Weezer
Pacific Daydream


3.4
great

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
October 27th, 2017 | 140 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Weezer return to where they've always been.

Simplistic guitar playing mixed with unnecessary electronics" Mindless, gargantuan choruses bursting with harmonies" Lyrics packed full of nerdy references and awkward teenager humour" Could it be that Weezer have made… a Weezer album"

That's right folks, contrary to the narrative, Pacific Daydream is literally just Weezer 'returning' to where they've pretty much always been. Sure, it's not the ideal follow-up to White, whose diverse and illusion-shattering second half belied deeper ambitions beneath its sunny exterior; nor, thankfully, is it the much-dreaded Radi2ude that the cynical saw coming on the heels on "Feels Like Summer" (although we get pretty close with the genuinely awful "Happy Hour", a nice tropical fruit drink gone sour and mouldy). No, Pacific Daydream is pretty much just fine – 34 minutes of unambiguous, catchy music, competent enough to land on the good side of Weezer's discography without reaching for anything more. Hell, there's something charming about how content it is to just be itself, a nice breather from Everything Will Be Alright in the End's self-conscious legacy rebuilding and White's narrative trickery. The only break from formula is the album-ending bridge, where the titular Diane is implied to have passed away, transforming the last song from mindless pop into something more and once again ending a Weezer album on a surprisingly sentimental note.

If anything, it seems like the only significant problem with Pacific Daydream is that it came out in 2017. The climate of the world today – let's keep it vague, for fear of revealing my total political ignorance - seems better suited to the much-hyped Black Album, which has somehow morphed from another self-titled album into a monstrous, experimental spectre in the minds of the fans. But the optimist (or diehard Weezer fan) in me also believes that most of us could desperately use some simple pop escapism, and there's nothing simpler or poppier on my phone as of right now. Pacific Daydream would have worked better before White, given how much of it consists of variations on that album's summer-lovin', beach-surfin' first half. Yeah, the obsessive playlister in me can already see the highlights – the fumbling, geeky "Mexican Fender", the alternately lovesick and gorgeous "QB Blitz", screw it, even "Feels Like Summer" with its irresistibly dumb fucking charm – slotting into that much superior album and making a more satisfying listening experience of both. But whatever. This isn't some return to pop: Weezer never left that particular ballpark, and probably never will. It's a return to simplicity, to the straightforwardness of Green (both idealistically and literally, in terms of long-lost demo "Burning Sun" being revived as the lovely "Weekend Woman"). As long as lyrical gems like I can't get anyone to do algebra with me keep coming, I see no cause for complaint.



Recent reviews by this author
Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds Who Built the Moon?The Used The Canyon
Wu-Tang Clan The Saga ContinuesCirca Survive Juturna
Sufferer SuffererEnter Shikari The Spark
user ratings (202)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
preston (2.5)
End this Bummer....

TheLeopardsFret (3)
The testimony of Cuomo's daydream....

ElScorcho (3)
He's a remarkable guy, he keeps you trying new things, he keeps you young....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

the most lukewarm of takes only

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

let's be real, the black album is never going to come out

SandwichBubble
October 26th 2017


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

maybe it's for the best

Digging: The Squids - Rush 2112

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I like how a day after this is released the Black Album is already dead and buried, lol

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
October 26th 2017


14894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

good review. happy hour rules tho my dude

Digging: Weezer - Pacific Daydream

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I mean, how indecisive can Rivers be? Am I missing something here?

ArtBox
October 26th 2017


228 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Give Mexican Fender that love, Row



Do it

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I feel like I'm the one who's missing something. where is the indecision for you? this is literally an album which grew out of the poppiest, happiest stuff they made while in the Black Album sessions. this album could not exist if they hadn't already been deep in writing/recording for Black and wanted to take a break from that album's mindset. what else is there to know?



@foxxxy good to see you b, I hate that fuckin song tho, it's basically budget Feels Like Summer and it comes right after FLS

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Mexican Fender's bridge is absolutely goddamn spectacular



I really like the "what do you do with your hands when you're singing, do you just hold onto the mic" lyric too. very genuine and down-to-earth line

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

okay, now I remember exactly what the Black Album was supposed to be (honestly, I got it confused with Songs from the Black Hole for a quick minute).



my bad man

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

although, for how much Rivers hyped it prior to this, it's a bit disappointing that we got a "Weezer does Weezer" type of album although anything is better than another "It's Weezer and it's Weezy"

Ebola
October 26th 2017


2869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Review is perfect and mirrors my thoughts exactly. Good stuff, my guy.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

@fripp oh lol I see. yeah Songs from a Black Hole is never coming out for sure, but there are some good recreations of it from Rivers' demos out there. see my feeling is actually that it's nice to have a Weezer does Weezer album this time around because we haven't had that in a while, but w/e



@ebola thanks duder

McTime50
October 26th 2017


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In the 2nd paragraph, shouldn't there be a 'how' before content? "Hell, there's something charming about content it is to just be itself"

Digging: Hail the Sun - Secret Wars

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

you're totally right. good catch

McTime50
October 26th 2017


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem, another great review! Haven't listened to this yet but from what I've been hearing this seems like a 3-3.5 for me.

MyCarandMyGuitar
October 27th 2017


2354 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

QB Blitz is so dumb that it works

TheLeopardsFret
October 27th 2017


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I am so glad there is a staff review for this, too much attention was going towards my review

TheLeopardsFret
October 27th 2017


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I am also glad you are more or less on the same opinion as me though

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2017


55360 Comments


I have never been less excited for a Weezer album

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy