Weezer
SZNZ: Spring


3.5
great

Review

by Drbebop USER (91 Reviews)
March 20th, 2022 | 21 replies


Release Date: 03/20/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Glory, glory, hallelujah



Time for a short review of a short release. This is Weezer’s first proper EP containing fully original songs and not just remixes or singles. It is the first in a set of 4 EPs due to be released across the year, each themed after the seasons. This is the Spring EP, fittingly released on this year’s equinox. It runs for 21 minutes and features 7 tracks. This EP was teased as having a carefree folky sound, which it does have but in all honesty it’s more baroque folk with power pop elements. The songs mostly have that trademark fuzzy guitar that Weezer are fairly known for, effectively making this the most Weezer like release since the White album. It’s probably their most twee work in a while, if not ever. ‘A Little Bit of Love’ is a lovely, lightweight pop folk tune with some great drum work and a melodica thrown in for good measure. ‘Angels on Vacation’ sports a choral opening and a weird, moody breakdown alongside a great catchy chorus. ‘The Sound of Drums’ is probably the most interesting song here, mainly in that it actually sounds like that ‘music that sounds like Weezer but is from 1440’ meme, though with added touches of crunchy guitar work making this a real standout. ‘The Garden of Eden’ features a gorgeous ambient opening and continues on with a pleasant catchy rhythm and an almost pastoral quality. It’s lovely stuff though it features a slightly awkward vocal melody in the chorus. There’s the odd stinker. The fittingly named first track ‘Opening Night’ is repetitive and features an annoying vocal melody that doesn’t really work, which sadly sets a bad first impression, though the EP quickly gets better.

‘Spring’ is a neat little EP. It’s a miracle that it’s only 21 minutes because if it were a full length album, I think the charm would wear off fast and it would feel way too gimmicky. As it is, ‘Spring’ is a pleasant and breezy folk pop release with that trademark Weezer sound mixed with some nice acoustics and string instruments (though they’re not nearly as present as they were on ‘OK Human’). The lyrics kinda suck balls but it’s Weezer so what do you expect? They’re so gaudy and fairly embarrassing that they’re charming in a way. A good start to this working year for the band and I’m excited to see what the other records hold.

Standouts: Angels on Vacation, A Little Bit of Love, The Garden of Eden, The Sound of Drums, Wild at Heart
Skips: Opening Night



Recent reviews by this author
Kanye West Donda 2Fleetwood Mac Rumours
Radiohead KID A MNESIADrake Certified Lover Boy
Kanye West DondaEminem Relapse
user ratings (66)
2.7
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
Drbebop
March 20th 2022


203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review might come off a bit stiff and weird reading, but I wanted to lay down the facts bluntly instead of going into proper detail about the background of this EP. Anyway I enjoyed it. Not perfect but a good bit of fun.

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2022


16570 Comments


Weezy SZNZ approachin

Digging: Roseville - something about a fig tree

Drbebop
March 20th 2022


203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That reminds me: donda 2 review tomorrow

Tunaboy45
March 20th 2022


18069 Comments


I see this falls into the Green, Van Weezer, Hurley and Black camp of Weezer albums/releases. Inoffensive but totally forgettable.

hashabadi
March 20th 2022


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Inoffensive" feels generous when describing some of those albums, but it's pretty fair for this EP

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 20th 2022


15272 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i love opening night

Sowing
Moderator
March 20th 2022


41306 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Weezer stole my thing

Digging: Shinedown - Planet Zero

Storm In A Teacup
March 21st 2022


40159 Comments


I just realized what your avatar can imply. 😛

MyMentality
March 21st 2022


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't wait to give this one a spin. It seems like the kinda Weezer I would dig. Didn't like Van Weezer but absolutely loved OK Human because they put the guitars down, and explored a side to themselves which actually felt fresh and works well.

MyMentality
March 21st 2022


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Enjoying this a lot actually! This shares most DNA with The Green Album if anything, just a ton more charismatic and catchy. In fact, if somebody told me this came after Pinkerton I'd probably believe them.

wojodta
March 21st 2022


340 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So far it sounds better than van weezer at least.

MyMentality
March 22nd 2022


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eh, this wore thin quickly. Better than Van Weezer though!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2022


46554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

new one is fine. little better than this

MyMentality
June 23rd 2022


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just gave the new one a listen, it's pretty decent! The last half especially is a lot better than most of Spring. Feels more like what Van Weezer should've been to be honest.

Kompys2000
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2022


7140 Comments


Van Weezer should have been aborted within a week of conception so I will, as the kids say, "press X to doubt" on that one

gryndstone
June 23rd 2022


2296 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this feels so milquetoast but props for putting together The Vibe. curious as to what summer sounds like

Digging: The B-52s - Cosmic Thing

Odal
June 23rd 2022


1144 Comments


Spring is, like, fine....but Summer is actually pretty dang fun!

It's Weezer being very fun and lame, which is basically their mission statement at this time. Lotta overlap with Van Weezer. Good stuff

Cormano
June 25th 2022


3493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

new one is atrocious

WatchItExplode
June 25th 2022


9714 Comments


Actually one of the better Weezer incarnations in my opinion. The heavier diversions serve it well

Cormano
June 25th 2022


3493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

band needs to hang it up



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy