Sylosis
Cycle of Suffering


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (315 Reviews)
February 8th, 2020 | 80 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sylosis comes full circle…

It’s almost no secret that as far as Sylosis material is concerned I’ve always favoured the band’s debut, Conclusion Of An Age and The Supreme Oppressor before it. Sure, you could probably blame it on (former vocalist) Jamie Graham’s departure from the band, but I never found the same ‘engagement’ from the likes of Edge Of The Earth, Monolith or Dormant Heart despite the clear testament to modern groove dressed up as thrash, masquerading as metalcore. Josh Middleton’s stint leading the band forward wasn’t without its moments, too far and few between to change the personal perception of a fan too caught up in a whirlwind debut and natural expectation. A dozen years after the debut full-length and Sylosis begin to close the gap, coming full circle on Cycle Of Suffering.

Despite my concerns regarding non-debut Sylosis music, I fell into the album’s pre-release singles with an open mind. “I Sever” stood audacious; bringing back fond memories of the band at a peak. The track’s softer introduction melds instantly into a thrash-y foundation to which Josh’s harsh (yet understandable) screams punch through guitar melody and complimenting percussive hits. Sure, it’s predictable; largely running through the same tropes that Sylosis has become known for since Edge Of The Earth, but the song’s flamboyant nature was limited to a tasteful flurried guitar solo and a mid-paced coda - sticking instead to a proficient display of rhythmic chops. “Calcified'' was likewise impressive; leaning on recurring melody patterns and tension building atmosphere and sticking vocal hooks while staying true to a foundation of genre-hopping thrash metal.

With that in mind I leapt into Cycle Of Suffering (and everything after) under better circumstances than the group’s previous records. Album opener “Empty Prophets” however didn’t make the same impact as the singles released before it, falling into a calculated display of head-turning volition bred of the same misgivings that ruled a complacent Monolith. The album’s title-track however is a vehement showcase of driving riffs and intoxicating groove specially made for the head-banging numbness that’s dominant in today’s mainstream metal scene and more importantly; a throw-back to the band’s earlier days. On consecutive spins, Cycle Of Suffering is noticeably more accessible than the group’s earlier releases, sticking to a formula cater made to a more mainstream thrash fan base and occasionally Sylosis’ newest lacks some of the edge and punch in the chords of “Idle Hands” and the floundering “Devils in Their Eyes” which loosely follows the same rhythmic nuances as an Ascendancy era Trivium.

Fairly, the point could be argued that I’m taking on Sylosis’ Cycle Of Suffering with some pretty focused nostalgia goggles. Despite this, Sylosis’ newest effort holds up pretty well. I may not have found a new “After Lifeless Years” or “Teras” (both of which are on the debut mentioned above), but I’ve definitely found a new respect for a band that’s explored their sound enough to retain the group’s natural sound progression and bring back some of that ‘glory day’ feeling. Cycle Of Suffering is a solid, if somewhat monotonous release hampered by its fifty-one minute run time and Cycle Of Suffering could have done with a light track shaving. As much as it’s become a cop-out to say; Sylosis are clearly on an upward trajectory...consider me hyped for the next Sylosis release.



Recent reviews by this author
Xenobiotic MordrakePolaris (AUS) The Death of Me
Groblin and The Ballistics Groblin and the BallisticsSvart Crown Wolves Among The Ashes
Aeonian Sorrow A Life WithoutThy Catafalque Naiv
user ratings (92)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

some tracks for listening:



https://youtu.be/dZDd-MwuvcM



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ocQQepiT3_k



3.3/5

Pikazilla
February 8th 2020


7829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I disagree with certain points you've raised, noctebro.



Their first two albums stand shoulders above everything else they've done. Josh really needs to step up his game and stop using variations of the riffs he used on there. It's very frustrating to listen to their songs and be like "oh, that's a cool riff, but wait they've already used something very similar on a previous song". Invidia is pretty great though. And I found both I Sever and Calcified pretty boring and safe.

Pikazilla
February 8th 2020


7829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But then again, thrash is probably the stalest and most boring metal subgenre so lol

Source
February 8th 2020


15883 Comments


love nvidia. keeps my comp running smooth

Toondude10
February 8th 2020


14152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hey look, I didn't upset toon dude for once haha.



Will get back to pika points once I'm back on the laptop

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That's basically all I've done for the last two years with my ratings

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"love nvidia. keeps my comp running smooth"



cheeky breeky

Toondude10
February 8th 2020


14152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Hey look, I didn't upset toon dude for once haha."



You still deserve a beating for that Alcest review *wink*

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm right here bro. Come at me *wink*

bloc
February 8th 2020


59599 Comments


Hyped to hear this

Digging: Sewerslvt - Draining Love Story

CosmicPie
February 8th 2020


2278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig this about as much as I've dug everything else they've done.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That was quick, thanks mod-bots,

metalphil
February 8th 2020


91 Comments


Wasn't a huge fan of both singles, but still excited to hear this. Gonna listen tonight.

mark75213
February 8th 2020


1 Comments


Considering how much time after the new architects album that this album came out Josh was probably on the line with the record company to release a new sylosis album so if he used variations of the old riffs then he did what a man had to do

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

He definitely wasted a fair bit of time in the Architects camp.

Pikazilla
February 8th 2020


7829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I watched an interview with him somewhere and he said that he'd contributed basically nothing to the writing of the new Architects album. It was mainly Dan.

TheNotrap
February 8th 2020


13194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That riff at the end of the title track is a headbanger

Digging: Marrasmieli - Between Land And Sky

NonApplicable
February 8th 2020


2772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some of the riffs on here are mindblowingly good. If it's true that Josh was barely used on the new Architects record, that's fine this time. For next record though, it would be embarrassing to having such a technically skilled and creative force not contribute.

BigPleb
February 8th 2020


60302 Comments


Probably their best since Edge of the Earth, better than I expected after the dull Dormant Heart.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy