Darkthrone
Hate Them


4.0
excellent

Review

by Grumpy USER (16 Reviews)
July 26th, 2019 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The disk saw of hatred.

It is easy to get lost in the famous Norwegian duo's enormous discography, that's why some of their albums end up a bit overlooked, less popular. Same case for 'Hate Them' as well, but this album deserves some love.

After some struggling times for both members: 'Hate Them' was born. And the creation is an ugly, rusty but highly energic album, delivering riffs of hell. As anyone would expect from the crust-punk influenced era, the song structures are rather simple, but effective: tons of crushing riffs with lots of tempo changes - which is one of the biggest strength of the album. The guitarwork by Nocturno Culto is super massive and dominant, and personally, the guitar tone is one of the best I've ever heard: it is ugly, rusty yet super heavy - fueling the riffage. Behind the drumkit, Fenriz did a really great job here, as he is following the guitar. His simplistic style really shines in this record, and as you would expect from a "drum-snob", the drums sound very organic and are perfectly placed in the mix. Unlike in the following record ('Sardonic Wrath') the bass has less impact on the album's overall sound, stays mostly deeply sunk in the mix nice and clean, following the heavy riff-storm. The vocals are really great, Nocturno's unique harsh and raspy voice fits very well to the overall sound - loud but not dominant in the mix, with pretty understandable lyrics. (Fenriz wrote some sickly good lines for this one!)

Alltogether, this album deserves much more love than it usually gets, because its massiveness. And not to mention the crushing riffs!

"Black Metal is the devil's fuel."



Recent reviews by this author
Murgrind The Power of YourselfFief I​-​IV
Impaled Nazarene Suomi Finland PerkeleBlack Magick SS Rainbow Nights
Mayhem De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas AliveNico Georis Shirley Shirley Shirley!
user ratings (241)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
July 26th 2019


4205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my personal favourites from this band, deserved a review.

Positive criticism is always welcomed, and please tell if there are any mistakes or murky phrases!

Digging: Evilfeast / Uuntar - Odes to lands of past traditions

Azog
July 26th 2019


317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You just gotta love Darkthrone.

Sunnyvale
July 26th 2019


1470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review. Album isn't one of my favorites from the band, but basically all of mid-era Darkthrone is seriously underrated.

budgie
July 27th 2019


19413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rust is one of their best tracks imo

Hawks
July 27th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally this has a review!



Also agreed with Sunny ahrd. m/

hansoloshotfirst
July 27th 2019


1431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

severely underrated imo.

I come from a land

Of systematic erasure of optimism and positiveness

You don't want to encourage me...







Digging: Can - Tago Mago

DadKungFu
July 27th 2019


808 Comments


Probably an unpopular opinion but I get way more mileage out of Darkthrone's crusty thrash material than their BM.

metalhead2425
July 27th 2019


344 Comments


Glad to see this reviewed. I was thinking of doing one for a while, but never got around to it. Nice work!

StrikeOfTheBeast
July 27th 2019


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent album.



Darkthrone - Hate Men

random
July 27th 2019


2843 Comments


“Divided We Stand” rules in a part of Creature Skateboards’ “Black Metal” video.

Pikazilla
July 27th 2019


10982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My least favourite Darkthrone record. Not even kidding.

budgie
August 17th 2019


19413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

o baby

garas
September 11th 2019


4205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Feeling ~rusty~ today.

budgie
September 11th 2019


19413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes!!!!

Trifolium
September 11th 2019


15769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good bumps. We always need more Darkthrone on the front page!

garas
October 10th 2019


4205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vinyl is on sale now at Season Of Mist, if anyone is interested.

garas
October 27th 2019


4205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SLOWLY CORRODING YOUR FORTIFIED NORM

LEAVING YOU BITTER, GRIM AND SOBEEEEERRRRRR

parksungjoon
February 15th 2020


19407 Comments


"Probably an unpopular opinion but I get way more mileage out of Darkthrone's crusty thrash material than their BM."

this is an unpopular opinion but its also correct lmao

late 90s onward throne is super underrated on pretty much any music site i know of

Digging: Nuclear Death - Bride of Insect

Pikazilla
February 15th 2020


10982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My least favourite Darkthrone

parksungjoon
February 15th 2020


19407 Comments


with a rating like that, i respect your position

at the end of the day something has to be the worst



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy