Genesis
Foxtrot


4.0
excellent

Review

by newWorld USER (6 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist


I'm surprised to find the lack of prog rock albums, excluding pink floyd, found on this forum. So I'm gonna do one of an album I recently purchased and got into.

Overview - This album came out in, I believe, 1972 and features the lineup: Peter Gabriel, vocals; Steve Hackett, Guitar; Tony Banks, keyboards; Mike Rutherford, Bass; Phil Collins, percussion, vocals.

Watcher of the Skies - This song is pretty powerful. It begins with an organ intro that sounds similar to the start of a movie. Next comes in the drums and rest of band. Great opener, awesome subsections, great drumming. 4.5/5

Time Table - Catchy tune about medaeval times. Nice piano intro. Fairly intense chorus. But not a necessity to make the album. I'd give it 3/5.

Get 'Em Out by Friday - Awesome song about getting evicted. Very catchy. The organ, vocals, lyrics, guitars, bass and drums all rock. 4/5

Can-Utility and the Coastliners - Catchy melodies, nice guitar work at the beginning care of Hackett and Rutherford. Again, not a necessity. 3/5

Horizons - Pleasant instrumental with only one guitar. Serves more as intro to Supper's Ready than anything else. The album would be strong without it, so... 2.5/5

Supper's Ready- Amazing. This song is full of amazing musicianship and lyrics. Like it begins with the "hey baby" theme sand it comes back at the end with percussive bells. The ending of the song is very powerful and you can just feel that Gabriel feels it. 4.5/5

Supper's Ready, Watcher of the Skies, and Get 'Em out By Friday are definitely the highlights of the album. Some people have tried to tell me that this is a concept album, and its possible. The lyrics can be difficult to decrypt sometimes. The reason I say that is that rating an album involves looking at individual song's place in the context of the entire album, which could make weak individual songs strengthen the album as a whole. So.... I'll give it a 4/5.


user ratings (982)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
72haha72 (4.5)
A quirky yet sophisticated progressive album that remains as one of the pillars of the genre....

Nagrarok (4.5)
Now having become masters of the art, Genesis release a progressive classic....

sonictheplumber (4.5)
Genesis continue to grow....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Distorted Vision
September 23rd 2004


184 Comments


Decent review, I used to be a huge Genesis fan when I was a baby (more the poppy stuff), I was even in the fanclub in the early 90s, aged about 6! Stupidly, I only began to delve back into their prog stuff this year, I've really been missing out over the years. They were some of the cream of the crop of British prog with King Crimson and Yes.

Decent review, I've heard some of these songs but I still think nothing can really touch Selling England and The Lamb. They are incredible.

newWorld
September 25th 2004


24 Comments


I agree. Selling England is, in my opinion, one of the strongest albums ever made. And The Lamb is just beautiful. I still find it hard to believe that such an album was made in 1974.

Goblin Metronome
September 30th 2004


5 Comments


Yeah, I heard that Foxtrot runs parallel to the Bible, with Watcher of the Skies being about creation etc. The album isn't of the calibre of Selling England, but it's a great album nonetheless.

Good review.

Spectrum
October 18th 2007


347 Comments


Okay, so I just heard "Supper's Ready" for the first time today, and I think I can safely say that I need to get my hands on this album.

moltenlava
July 2nd 2008


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm surprised to find the lack of prog rock albums, excluding pink floyd, found on this forum.




YES. I'll have what he's ordering. Love me some Progressive Rock. Prog, Jazz and Metal for me, please.





ilikemusicthatsucks
July 2nd 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This band and this album bore me to death. My dad used to play it all the time. He's a Vietnam vet and he's Jewish.

moltenlava
July 2nd 2008


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, if I was tortured with it as a kid, maybe I'd feel differently about this band. But, I just recently got into Gabriel-era Genesis a little while back, and they're one of the greatest things to listen to when you got some time on your hands, as in surfing the net at night. Loads of subtle nuances and such. And, Peter Gabriel's vocal phrasing during this era is one of the most original vocal approaches I've ever heard. Fine, fine work...And, the last track is utter brilliance. Supper's Ready is one of big guns of Progressive Rock.



This Message Edited On 07.02.08

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 2nd 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^Yeah well I guess I have a bias though cuz I'm not a huge prog fan. At all actually. A little Pink Floyd and that's it for me.This Message Edited On 07.02.08

moltenlava
July 2nd 2008


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aw, man. Sorry to hear that. That's a tough break, dude. Hope your overall taste improves soon. lol.





ilikemusicthatsucks
July 2nd 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Meh, I mean I know that it takes a lot of talent and all that to do what those guys did. Nobody could deny that. But to me it just isn't actually enjoyable to hear, other than occassional moments of "They're pretty good at playing guitar/bass/drums."

moltenlava
July 2nd 2008


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's got it's place. Like, I'll never hear Prog or Jazz in my car at all, but it's got it's place in the home when I have more time and more attention to dedicate to music. Besides the fact that the musicians are all top-notch, it's really the compositional complexity that does it for me. The clever instrumental bits effect my brain unlike anything else. I guess, you either find it intellectually satisfying or not. If I have two hours to surf the net, I'd rather hear a great Jazz album or let a huge Prog Rock Epic unfold, than listen to anything else. But, if I'm in my car, or at a card game, or an out door BBQ, I want to hear copious amounts of Heavy Metal. You should give a few records a whirl in the wee small hours and see how that works for ya. Ya like 'At War With The Mystics', so you obviously dig some smart stuff.





This Message Edited On 07.02.08

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 2nd 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^Oh hell yeah, the Flaming Lips is a favorite of mine. I don't have anything wrong with cerebral music per se, it just seems prog bores me. But you are right I suppose: I've never actually just sat and focused on an album "in the wee small hours" as you say lol. I guess I will look at some highly rated prog and give it a try but my guess is my opinion won't change. But who knows, it's worth a shot.

moltenlava
July 2nd 2008


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One record: Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick. It would be impossible for you to find that album boring. It's probably the most engaging album ever written. The changes that this thing goes through is beyond brilliant, and quite confounding for the first half dozen spins. It'll take ya a while before you can make sense of it all. It's basically one track, 40 someodd minutes, with a few dozen sub-sections. And, you don't need to wait until night to hear this one. lol. One of the best Rock albums ever.





babaoriley27
November 25th 2008


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My ranking of my favorite sidelong prog tracks I've heard:

1. Supper's Ready-Genesis (By a LOT)

2. A Change of Seasons-Dream Theater

3. The Gates of Delirium-Yes

4. Close to the Edge-Yes

5. Echoes-Pink Floyd (Not sure whether Dogs should count)

6. Tarkus-ELP

7. Thick as a Brick (part 1)-Jethro Tull (Which I STILL love BTW)

8. Rush-2112

FR33L0RD
March 10th 2009


1472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^^^^Nice prog. list



Supper's Ready is a very beautiful musical piece.

Mendigo
March 10th 2009


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf, is this really the only Foxtrot review here? I'll write another one sooner or later, I promise.

shindip
July 7th 2009


3536 Comments


terrible review. this album is not as good as the 2 that followed it, but still provides a good listen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy