Fire from the Gods
Narrative


4.5
superb

Review

by randomnaija USER (4 Reviews)
September 9th, 2016 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another candidate for album of the Year. They should win best new act though only Bad Omens comes close.

Been doing some hunting of late, searching for new tasty and delicious morsels to sink my fangs into (Music hunts, not anything more), found 9Elecctric a few days back but someone pointed me in another direction, telling me that I would see a most delicious morsel there (Thank you Google+), I took the advice and found a truly delicious morsel even though their name puts the fear of burns topmost in your mind. 'Fire From The Gods', the name alone should strike fear into the heart of any hunter but I took a plunge and had no regrets, upon feasting on 'Narrative'.

'Fire From The Gods' is a Rock band from Austin Texas formed in 2007, what's cool about them is how they have fused some of the most interesting metal genres and other music genres to form a unique style, there's metalcore, hardcore, rapcore and some reggae. That's some crazy ish if i may say, it's like fusing Skindred, Linkin Park, P.O.D and Sevendust with a sprinkling of Ice Nine Kills.

Though they have had some line up changes earlier, the prominent one being the departure of vocalist Eric July (Eric's new band is Backwordz), his replacement AJ Channer seems to have filled his shoes perfectly. The current line up is made up of AJ Channer - Vocals, Jameson Teat - Guitar, Drew Walker - Guitar, Bonner Baker - Bass and Richard Wicander - Drums. They are currently signed to Rise Records and their debut album 'Narrative' was released on the 26th of August 2016.

'Narrative' is a tremendously good debut from the band, it had only 10 tracks but I loved everything about the album, all the songs were splendid , it was well produced with spectacular instrumentation, awesome vocals and had relate-able lyrics and messages(I am all about the lyrics and message). The hype is real you will be burned, in a good way though.

'Narrative' started off with a hard hitting track 'Public Enemy' the talks about racial discrimination and it's adverse effects on the society and the labeling of minorities, very powerful message and lyrics here, but you may be thrown off track by the awesome drumming of Richard Wicander on the track. AJ Channer also introduces himself in this track by giving us a feel of how one can meld rapping, screaming and singing in one song. A powerful way to start off the album.

The second 'End Transmission' was much more mellow with AJ only singing, the song is also one of their singles with a cool video. Cool and uplifting,with lyrics such as "I suggest you walk this lonely road, To find redemption and become a hero" delivered in AJ's cool and smooth voice. The instrumentation in the song as in the first is the key component and makes it a more enjoyable experience.

This brings us to another single and the third track of the album 'Excuse Me', this also happens to be my best track on the album, here all the band's best features were shown and it's reggae, metalcore and rap fusion took the front rows. AJ's vocals here were top notch and he made the song spectacular, shifting from screams to rap to reggae to singing in smooth transitions, it was completely insane. The song is so anthemic i kept in on repeat for a while. The message and lyrics in the song are spectacular. "Life, liberty, pursuit of happiness, equality and justice for all, now you know you lying, You on that shutgun philosophy" that's just a tip of the lyrical message, a few of which were aimed at the police, no need to elaborate further, this song will go well in any "Life Matters" rally. The next song 'Composition' seems to continue from where 'Excuse Me' stopped a very nice combo of songs. The tempo drops a little with the next track 'Evolve' which is also another stand out track that talks about coming out of the shadows of our leaders, another lyrically heavy song delivered powerfully in AJ's smooth voice.

All the songs in the album delivered in one way or the other, be it lyrically, vocally or musically, the album also has one of the best closing songs of the year in my opinion. 'Into The Blue' was a spectacular way to crown off the album. A deep song laden with some pretty intense, profound and heavy lyrical content.

Fire From The Gods is my best new act of the year as far as 2016 is concerned and 'Narrative' is one of the best albums of the year in my perspective. I highly reccomend them, to all metalcore, rapcore and rock fans in total, you will not be disappointed with their sound or their style. Please Check them out. Help them get the publicity they totally deserve.

Cheers.


user ratings (77)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sinternet
September 10th 2016


24240 Comments


wtf is this review

Sinternet
September 10th 2016


24240 Comments


'Been doing some hunting of late, searching for new tasty and delicious morsels to sink my fangs into (Music hunts, not anything more)'
' I took the advice and found a truly delicious morsel even though their name puts the fear of burns topmost in your mind. "Fire From The Gods", the name alone should strike fear into the heart of any hunter but I took a plunge and had no regrets, upon feasting on "Narrative".'
'what's cool about them is how they have fused some of the most interesting Metal genres and other music genres to form a unique style, there's metalcore, hardcore, rapcore and some reggae. That's some crazy ish if i may say, it's like fusing Skindred, Linkin Park, P.O.D and Sevendust with a sprinkling of Ice Nine Kills.'
'relate-able lyrics and messages(I am all about the lyrics and message).'
'The hype is real you will be burned, in a good way though.'
'Cool and uplifting,with lyrics such as "I suggest you walk this lonely road, To find redemption and become a hero" delivered in AJ's cool and smooth voice.'
'that's just a tip of the lyrical message, a few of which were aimed at the police, no need to elaborate further, this will go well in any "Life Matters" rally.'


this sounds awful and this review is terrible


zaruyache
September 10th 2016


24310 Comments


"you may be thrown off track by the awesome drumming of Richard Wicander on the track"

Umm... it's probably not any more complicated than Five Finger Death Punch's or any other mainstream metal band's. Not even gonna comment on the rest of the review sans advising you to proofread this a few more times because there are loads of really simple errors throughout (wrong contractions/lack of contractions, random uppercase letters, run-on sentences, using commas where periods should be, etc.)

randomnaija
September 10th 2016


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hello Sinternet, please chill, did not mean to offend your learned self in any way. Zaruyache, thanks for the advice, but i had no idea that a review or comment would have a marking scheme. Can you please recommend an app or software that would help me proofread.



Cheers

zaruyache
September 10th 2016


24310 Comments


microsoft word or google docs tell you when you done goofed.

randomnaija
September 10th 2016


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks would do so subsequently. English is a borrowed language for some of us. But my goofs should reduce drastically. Cheers

zaruyache
September 10th 2016


24310 Comments


You can also post your reviews in the proof-reading thread. People can read your reviews and help you edit them before you post them on the main site.

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=577035

BlackLlama
September 10th 2016


2178 Comments


Appreciate your zest for the album. You may want to think about reducing some of the adjectives for readability.

"A deep song laden with some pretty intense, profound and heavy lyrical content."

You are in essence stating the same thought four times here. Deep, profound, intense and heavy all fall under the same spectrum. Sometimes the less spoken, the more said.

Mort.
September 10th 2016


16534 Comments


Band is pretty bad

Digging: Akira Yamaoka - Silent Hill 2

PostMesmeric
September 10th 2016


779 Comments


Ugh, this album was just...I mean, what is with this resurgence of 2000's nu-metal? Between this and Islander, I just don't understand.

Also, review needs work. Use the proofreading thread and try and organize some of these points into something more cohesive. There are Sputnik folk who'll help you with this, trust me.

randomnaija
September 11th 2016


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Mort., how do you know the band is bad when you have not listened to a track by the band. Are you sure you are a music lover? or constrained to only music similar to M.I.A's.



PostMesmeric, Thanks already posted on the thread, once done would pull down the review and use the edited. Music keeps on being regurgitated in one form or the other, in a few years won't be suprised if a fusion of jpop, tecno and afrobeat is in vogue.

Snide
September 11th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Band's a pile of meh.

CaliggyJack
September 12th 2016


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been watching this album but didn't know they had been put on the sputnik database yet. I like these guys, honestly some of the best Nu-Metal I have heard in a long time. Although I wouldn't classify it as album of the year. Your review does need a bit of proofreading and could sound a bit more professional, but it isn't so bad I can't pos it.

sooshishef
September 12th 2016


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent album. About the same as their 2013 EP. I remember running across it a year or two ago and digging it. This isn't especially memorable, but it does have a good sound and I can dig a few songs off of it. I'd say it's for fans of either Periphery or Stray From The Path. I dig both bands, so this is right up my alley, but I feel just a tad underwhelmed.



As far as the review goes, work on it. Too many commas and run-on sentences. Write up your reviews in Word or a similar program before posting them here. I'd recommend not trying to write about every single song on the album. You stopped posting titles with individual thoughts halfway through doing this. In most cases when people actually do this they tend to become repetative. Try to find about one fifth of the songs that are the best on the release and post about those if it's a full length. If it's shorter like an EP, post about the standout song on the EP. And try to include one song that's a little lackluster than the others if you can. Gives a better view of what's good and what needs improvement and makes room for reader debate.

Beardog
September 13th 2016


4072 Comments


Nothing more than a fun album, some way too generic nu metal songs but there are good elements and I really like the vocals

SpagettInvader
November 2nd 2016


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The vocals are very damn soulful and I think the lead singer has one hell of a voice. The guitar work is alright. @Sinternet I always see you bitching about good music. The band is a talented nu metal group so please accept constructive opinions.

KenboSlice
March 7th 2017


3627 Comments


BackWordz is way better.

MagicMonk777
May 8th 2017


116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol so many biased trolls.

TheSpirit
November 3rd 2017


28189 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is fun

Digging: Saidan - Jigoku: Spiraling Chasms Of The Blackest Hell

joshieboy
January 28th 2018


7864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been diggin this recently. Excuse Me has such a catchy chorus. AJ has such a good, diverse voice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy