Loathe (UK)
The Things They Believe


2.0
poor

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
February 7th, 2021 | 210 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: i guess they did let it in and it did take everything lol

Loathe’s brand new album, The Things They Believe, is a collection of ambient sounds that convey approximately zero emotions. Review done.

Kidding. That would be the review if I put as much effort into it as the band put into the music present on this record. But, admittedly, they did spend a decent amount of time on the promotion and packaging of this thing. A few tweets, a handful of eerie videos rambling about how this is an ‘extension of a chapter’ and a chance to ‘get lost in sound’ or whatever, oh, and some cool song titles. Tracks 3, 6 and 11 form a sentence: ‘“Do You-’, ‘- Remember’ and ‘- The Moment”’. Pretty deep, especially since they sound precisely like everything else on the album. Other songs are equally cleverly titled, such as ‘The Year Everything and Nothing Happened’ (2020, get it, virus but also no concerts and stuff) and ‘The Rain Outside…’ (probably alludes to rain outside which can be nice but also not nice, really depends on the situation and whether you have to leave the house or not).

Funnily enough, there is absolutely no reason for these songs to be titled as such. The titles function as the only colouring of the record: the rest is for you to fill in. Not in the cool, high-artsy-art way where you can find meaning in unique arrangements of sound and the serenity of intricate peace or something. Instead, you’re presented with a fully blank canvas, two stiff paint brushes and absolutely nothing else. Good luck, have fun, lose yourself! Either way, these songs could have carried names such as ‘The Dude From Hammock Fell Asleep on His Laptop Pt. 1’ or ‘Daddy Horny, Michael’ and it would not have detracted from the record’s non-existent quality. The atmospheres Loathe demands you to get lost in appear to be lost themselves, like discarded snippets of ~spacy~ intro tracks aimlessly floating around on an abandoned Windows XP computer. Hell, the band insert bird sounds at random points and somehow manage to make them sound utterly lifeless, like sterile creatures whistling solely because they’re programmed to do so. The complete lack of engaging moments on The Things They Believe is impressive, especially considering the fact that the band employed similar soundscapes on previous records to great effect. It appears that the absence of a metalcore context annihilates Loathe’s ability to craft intriguing ambience: stripped of their purpose of enhancing gazecore bangers™ , all that is left is a sad collection of empty shells.

Moreover, the album cover is a clear continuation of I Let It In And It Took Everything’s themes. The band’s previous record, released precisely a year before this monumental foray into ambient music featuring The 1975’s saxophonist (at least they didn’t get vocalist dude Matthew Healy, I guess), was pretty damn good… and successful. With no touring to support the release, it makes sense for Loathe to attempt to prolong this prosperity by releasing new music as soon as possible. It’s just a shame they didn’t bother crafting anything worth listening to. Sure, unlike the band’s 2020 record, no one can accuse The Things They Believe of being incohesive or sounding like Deftones, but at what cost? While there is reason for this record to exist, there is no reason for it to be this boring and definitely no reason for anyone to listen to it. But hey, one year from now Loathe might release a bland, 40-minute long return-to-form EP which will be hailed as music’s second coming. Who knows.



Recent reviews by this author
London Grammar Californian SoilPONY TV Baby
half/cut Salt an AtlasCitizen Life In Your Glass World
Sullii Me and My Absent Mind AgainTigers Jaw I Won't Care How You Remember Me
user ratings (118)
2.6
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

here's a (s)hit piece, stream ok human or something idk

Digging: Lunation Fall - Near

DDDeftoneDDD
February 7th 2021


17002 Comments


Hitting hard Jesp. Will eventualy/inevitably check.

Digging: Horndal - Lake Drinker

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this band are so fucking deep.

hard pos

Digging: Xiu Xiu - OH NO

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

just spend 30 seconds skimming and there will be no need to listen to the full thing 3d lol

and ty for nudging me to do this johnny

DDDeftoneDDD
February 7th 2021


17002 Comments


Lol yeah Johny craves for more in the team hate loathe. Btw johny, how weird is the new Cara Neir? I'm still figuring...I like it but I get its so easy to mock, lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 7th 2021


37183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their last album was terrible too so I'm not at all surprised by this.

Digging: Greta Van Fleet - The Battle at Garden's Gate

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol for real

the new Cara Neir isn't *bad*, but it plays like a gimmick album with half the fun factor needed to jump out beyond the RPG or 8bit scenes (and i vibe 8bit p hard most times)

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

and i vibe 8bit p hard most times



most times i vibe 8bit p hard



p hard



p hard

Digging: R.E.M. - Fables of the Reconstruction

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

just the t

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

anyway, this is an ambient record from a group that seems to have fundamentally misunderstood the appeal of ambient music



listening to it now and it bores the everloving tits off me

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i have literally made better ambient than this by mistake

and it fucking sucked

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i cant even bring myself to dislike it because of how nothing it is. its just grey and dull.





and god i fucking hate the pretentious song titles. Do you - remember - the moment? is like something out of one of those wanky perfume adverts

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

in fairness, their last album's titles were even worse

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

had to bump down because of the ending tracks shimmery pseudo deep nonsense blergh

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


24251 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I am gonna remember the moment I 1 this for sure

Digging: Wolvennest - Temple

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'in fairness, their last album's titles were even worse'





1. Theme 2. Aggressive Evolution 3. Broken Vision Rhythm 4. Two-Way Mirror 5. 451 Days 6. New Faces In The Dark 7. Red Room 8. Screaming 9. Is It Really You? 10. Gored 11. Heavy Is The Head That Falls With The Weight of A Thousand Thoughts 12. A Sad Cartoon 13. A Sad Cartoon (Reprise) 14 I Let It In And It Took Everything...





tbh only three of them are really bad ('Is it really you?' 'Heavy is the head', 'i let it in') the rest i have no opinion about or just mildly suck ('screaming')

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i give big minus points to aggressive evolution and broken vision rhythm in the context of the music tbh

Mort.
February 7th 2021


16221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

tbh ive never got through the whole thing after listening to bits and bobs of it over time to see what all the fuss was about

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2021


34948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

enlightened take, but now you've done this...

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2021


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"i cant even bring myself to dislike it because of how nothing it is."

honestly that's why i can't 1 this, it's too nothingnessy

but god yeah their song titles suck and i liked the last album :[



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy