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So do we 5 this

Nazzadan
December 22nd 2015


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gah, I want to. If I 5 this then I have to 5 Twilight Force's debut too because I like it more than this

Rikkukun
December 31st 2015


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tales of Ancient Profecies rules too, i think i gave it 4.5 but then i reduced it to 4.0.

swipenet
June 2nd 2016


2979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't feel bad about 5'ing an album if you love it.

Digging: Aephanemer - Prokopton



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy