Cheatahs
Sunne


3.0
good

Review

by JamieTwort USER (35 Reviews)
May 4th, 2015 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist


Sometimes in music too much importance is placed on innovation and originality. Sure, a complete lack of those factors can result in some of the most painfully uninteresting music imaginable; yet on some occasions, music with very little in the way of original or innovative ideas can be just as enjoyable as that which packs both in abundance. This doesn’t relate so much to the casual music listener but more to those who think about and analyse music as much as they absorb and consume it, and it could be argued that such people may have a lesser appreciation than others of how music can be well executed and simply fit for a purpose. The warm, summery shoegaze presented on this brief EP is just that.

Imagine those hazy memories of past summers through out of focus photographs of sun induced bokeh and you’ll have a good idea of the kind of warm, fuzzy atmosphere that the simple but effective brand of shoegaze and “noise pop” that Cheatahs display here manages to create. The EP’s title track along with standout song Controller are particularly evocative of these laid back, summery vibes, combining pop hooks with an immersive dreamy haze to create songs perfect for background music to those hot summer days where doing absolutely nothing seems like the ideal thing to do.

Closing track No Drones is the anomaly of this release, having more in common with some of Cheatah’s heavier earlier material such as that of their previous EP Sans and the harsher, noise driven sounds that made up much of last year’s eponymous full length. Ultimately it’s the three tracks that precede this that make Sunne such a worthwhile release, delivering strong, albeit not at all ground-breaking, shoegaze to create a solid EP that can only improve this summer’s playlist for anyone into this style of music.

Some may discard Sunne as just another shoegaze release that doesn’t in anyway try to push the boundaries of the current scene but for those who don’t; those lazy, warm summer days that cry out for that summer jam playlist may well be just that bit more enjoyable.



Recent reviews by this author
Miles Davis / Robert Glasper Everything's BeautifulTim Gray Polyhedrons
Ink Siblings KorovaJasmine Guffond Yellow Bell
Dale Cooper Quartet and the Dictaphones/Witxes SplitLittle-Blood Coagulate
user ratings (5)
3.2
good
related reviews

Cheatahs

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just a brief write up for an equally brief EP.



Would give this 3.2 or 3.3 if I could.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2015


18878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Good review Jamie. Didn't know they had released something new, I'll check this out

Digging: No-Man - Love You To Bits

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, Talons.



They've got another new EP coming out soon as well I think.

CaptainDooRight
May 4th 2015


4211 Comments


dang was this worse than the st

Digging: Crepuscle - Heavenly Skies

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You what?

CaptainDooRight
May 4th 2015


4211 Comments


edited

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No I wouldn't say that. It has a different vibe for the most part, which I actually prefer.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2015


25258 Comments


nice little write-up JT. You think I'd dig this if I like the new Turnover album or are they completely different? trying to dive a little further into shoegaze

Digging: Origami Angel - Somewhere City

CaptainDooRight
May 4th 2015


4211 Comments


imo 'Controller' is by far the best track here. the other tracks are too cliche for me

'Controller' hits me in the right spot. It almost feels misplaced in this album because the other tracks don't stand up to it; although the first track is pre dece.

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Atari: Thanks man. They have a similarly light, summery vibe going on but this is a lot more shoegazey and less indie/dream pop. I think there's a good chance you'd like it though, it's fairly accessible, probably more so than their full length from last year.



@Cap: I agree that Controller is the best on here but the other tracks definitely play their part in making this a nice, worthwhile EP that I'll probably end up jamming just as much, if not more, than their full length.

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn just noticed this review is actually longer than the one for the full length.

evilford
May 4th 2015


42179 Comments


kinda short but good write up, I definitely agree w/ you 100% on your points on innovation and originality

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks. It was meant to be on the short side as the EP is only like 13 mins long.

evilford
May 4th 2015


42179 Comments


gotcha. yeah it's quite well written and I enjoyed the points you made

JamieTwort
May 4th 2015


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers dude, I'm glad to hear it.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2015


18878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I feel like this, lantlos melting sun, and brand news déjà entendu will be on constant repeat for the next few months. Gonna be a great summer

Artuma
May 4th 2015


31372 Comments


you definitely need some better jams

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Det Onda. Det Goda. Det Vackra. Det Fula.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2015


18878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Unoriginal maybe but I love them, Sunbather too. So far I've been taking a page out of that list posted from earlier titled "summer jams." Feel free to shoutbox me your favorite summer albums Art, I could always use more recs for my playlist

Artuma
May 4th 2015


31372 Comments


sure, i'll shoutbox you. sunbather is such a great summer album agreed

PappyMason
May 5th 2015


5702 Comments


Nice little write-up! A good read.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy