SikTh
Opacities


4.0
excellent

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
December 4th, 2015 | 332 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nine to five ain't the same in the wild...

Don't forget to smile!

It is possible, though not explicitly clear, that the length of SikTh's new mini-album Opacities is a rumination upon its major theme – that of shortening attention spans, convenience and instant gratification. It is the phenomenon that has led to six seconds being the maximum length of a Facebook video that the average person can be bothered to watch; to eBooks and .pdfs of entire comic book series'; to the expectation that online articles and reviews should start with a snappy and often barely relevant line to hook the reader in – just quote a cool lyric and you usually got this in the bag.

The most impressive thing about SikTh's two full-lengths was how they managed to drag songs out to five minutes and beyond while sticking to an almost breakneck pace in their whirlwind of screams, yells, growls, mumbles, scats, soaring cleans and hyper-technical music. Opacities absolutely still sounds like the half-human half-cyborg brainchild of aliens with British accents, but manages to does so in a refreshingly concise manner.

It is when "Tokyo Lights" kicks in that SikTh fans will really start feeling at home. The third in a series of spoken-word tracks by singer Mikee Goodman, following "When Will the Forest Speak?" and "Mermaid Slur", "Tokyo Lights" feels like an extension of – even improvement upon – an essential facet of SikTh's unique style. There is no better indication of Opacities' message than the way the world of "Tokyo Lights", one full of neon and chrome and synesthesia, contrasts with the one Mikee was immersed in now twelve years ago when writing The Trees Are Dead and Dried Out... - one of mysterious and unfathomable nature, yetis and monkeys and millennial skies. SikTh claim in "Philistine Philosophies" to have "watched the golden age digitally decay", and they have a few choice words about the neon-lit nightmare that they see in its place.



Recent reviews by this author
Hayley Williams FLOWERS for VASES / descansosBlack Country, New Road For the first time
Weezer OK HumanKid Cudi Man on the Moon III: The Chosen
ManDancing The Good SweatBlack Thought Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel
user ratings (311)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sup

Digging: Hayley Williams - FLOWERS for VASES / descansos

Judio!
December 4th 2015


8463 Comments


What's good Rowan? Great write-up, pos'd. Need more albums for my year-end list so I might check this out.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a mini-album or w/e but yeah



pretty good man feeling good about finishing this review finally, watching Community, enjoying the little things. sup with you

Judio!
December 4th 2015


8463 Comments


Damn, was hoping it was an LP. I'll check it anyway though.

Doing good too dude, have finals next week which is super stressful but after that I get to chill for like a month so that's good.

bowlofsoup
December 4th 2015


1217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd. I'm loving this right now

Tasty
December 4th 2015


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

omg a new album

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I wish it was an LP too



good luck bro I believe in you show those finals who's boss

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


19323 Comments


5. Under the Weeping Moon


Opeth cover or just a coincidence? Never jammed this band before.

Digging: Nick Cave and Warren Ellis - Carnage

Judio!
December 4th 2015


8463 Comments


Gonna need all the luck I can get. How's Uni going bro?

ComeToDaddy
December 4th 2015


1828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still haven't heard this but I'm beyond excited to jam it. Sweet writeup too rowbro, pos'd m/

Essence
December 4th 2015


6444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man, agree with most of it. Disagree about the spoken word, but that's just preference :]

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That exactly what I thought too Talons haha it's just a coinkydink. Also that tracklist is fucked better fix it



@Judio I've been on break now for about a month bro, first year was pretty sweet with a couple of downsides but definitely worth it



thanks dad

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enuff Essence I've always thought it was the best part of their albums

Mort.
December 4th 2015


16000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

posd hard man but i may have some useful critiscm in tjr mornon jusy wait

Digging: Ephel Duath - The Painter's Palette

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks mort I'll be waiting for it with bated breath

Mort.
December 4th 2015


16000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

a few sentenes read weird to me im sure itllmsake sence in mornin



ovrsll tho goood shit man goood write up

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sounds infinitely better than whatever that would sound like

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2015


44709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I forgive you

Mort.
December 4th 2015


16000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i hesrd that song that sounded kornish and cringed gard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy