Sylosis
Dormant Heart


3.0
good

Review

by Insurrection CONTRIBUTOR (111 Reviews)
January 14th, 2015 | 186 replies


Release Date: 01/12/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Conventional metal for the masses.

There’s something strangely comforting about Sylosis’ sound. It’s an odd combination of melodic death, neoteric thrash, and prog-laden metalcore that comes across so authentically and accessibly that its lack of originality hardly factors into the equation. Their music is harmless but effective, containing catchy riffs with actual depth. In short, it’s conventional metal for the masses – it’s Sylosis. Whether that’s good or not is up to you. Their streamlined brand of metal has been relatively polarizing since the band’s inception. With their underwhelming third release Monolith especially, Sylosis gave detractors a tenable leg to stand on and made their fans question whether the band can revive their contemporary metal concoction from the tepid slump. The good news is, they have. Dormant Heart sounds great: the production, the riffs, they’re all improved and are more polished than they’ve ever been. The not-so-great news is that it’s still the same mild, inoffensive yet enjoyable, Sylosis: just of slightly higher quality.

Not much has changed in Sylosis’ formula – predictably structured songs, mid-tempo galloping riffs, a variety of vocal styles, over a tapestry of incredibly tight musicianship and production. What mars Dormant Heart is its predictability, which rears its ugly head chiefly during the middle stretch of tracks. Everything up to and including ‘To Build a Tomb’ is very decent on its own – far from groundbreaking but wholly listenable. After that, the band has little diversity left to offer, and the album doesn’t really get interesting again until track 8. By then, however, you’re so debilitated by the litany that it basically becomes a chore to finish. I’m not saying the music is bad. The songwriting is solid for a band aspiring to revive a classic style, and unlike most of their competitors, it’s quite easy on the ears. Songs like ‘Indoctrinated’ and ‘Mercy’ are fast and unrelenting, providing nostalgic flashes from the classic ‘80s thrash scene, however faint they may be. On the other hand, closer ‘Quiescent’ ends the album on a dynamic note, with emotional crooning and delicate atmospheric elements bearing an effective power ballad. That is unless you have bonus tracks ‘Pillars Erode’ and ‘Zero’ (a refurbished Smashing Pumpkins cover), in which case the album closes with mid-paced Sylosis at their best – simple and effective; nothing more, nothing less.

The problem with Dormant Heart is that the sum of its parts are better than the whole. Any individual song on here is perfectly enjoyable on it’s own, but listening to them one after another is overkill. This seems to be the case with every Sylosis album, though, which again isn’t necessarily bad. Sylosis are nothing if not consistent, and in this day and age, consistency is somewhat of a virtue. There will be no shortage of accessible new-wave melodeath thrash-core as long as Sylosis is around; you can count on that.



Recent reviews by this author
Incubus 8Metallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
Avenged Sevenfold The StagePeriphery Periphery III: Select Difficulty
Architects All Our Gods Have Abandoned UsBleeding Skies You Can (Not) Die
user ratings (201)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain (3)
Playing It Safe...

dearagony32 (5)
Some bands just have that "thing".. yes Sylosis, I'm talking about you!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2015


24413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i invented a genre. fight me



stream: http://media.nuclearblast.de/bands/events/sylosis/index.html

CaptainDooRight
January 14th 2015


2233 Comments


heard two tracks, absolutely horrid

YUJOS
January 14th 2015


1004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The vocals are even worse.

Digging: Almyrkvi - Umbra

BigPleb
January 14th 2015


51637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol, don't understand how they are horrid in any way.



Will check this soon, for sure.

Grizzlypyro
January 14th 2015


272 Comments


Sure this is isn't their best work but a 3 this is not. Still though I agree that the album does lack variety, wish they would make something more like EoTE again.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2015


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not horrid at all but the albums all run too long to get too high a score imo



"sum of its parts are better than the whole"



this part confused me because I thought the sum of the parts IS the whole. the next sentence clarifies what you're trying to say of course but the first sentence feels off to me. tell me if I'm wrong guys because I could very easily be

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2015


24413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its a variation on the phrase "the whole is better than the sum of its parts". as in, when an album sounds better when played in full than each individual track does on its own. i feel its the opposite for this album

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2015


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok I think it was just your variation that threw me off, because looking at it in opposite order makes more sense

Jeejee
January 14th 2015


55 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album was pretty hard to listen from start to finish. It's not horrible, but I really can't find any reason to listen to the whole thing again.

Mister Twister
January 14th 2015


2501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

this was less interesting to me than monolith



and I really didn't like monolith

CaptainDooRight
January 14th 2015


2233 Comments


Sure this is isn't their best work but a 3 this is not.

yoda's in the house

BigPleb
January 14th 2015


51637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol

GeneralRiffmaster
January 14th 2015


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How anyone can give this album a 3 is beyond me. This band has something that so many others try to emulate and fail, which is raw emotion. Josh may not be the best vocalist, but he pronounces his words to great effect a lot of the time. Also, he is easily one of the best guitarists in metal at the moment, along with Dave from Revocation.

CaptainDooRight
January 14th 2015


2233 Comments


lol


JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2015


6447 Comments


"How anyone can give this album a 3 is beyond me."
yeah ikr, this is a 2 at best

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2015


24413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

got rid of 'unique', dunno why i put that there. not sure whats wrong with the others though. i said their sound comes across as authentic as in the band isnt intentionally ripping anyone off, it just sounds natural

ComeToDaddy
January 14th 2015


1613 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

100% agree with the review. I can't think of bands that sound exactly like Sylosis, but that doesn't stop them being completely harmless and unsurprising in every song. They do their thing well, it's just that their thing is somewhat bland at this stage of their career

emester
January 14th 2015


8186 Comments


wow these vox blow

pretty damn boring as well

Digging: Morbid Angel - Kingdoms Disdained

JokineAugustus
January 14th 2015


8630 Comments


worst album of the year already?

Drummerboy123
January 14th 2015


3021 Comments


I really liked mercy but apart from everything else kinda bored me.

Digging: Glassjaw - Material Control



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy