Bayside
Vacancy


4.0
excellent

Review

by fred durst riffs harder than you USER (6 Reviews)
August 22nd, 2016 | 81 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More of the same, but why fix what isn't broken?

After more than ten years as a band, it stands as a testament to Bayside’s song-writing ability that they’re still releasing new material with the same energy and conviction as their debut. Vacancy utilises the signature alternative rock/pop punk sound that the band has followed throughout their career, and uses it to craft yet another consistently enjoyable record. Whilst maybe not the most original style, drawing more than a few comparisons to groups such as Alkaline Trio, they have always had a distinct aura around them that separates them from their contemporaries and continues to bring them success to this day. Simply put, none of the eleven tracks on Anthony Raneri and Co.’s seventh full-length would feel out of place anywhere else in their discography, and this is said in the best way possible.

Anthony’s lyricism is just as personal, cynical and reflective as ever, proving once again that Bayside are a step above your average pop punk band. Mostly dealing with the relocation of his family and his divorce, the words are simplistic for the most part, but ultimately fulfilling, making the tracks feel less poetic and more human. This ability is perhaps best utilised in album highlight 'Mary', with the line ‘I ran into her in Union Square, her starry eyes were looking dim and scared, with a cigarette providing all the light’. The song itself contains a catchy hook, an anthemic chorus and an interesting and endearing narrative, and proves to be an infectious earworm of a track. The same can be said for second single 'Pretty Vacant', which opens with a delectably promising little intro before the whole track bursts into a wonderful guitar-driven anthem. Other highlight and closer 'It’s Not As Depressing As It Sounds' rings true to it’s name, with a slow and moody first verse leading into a louder and slightly more upbeat chorus.

Despite the band continuing to impress with their consistency, that’s not to say this record is without it’s negatives. Whilst there are no real dud tracks, both 'I’ve Been Dead All Day' and 'Rumspringa' feel underwhelming, suffering from a comparative lack of energy or memorability. And despite the overall quality, what really stops Bayside from creating the masterpiece they should be capable of is a lack of experimentation and an overwhelming sense of familiarity. But whilst they continue to craft endless hooks, catchy choruses and alt rock anthems, there’s not much to complain about. Vacancy will more than satisfy existing fans, and probably convert some newer ones at the same time.



Recent reviews by this author
Glitterer GlittererRobert Miles Dreamland
The Chainsmokers Memories...Do Not OpenJohnny Foreigner Waited Up 'til It Was Light
Melanie Martinez Cry Baby
user ratings (107)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
BlackLlama (4)
Lyrically stunning, Bayside leave the light on for those seeking musical refuge....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sinternet
August 22nd 2016


21086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok thought i better try this challenge shit out



Any and all feedback is welcomed and appreciated, this was typed on my mobile as i'm on holiday at the moment so if there's any typos/formatting that needs sorting out tell me and i'll sort it out when i get home tomorrow.

Digging: Erika de Casier - Essentials

BlackLlama
August 22nd 2016


2178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This has been on obnoxious level repeat since last week. I agree with you on Rumspringa (though the guitar solo in that song is amazing). Mary is definitely the standout here, I hope they release it as a single.

Sinternet
August 22nd 2016


21086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely a great repeated listen, been making me pretty happy. Guitar solo in Rumspringa is pretty dece but overall i just don't jam it much yeah. Mary would make a great single agreed.



Good job on your review btw

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2016


25085 Comments


"Vacancy utilises the signature alternative rock/pop punk sound that the band has followed throughout the career"

idk maybe it's just me but "the career" seems awkward

"Simply put, none of the eleven tracks on this, Anthony Raneri and Co.’s seventh full-length"

this reads awkwardly too. maybe rephrase it as "Simply put, none of the eleven tracks on Anthony Raneri and Co.'s seventh full length..."

also this is v nitpicky but maybe add some ' ' to the song titles or something just to make them stick out. otherwise this is a solid review, pos'd. idk if I should check this or not tho

WatchItExplode
August 22nd 2016


7352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice to see another review for this



it bugs me when people call this band "pop-punk" though

you can make a case for pop-rock but they're really just a rock band

Digging: Lunar Shadow - The Smokeless Fires

Sinternet
August 22nd 2016


21086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks con! Knew i'd forget something, i think the career is meant to be their career

Snake.
August 22nd 2016


21818 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

huh



is this better than cult at least?

danielcardoso
August 22nd 2016


11770 Comments


(edit: fixed)

otherwise super great review sint, pos from me.

TVC15
August 22nd 2016


10261 Comments


Everyone's pretty much got all the typos down. Sint for Staff when?

Digging: Medicine - 5ive [Come Here to Drink Milk]

BlackLlama
August 22nd 2016


2178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"is this better than cult at least?"



Well, I really enjoyed Cult so my answer would be it's on level. I enjoy the production here more, and the song writing is definitely more bittersweet than angst-y. I think the question would be better asked which Bayside album do you prefer? There are a few call backs to their early work (Rumspringa definitely has the older vibe) but overall it is more progression from where they were.

sempiturtle
August 23rd 2016


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Oqh2EJ3NAA

Check out these videos that show how they made each track they're pretty cool.

Sinternet
August 23rd 2016


21086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback guys! All your suggestions seemed pretty good so i've edited them in.

danielcardoso
August 23rd 2016


11770 Comments


nice edits, quality rev once again my man :D

omgbecky
August 24th 2016


480 Comments


Man, I'm always late to Bayside's album. I have a feeling it's gonna be another year before I get around to listening to this though. I admire your ability to be concise.

MadMike4
August 27th 2016


31 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Better than Cult? I would say not. Some decent songs on here, but nothing as great as Stuttering or The Whitest Lie ..... IMO

Green Baron
August 28th 2016


24798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enemy Lines, Dead All Day and Pretty Vacant stood out the most on first listen. Album is consistently good but nothing really amazing.

sempiturtle
August 28th 2016


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^these are the singles and I agree that they're the best songs on here. I personally prefer both Cult and Killing Time.

judgedeath2
August 29th 2016


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better than Cult?



Absolutely, IMO. I really didn't care for Cult except for Stuttering and Pigsty. Vacancy took 3 or 4 listens to grow on me, but it's up there with Killing Time.



Walking Wounded > S/T > Killing Time = Vacancy > Sirens > Shudder = Cult

sempiturtle
August 29th 2016


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cult>Killing Time>Vacancy>S/T>Walking Wounded>Shudder>Sirens



imo

hallgath
September 1st 2016


58 Comments


I think it's pretty interesting how mostly similar all of Bayside's releases are, yet there is such division among fans as to which record is best/their favorite. I absolutely love Shudder and the two above me rated it at the bottom, and one rated Cult as their least favorite while the other rated it the opposite. Digging Vacancy so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy