Darkthrone
It Beckons Us All


2.9
good

Review

by Gary STAFF
April 27th, 2024 | 100 replies


Release Date: 04/26/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A polarizing album in the band's current era.

It Beckons Us All is the sixth album in Darkthrone's later era, focused on old-school black/heavy/doom metal riffs and (perhaps even more so) on the careless jam sessions of two black metal legends. Here's a brief reminder: aside from their first death metal album, the discography can be divided into a long black metal era, a crust-punk inspired era, and the current (shortly put) "old metal" era. Certain points in the discography have been divisive among fans (for instance, the crust-punk albums received very mixed reviews and scores), and I believe this polarization is just as relevant for this new album.

I'm approaching the assessment of It Beckons Us All from a personal angle, as I consider myself one of those very few, who love almost every Darkthrone album. However, I couldn't quite connect with this one, despite it contains all the elements that make the current era so unique and enjoyable. Since the release of The Underground Resistance the influence of iconic heavy metal bands (most notably Iron Maiden) has left a mark in Darkthrone's style, while especially Eternal Hails saw the inclusion of elements taken from classic doom bands (like Trouble, Saint Vitus, etc.) into their music. The previous album also embraced a mix of these genres with black metal, and this new album basically follows that same path... but I feel like it lacks something. The two pre-release singles, "Black Dawn Affiliation" and "The Bird People of Nordland" hinted a massive album, but the quality of the entire package, in my opinion, is considerably weaker. It's hard to pinpoint exactly what I find lacking in the other tracks because each contains something truly great... but also something not so great. For instance, "The Heavy Hand" showcases that Darkthrone has always delivered the best riffs, but the overall experience is diminished by vocals that feel tired and weak, and a monotonous tempo and structure also flattens the enjoyment (even though Darkthrone's greatest strength is the "less is more" approach). As a result, the album feels somewhat… unfinished or rushed.

As a fan, It Beckons Us All was a disappointment for me. Despite there is a brilliant trio of songs in the middle of the album ("Black Dawn Affiliation" + "And In That Moment I Knew The Answer" + "The Bird People of Nordland"); the beginning and end of the album fall short in quality (despite a few awesome moments, like the final third of "Howling Primitive Colonies" for example). Perhaps my high expectations contributed to this sour feeling of disappointment, and I completely understand if someone has the exact opposite view of this Darkthrone album -- but this one just didn't hit the mark for me.

As one their song titles says in Hate Them: "Divided We Stand."




Recent reviews by this author
Saidan Visual Kill: The Blossoming of Psychotic DepravityCoffin Storm Arcana Rising
Nemedian Chronicles The Savage SwordNecrowretch Swords of Dajjal
Wizards of Aldur Magician's GambitDVVAD MRKLB
user ratings (83)
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2024


8086 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9 | Sound Off

All the links you might need: https://linktr.ee/darkthroneofficial

I'm still a bit disappointed, but I know that I'll jam Black Dawn Affiliation + And In That Moment I Knew The Answer + The Bird People of Nordland a lot.

Flugmorph
April 27th 2024


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

albums aight

Trifolium
April 27th 2024


39247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't heard yet but this lukewarm response isn't a good sign...

Dimorphic
April 27th 2024


1383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the riffs and general vibe

ScuroFantasma
Emeritus
April 27th 2024


12056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Same, feels kinda Arctic Thunder-y

DDDeftoneDDD
April 27th 2024


22427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hum doubt its that bad

garas
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2024


8086 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9 | Sound Off

Arctic Thunder slays. This kinda slays too, but I don't like it entirely.

Hawks
April 27th 2024


89542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Black Dawn Affiliation is the only good thing about this tbh.

ScuroFantasma
Emeritus
April 27th 2024


12056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah it’s all dece except the closer which is a 10-minute time waster for sure

DDDeftoneDDD
April 27th 2024


22427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Checkin this out now

Eakflanderyof
April 27th 2024


5558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Black dawn affiliation is one of the weaker tunes to me, if not the weakest

Eakflanderyof
April 27th 2024


5558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And I'm glad that it is because when they released it I was kinda like eh it's decent I guess

Pho3nix
April 27th 2024


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

garas! nice review +1



Looking forward to this one since it seems so polarizing

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2024


6199 Comments


The only album I listened of theirs, Astral Fortress was fun. I'll check this one too, great write-up!

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2024


5973 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review garas!



Really not sure how I feel about this after my first listen. The riff quality and guitar tone are great, perhaps even better than most of their recent work, which I reliably love. But here they seem to be leaning into this kind of amateurish/sloppy vibe even more than usual for this era, and while I'll previously been into it they might've overdone it this time. We shall see how I feel after repeat listens.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 27th 2024


22427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Black Dawn Affiliaton rules indeed!

DDDeftoneDDD
April 27th 2024


22427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So yall pussying out cause the closer makes you think of metallica? XD

DDDeftoneDDD
April 27th 2024


22427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ok lol

Closer rules

Sorry guys

Ya wrong



XD

Flugmorph
April 27th 2024


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah closer aint bad

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2024


671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not sure how much they're trying by now honestly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy