Junkie XL
Mad Max: Fury Road


4.5
superb

Review

by Acanthus USER (47 Reviews)
May 17th, 2015 | 139 replies


Release Date: 05/12/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Doof Man rides, witness!

Back when I first heard Junkie XL's Big Sounds of The Drag I was instantly hooked, and years later who would have thought that the very man responsible for turning car sounds into a bombastic big beat release would be bringing us the score for the new Mad Max film" Actually that doesn't sound as far fetched as I thought, and bombastic is just the word to describe Tom Holkenburg's latest work.

The music in Mad Max drives the scenes, almost literally in some cases. From the moment “Survive/Escape” kicks in, with their thunderous drums and frantic string arrangements, it's clear that this score means business. Max doesn't speak much, and though the wasteland is filled with plenty of delightful, lovely individuals that are more than happy to fill this silence one is hardly ever left on dialogue alone; Holkenburg's score assures of that.

From the almost animalistic “Blood Bag” to the assuredly fan favorite “Brothers In Arms” the score is neigh relentless. Driving, screeching guitars merge with pounding drum arrangements, copulating and complimenting each other all the while. “Spikey Cars” builds gorgeously, piecing out dialogue/radio snippets while underneath a modified and distorted engine growls like thunder amid a drumlike call to arms. “Storm is Coming” hints at the guitar madness that is to follow, which amazingly enough is likewise paired onscreen in one of the best musical implementations on film I have ever seen. Just hearing these tracks recalls images and entire scenes from the film, and the energy and over-the-top zeal with which the score pulses is infectious.

It's not all frenetic either, Holkenburg is not some one trick pony. Eight minute long “Immortan's Citadel” is hauntingly beautiful, invoking memories of Howard Shore's particular brand of string and horn worship. The first half enjoys a slow yet heart tugging soundscape, only to jolt the audience back into the harsh reality of the wasteland as the track builds and rolls onward. Little moments like these (or entire tracks such as “Many Mothers” and “My Name Is Max”), weave throughout the score painting pictures of a world at war with traditional peace and tranquility, one with where hope is a fools errand and redemption something oft sought yet hardly ever earned. This is the way an action score should be made, Holkenburg has succeeded in meeting George Millers outlandish onscreen escapades and in the process created something beautiful.



Recent reviews by this author
Gary Numan Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)Ryan Amon Elysium
Shpongle Museum of ConsciousnessAnamanaguchi Endless Fantasy
Sneaker Pimps Becoming RemixedJuno Reactor The Golden Sun Of The Great East
user ratings (49)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Back up! Yay! Though if you're going to merge pages be warned this guy has a tone of soundtrack work, the Junkie XL page is going to get quite long!



Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RRCQONzVb4



Spotify: http://play.spotify.com/album/5qwDcvdVYxBu1SVzX1F1a3



Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mad-Max-Original-Picture-Soundtrack/dp/B00UART6C6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1431868457&sr=8-1&keywords=mad+max+fury+road+soundtrack





Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2015


14087 Comments


Didnt this get posted a few days ago?

Digging: Talk Talk - Laughing Stock

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yesterday, I messed up and created a separate page for the guy since I thought Junkie XL and his composing work was separate; they got merged so it took my review down.

Tunaboy45
May 17th 2015


16587 Comments


Yeah that threw me off for a second. Still a great review, have a pos.

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


excellent review here

so stoked to see this movie

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Tuna - Thanks! It really threw me for a loop when I got on this morning and it was nowhere to be found!



@Gyro - I seemed to be in the minority when the last comment section got going, don't have any issues with the film whatsoever and thought everything was excellent. Couple of users (and reviewers) feel that the story and character development aren't strong/present, but to each their own.

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


yeah i was actually reading the original review you posted because i had it loaded from yesterday and it took me a while to get around to it. i can't remember who but someone criticized the frame rate which seemed odd to me. of course i haven't seen it yet, but based on the two trailers i have seen it looks like it might be one of the best action films i'm likely to see for some time.

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


as for the story: who gives a shit? lol. if i wanted to be intellectually stimulated i'd i'd watch something like the imitation game. people should adjust their expectations when going into these high octane action movies imo

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

With the frame rate Miller personally went and changed large portions of the film, speeding them up or slowing them down to better portray the action and for some this just didn't work that well (loved it personally).



I stopped learning about the film after the first trailer was released, went in knowing next to nothing and it was amazing even seeing it by myself.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2015


14087 Comments


"as for the story: who gives a shit? lol"

Fucking exactly. Its a bunch of fuckers in a desert wasteland riding around in deathmobiles with explosions and shit.

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


yeah i saw your response to that. really interesting that he went below 24 fps tbh. i'm curious to see how that looks but i have no doubts it'll be incredible.

i've been listening to the ost ever since i read this and it's actually really great. i suppose i probably should have heard it in the context of the movie first but i wanted to sample it to see what it was like. it's intensely dark. sounds almost like something reznor would compose at times.

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Mort - Different strokes and all that I guess.



If you like it already then you'll most likely love it when paired with the action on screen, I walked home after seeing this and for six miles all I could think about was the action, scenes, and energy.



I bought it immediately after the movie ended.



Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


yeah the action looks intense. a lot of people are already calling this one of the best action films of the decade. thinking of going through the original mad max movies before seeing this one. i've actually only seen the first one.

btw have you guys read this?: http://www.reeltalkreviews.com/browse/viewitem.asp?type=review&id=5599 possibly one of the most offensive and snobbish reviews i've ever seen

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I'm glad it was short at least, it looks like this really just wasn't for him and instead of being able to come out and say that they had to just bash the film in every way. I've seen a lot of comments on reviews/forums saying the exact opposite in regards to the action, and how they never felt like it was too much to handle at once.



I'd love this in IMAX but the latest Avengers won't give up the slot.

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


he was such a condescending ass about it too, basically straight up calling people who enjoyed it idiots.

i'd love to see it in imax; hoping i don't have the same problem as you here in windsor ontario lol. the latest avengers was a pretty decent movie, but i have a feeling this will be moty for me. also "brothers in arms" is such an epic song. one of my faves so far

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep, I can easily see that being the track that people flock towards; even its implementation in the film is memorable, you'll definitely notice when it kicks in.



I haven't seen Age of Ultron yet, this was my first movie in like 6 months or so.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2015


14087 Comments


Yeah that guys review is awful, he seems to have a very one track condescending view of what a good film is

Gyromania
May 17th 2015


26096 Comments


acanthus: that is awesome to hear. really excited to hear it in the movie, picturing something really epic.

mort: you see the movie yet?

Acanthus
May 17th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's that distorted guitar/wub at the beginning, so different from the rest of the score that it stands out quite well.

Hypochondria
May 17th 2015


116 Comments


Movie is insanely good. The action is gripping to say the least, and even though the story is minimalist, I thought it was well written in the context. What surprised me the most is the fact that the action feels so damn visceral. About 75% of the movie is made up of practical effects, which makes the ride much more entertaining and realistic. You can ''feel'' the movie which is neat.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy