The Stooges
I Got A Right


4.5
superb

Review

by Frippertronics CONTRIBUTOR (115 Reviews)
October 30th, 2017 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1977 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You don't want my name, you want my action

Hedonistic and ever aggressive, The Stooges in the period following their free jazz tour de force Fun House ventured into their most venomous iteration yet – introducing Jimmy Recca on bass and bringing in James Williamson to accompany Ron Asheton on a cacophonous guitar assault that served to amplify the increasingly hostile material Iggy Pop had been working into the band’s live set. One song in particular, “I Got A Right”, would be carried over to the next configuration of The Stooges, now without Recca and Asheton taking his place as the group’s bassist. Painstakingly rehearsed along with several other songs during sessions at Olympic Studios in July of 1972, “I Got A Right” and “Gimme Some Skin” both perfectly represent the sexual frenzy The Stooges had always contained in their music, but now unleashed without any signs of a cease fire. Both sides of this single, posthumously released by Siamese in 1977, serve as a post-script to The Stooges’ then-misunderstood and oft-maligned rapid-fire style of rock, which here, is practically on the fringe of hardcore punk and offers insight into where the band was headed prior to Raw Power. “I Got A Right” b/w “Gimme Some Skin” is the sound of nothing but unrestrained chaos that would make Jello Biafra blush, relentlessly attacking the senses and emitting a savage energy that had always been present on previous recordings but had never been this outrageous. And the best part is: The Stooges only needed six minutes to make such a genre-defining record that is still underrated to this day.



Recent reviews by this author
Francoise Hardy La QuestionRhodri Davies, David Sylvian and Mark Wastell There Is No Love
Nine Inch Nails BrokenSlowdive Pygmalion
Sandy Bull Fantasias For Guitar and BanjoCaptain Beefheart and His Magic Band Lick My Decals Off, Baby
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best fucking band ever



I Got A Right b/w Gimme Some Skin: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFcCcUBRbL0

TVC15
October 30th 2017


8815 Comments


Huh never heard of this one

Digging: Yung Lean - Stranger

UniqueUniverse
October 30th 2017


7818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh never heard of this one [2]

Digging: Jawbox - For Your Own Special Sweetheart

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

get learnt kids, check the Heavy Liquid box set

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

highly recommended to avid Raw Power fans

UniqueUniverse
October 30th 2017


7818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stop it! My dick can only get as hard...

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's only 6 minutes



no excuses, post-punk runner up

UniqueUniverse
October 30th 2017


7818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You just love to watch the world burn, babies cry, puppies die and misery take over.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I sure do

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


5674 Comments


nice!

Digging: Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


16404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never even clapped eyes on that cover art, thought the Stooges were all about the Big Two and then split



EDIT: Oh yeah, I recently listened to the debut too - forgot that one

Digging: Cathal Coughlan - The Sky's Awful Blue

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


16404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah, it’s a naughty two song single release hiding as an EP.



{shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh}

RunOfTheMill
October 30th 2017


3216 Comments


rocks

wham49
October 30th 2017


3614 Comments


cool man, dont see many singles reviewed, but anything Stooges needs its due

are these on any comp or rerelease

has anybody checked the sundazed label live and outtakes releases. I have "more Power" which is very good check those out I think there is 3-4 of them

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

both are on the Heavy Liquid compilation, the first disc being the Olympic Studios sessions



both have been on some compilations over the years, but if you want it all (or most of the Raw Power stuff done in the studio), Heavy Liquid is your best bet



as for the single deal, I believe if it's a non-album release it should be allowed on the site (see Blue Monday)

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I got a right to move any way I want any way I like

Gyromania
October 30th 2017


23437 Comments


Nice concise rev

Gonna download and listen for halloween

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

will blow you away/5

RunOfTheMill
October 31st 2017


3216 Comments


Yeah this seriously fucking rules

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 3rd 2017


15207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah did I mention this kicks ass?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy