Hammock
Floating World


4.5
superb

Review

by Nick Mongiardo USER (134 Reviews)
October 19th, 2018 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A powerful eight minutes of everything Hammock does best.

Within the realm of ambient post rock, Hammock can do no wrong. Their undeniably healing ability to craft soundscapes that are capable of touching one’s soul remains strong over ten years into their prolific career. Throw in some true shoegazing tracks here and there, and this creates an alarmingly consistent run of works. Take 2017 and 2018 for example. With one LP and two EPs under their belt, this only furthers that claim. Mainly, Floating World remains remarkably overlooked for fans and nonfans alike. This is doing the band and listeners an extreme disservice because of their brilliant work with just these two tracks. Make no mistake that the title track and “Snowburn” go through a wide range of dynamic emotions that perfectly sums up what they’re all about.

The title track give the listener a taste of the band’s signature ambient fare. The keyboards and droning guitars swell and crescendo to the fullest, creating a wonderful amalgam of wistfulness and happiness. Their vocals and simple yet effective string arrangements also provide a much needed escape from the doldrums of human life, as they gently weave to and fro joyfully. “Snowburn” also delivers, with them tweaking their shoegazing/dream pop side in favor of a Slowdive influenced ride. The lyrics are wonderfully written and the reverbing effects on the vocals complement them nicely. The textured guitar work also soars, conveying an exceptional dream pop and shoegazing backdrop.

Finally, the EP ends with a subtly emotional sendoff. The guitars twinkle and reverb massively. As the piano and strings bring the atmosphere together, they fade away. These two songs showoff a whole career worth of talent. They showcase powerfully rewarding experiences of post rock, shoegaze, ambient and dream pop. In this case, it’ shown in a short EP of under ten minutes which is impressive. There was little fanfare regarding this EP and it was horribly overlooked. All of their LPs have something special to offer, but Floating World showcases Hammock doing what they do best: Making the listener feel deeply.



Recent reviews by this author
Haken VectorCaspian Dust and Disquiet
Alcest KodamaThrice To Be Everywhere Is to Be Nowhere
Haken The MountainCult of Luna and Julie Christmas Mariner
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
October 19th 2018


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hello guys (: In the wake of the forthcoming LP, just wanted to give this well deserved coverage.



Have at it guys. It's been a while so critiques are always welcome! Also, TRY IT.

Dettlaff
October 19th 2018


193 Comments


Excellent review! This has remained one of my favourite bands ever since I first heard them in highschool. I still spin them regularly

ComeToDaddy
October 19th 2018


1796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Right on Mongi, well written. I feel like this was a nice twist on the style from Everything and Nothing, but i wasn't as much a fan of that one as some around here. Still stoked at the announcement of the new one, never get tired of these guys

Mongi123
October 19th 2018


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys. Yea totally they never ever get old.

budgie
October 19th 2018


11372 Comments


stoked! haven't heard the universalis track yet but i will this weekend

zaruyache
October 19th 2018


21112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Eps are good Hammock woooooo!

Mongi123
October 20th 2018


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes any Hammock is good Hammock haha

minty901
October 20th 2018


3702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shoegaze hammock is best hammock. Waiting patiently for an Everything and Nothing sequel. Love Snowburn and love The Night You Caught on Fire.

minty901
October 22nd 2018


3702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm usually not a singles person but I've played all 4 songs from this and their other single so much this year, and I think I'd be happy if they just kept releasing singles throughout the year rather than albums necessarily. I don't think there are many bands I would say that for.

Mongi123
October 22nd 2018


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh no. I need albums. I need an endless supply of Hammock albums xD

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2018


18577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Great review! I was really impressed by this. Best EP of the year.

Digging: The Haxan Cloak - Midsommar (Original Score)

Mongi123
October 22nd 2018


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man! I can’t get enough of Snowburn those guitar tones are so engaging.

budgie
April 16th 2019


11372 Comments


snowburn is omg

Sunnyvale
April 20th 2019


1120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Such a great EP, I've been listening to a lot of Hammock lately and this has been a go-to

Mongi123
April 20th 2019


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice man yea Snowburn has been on repeat for like ever. They shoegaze so fucking good.

Sunnyvale
April 20th 2019


1120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, it doesn't get old. And the other song isn't shabby at all either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy