My Dying Bride
Feel the Misery


4.5
superb

Review

by Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
September 18th, 2015 | 129 replies


Release Date: 09/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Elegies For Burdened Souls

Out of all the pillars that support the doom metal temple, the column that is My Dying Bride has always stood the firmest. For a quarter of century the Yorkshire loners have released albums so draining that they can anchor listeners beneath their own sorrows. As each opus holds your heart in a cold embrace, the euphoric sensation that this band can summon from their haunted music is simply unparalleled in the metal world. As various members come and go and soundscapes chance like the wind, their morbid message of misery has never strayed off course. Before you even listen to their 12th album, you can tell it’s going to be wretched just from the title: “Feel The Misery”.

As per usual, all is not well in My Dying Bride. They’ve had all kinds of line up trouble that has ultimately left them with no fixed drummer (Dan Mullins is considered a live and session member at this moment) and lead guitarist, Hamish Glencross, was fired then replaced by original member Calvin Robertshaw last year. All this is simply kindle for the slow burning fire that forms My Dying Bride’s music- this drama is nothing compared to the imagery “Feel The Misery” portrays. The first song for instance, ‘And My Father Left Forever’, was written about singer Aaron Stainthrope's father recent death. The heavy lumber of guitars and funereal bass capture the despondent nature of death and the upsetting tone of Aaron’s vocals evoke his emotional pain towards his father’s passing.

This album is layered with altering soundscapes. Some complement each other such as ‘I Celebrate Your Skin’ where affectionate violins contrast the downcast guitars in an oddly comforting way. Others such as ‘Within A Sleeping Forest’ represent the internal battle of emotions that the songs portray where lamenting keyboards hide behind the truly superior riffs and authoritative vocals. However in this whirlwind of confusion everything crashes together with results of bitter heaviness. In contrast, luscious landscapes of blossoming guitars and gentle bass sway in the breeze of tranquillity during ‘A Cold New Curse’ and ‘I Almost Loved You’. Yet the intimidating vocals in the former song command a dominating character which sounds like My Dying Bride circa ‘The Dreadful Hours’ (2001).

The sheer meandering dynamics of this album are generally wild. ‘To Shiver In Empty Halls’ begins sounding more like an Insomnium tune where some memorable riffs and a hard rhythmic stamp outline the spine of the song. Aaron’s distinct vocals vary from anguished to lamenting depending on the tone of the instruments. A mellow interlude emerges out of the darkness to lull you into a false sense of dreamlike security but suddenly the soothing heartbeat of piano is torn apart by tormenting screams. The title track is more light-hearted however its dynamism is just as unsettling. The strained strings of violin from Shawn Macgowen take the lead to stir up a mournful energy however there is always a balance between bliss and bitterness: the constant repetition of “Feel the misery” reinforces the sonic resemblance of despair, even if he does seem to repeat the same line a little too frequently.

"Feel The Misery" will claw at your heart and bind the wounds with salt and despair.



Recent reviews by this author
Marissa Nadler For My CrimesSlow Crush Aurora
Attan End OfMantar The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze
Emma Ruth Rundle On Dark HorsesBleed from Within Era
user ratings (147)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
BirchBlue (4.5)
Forget all hope and surrender yourself to misery....


Comments:Add a Comment 
EvoHavok
September 18th 2015


7640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice rating.

"The first song for instance, ‘And My Father Left Forever’, was written about singer Aaron Craighan’s father recent death"

Aaron Stainthorpe. As trivia, the song was written before his father actually died; pretty ironic and sad coincidence...

You could somehow expand on that concluding line, since it is too short compared to all your other paragraphs.

Digging: Dir En Grey - The Insulated World

hortanz
September 18th 2015


798 Comments


is it streaming somewhere? I'm pretty stoked for this lol

manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2015


11273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's on Spotify and Deezer.

Digging: Winterstorm - A Coming Storm

emester
September 18th 2015


8249 Comments


this was decent

EvoHavok
September 18th 2015


7640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was this your starting point for the band, emester?

DoctorDoom
September 19th 2015


2987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great addition to their discography. This and the new Paradise Lost are great.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2015


11273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. I have to say that I enjoyed the new PL a bit more but this is still a very good album.

EvoHavok
September 19th 2015


7640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, new PL is better, but that's to be expected. This can't leave the same impact because, except some moments here and there, it's not as different from previous outputs as PL was. Still damn solid and a welcome addition to the MDB discography.

Ocean of Noise
September 19th 2015


10335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yesssss

Digging: Carbon Based Lifeforms - Derelicts

Willie
Moderator
September 19th 2015


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I've had this for weeks to review, and I just couldn't find anything to say about it. Great review.

Tunaboy45
September 19th 2015


16575 Comments


Sounds like I'll have to check this one out, great review too.

Flugmorph
September 19th 2015


19123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

great review



guitar tone is killer goddamn





Digging: VOLA - Applause of a Distant Crowd

Flugmorph
September 19th 2015


19123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i feel that i like this better than the new PL

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2015


7992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Album stream: http://metalstreaming.net/pages/play-album.php?activeAlbum=00074%20-%20My%20Dying%20Bride%20-%20Feel%20The%20Misery



Aaron's has improved his clean singing, he's actually following the trails of the arrangements.



That's not to say that I didn't like his trademark falsettos on every MDB album, on the contrary...



Digging: Yellow Devil Sauce - Zulu

Flugmorph
September 20th 2015


19123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

aaron is one of the best vocalists in doom honestly. so varied, so unique

DarkNoctus
September 21st 2015


10500 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i really can't get into this in the same way as you guys and that makes me sad

Digging: Un - Sentiment

EvoHavok
September 21st 2015


7640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's good, it means you can... feel the misery! (sorry)

CalculatingInfinity
September 21st 2015


8603 Comments


Evo: The knight of bad puns and punchlines ;)

EvoHavok
September 21st 2015


7640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not all of them are bad, but this is a less inspired one...

DarkNoctus
September 21st 2015


10500 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

some blame my poor taste, some blame old music traced

feeeeeeeeeeeeeeel the misery



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy