Funkadelic
Funkadelic


4.5
superb

Review

by I II II L USER (37 Reviews)
June 28th, 2014 | 42 replies


Release Date: 1970 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 60's R&B on acid

George Clinton is a musical genius; there is just no point in denying it. The guy basically started funk culture, and essentially ran the genre for the entire duration of the 1970’s. In addition to that, his two flagship groups: Parliament and Funkadelic (together known as P-Funk) were just damn good bands with some really good albums. Clinton has been showing his ear for psyche-funk perfection from the very start, or in other words, this very album.

Funkadelic’s sound, unlike that of some of P-Funk’s later work (i.e. Maggot Brain) can actually be encapsulated in a single phrase: “trippy 60’s soul with guitars”. The catchy 60’s soul of Motown and the hard electric guitars of Jimi Hendrix flow through Clinton’s otherworldly fingertips to make a beautiful sound that echoes throughout the course of the 47 minute duration of this beautifully hypnotic mess of an album.

It would be unfair to give George Clinton sole credit for the greatness of this album, as much of what makes album is the guys actually playing: not just because of their skill, but also because of the sheer number of people performing here. The choruses, background singers, and extremely complex arrangements using a variety of instruments bring in a ‘larger than life’ feel to this album. One individual who especially deserves praise would be Ray Monette for his guest appearance in ‘I got a thing, you got a thing, everybody’s got a thing” where he kicks up a blazing guitar solo that can easily make for the highlight of the album.

But why stop with that song when there are so many other great points in this album" In fact, let’s start with the intro: “Mommy, What’s A Funkadelic”. Following an odd intro, we are plunged into an abyss of deep swinging grooves taken just how any music should be experienced while high: nice & slow. Erotic lines echo bringing a seductive atmosphere into play while a lovely chorus not far from Motown’s signature sound scats in the background. All of this is complemented by a deep, groovy bass line, bringing one hell of an experience for first-time listeners, high or sober. This 9 minute monster jam is brought to a close with the statement “It’s called Funkadelic music”.

All in all, this is a fantastic debut to an extremely consistent band. This could have easily been the crown jewel of P-Funk had there not been so many jewels to choose from.



Recent reviews by this author
Palm Desert Pearls From the Muddy HollowThe Haggis Horns What Comes To Mind
The Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones No.2Hills Frid
Echo Tail King DefeatismMasta Ace Slaughtahouse
user ratings (138)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
laughingman22
June 28th 2014


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hell yeah this album needed a review



I would describe this album as slow sexy funk if you asked me, but psychedelic R&B works too

ExplosiveOranges
June 28th 2014


4408 Comments


Nice review, mate. Pos.

TheSpaceMan
June 28th 2014


11700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet, this got anything as jaw dropping as Maggot Brain on it?

SharkTooth
June 28th 2014


13855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@SpaceMan

"I Got A Thing You Got A Thing Everybody's Got A Thing"

that's the full title of the song, and it's freaking awesome



SharkTooth
June 28th 2014


13855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

By the way, weird thing about this review

I really, really dig this album, but ran out of things to say about it after that third paragraph.



I could really use some suggestions on stuff to add, because I'm pretty much lost atm.

TheSpaceMan
June 28th 2014


11700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice I'll check it out



you definitely need to add some sustenance to this review, you got the point across of it being a r&b album but you don't really talk about the album itself. if you REALLY can't find a way to talk about the album's specific musical material then you can try name dropping the stand out tracks/moments. perhaps describe whatever imagery this album paints when you listen to it? I mean dont go overboard and write a concept review but just describe the overall feeling more, ya know?

SharkTooth
June 28th 2014


13855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good idea, I'm gonna do that asap, which might be tough since I am also excited to start a Daryl Hall & John Oates review



(they're getting inducted in the Rock n' Roll hall of fame and I want to celebrate)

TheSpaceMan
June 28th 2014


11700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rework some of these sentences too, I can tell you know what you're thoughts are but are struggling to convey them. for example:



"To give Clinton alone credit for this would be unfair though, as much of what makes album is the gigantic ensemble of performers, who breathe life into the album with their brilliant performances."



rework this sentence. start with "Its unfair to give all the credit to Clinton" or something along those lines. then talk about how the performers contribute to the overall wealth of the album. (a good place to extend to review too). also avoid repeating a word as unique as performance... you say performers and permances in the same sentence which seems a little careless tbh



just tips man, ways to expand on the review. here to help, not just criticize (:

SharkTooth
June 28th 2014


13855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's cool man, I'm open to criticism

SharkTooth
June 28th 2014


13855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Added a fair bit to the review, I think it looks much better now

Judio!
June 28th 2014


8433 Comments


Needed a review badly, great work! Pos'd.

menawati
June 29th 2014


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album, posed

zakalwe
June 29th 2014


26038 Comments


An added plus here is Benjamin Thorternburger is possibly the greatest name of all time.
Nice one Benny Burger.

Mad.
June 29th 2014


4735 Comments


Damn, this didn't have a review?!?! Props for doing so, and great work, pos'd.

I remember listening to this and finding it quite different from Maggot Brain and definitely not as good, but still need to relisten

Underflow
June 29th 2014


4662 Comments


Well very little is as good as Maggot Brain, so of course!

menawati
June 29th 2014


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

maggot brain's brilliance is quite concentrated in the title track though, they did a few other albums that are better overall

zakalwe
June 29th 2014


26038 Comments


Cosmic Slop

menawati
June 29th 2014


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

take it to the stage and standing on verge too

Underflow
June 29th 2014


4662 Comments


Would've gone with Standing on the Verge

menawati
June 29th 2014


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

got the edit in just in time haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy