Mushroomhead
Savior Sorrow


4.0
excellent

Review

by DarkLordCheesy USER (4 Reviews)
September 19th, 2006 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cleveland-based industrial metal band returns with their thrid major release, keeping a familiar sound that fans of Mushroomhead will not be disappointed with.

Mushroomhead, the Cleveland-based Industrial metal band, returns with their third major release, “Savior Sorrow.” In the transition between their last release, “XIII,” and their newest album, there were a lot of changes. One of the singers left, a new singer filled his place, and they changed labels from Universal to Megaforce, but they still deliver a chest pounding performance without losing the classic sound contained in the older albums.
For anyone unfamiliar with the band, Mushroomhead is an eight piece industrial band formed in 1993. The band consists of two vocalists, Waylon and Jeffrey Nothing, Skinny on drums, guitarists Bronson and Gravy, Keyboardist Shmotz, Pig Benis on bass, and Samples provided by Stitch. The band is most well known for the masks donned during concerts, similar to bands like Mr. Bungle, Slipknot, Motograter, and GWAR.
The CD was an extremely wide variety of music, from guitar heavy songs to a couple of tracks dominated by samples and keyboard, the CD even closes with the song “Embrace the Ending,” which is entirely acoustic, something that Mushroomhead has not done up to this point.
The aggression created in Mushroomhead’s music is definitely conveyed well in this CD, especially in songs like “Damage Done” and “12 Hundred”. The album opens with a soft guitar and drum line with Waylon singing, then is immediately followed by screaming, double-bass drums, and a power chord infused riff that carries through the rest of the song. The rest of the CD follows suit with a good mix of soft music that creates a sense of foreboding, leading into loud, angry, and violent music.
They catch you completely off guard with the album closer, “Embrace the Ending.” The song begins with a short violin intro, and then smoothly transfers to a duel acoustic guitar background with Nothing and Waylon trading vocals. The song throws a bit of a curveball in that the entire album will start off with something soft and then follow it up with heavy riffs and violent lyrics, but the final song doesn’t follow this trend. Expecting the album to close with a song heavier than anything else will confuse you, since it seems as though the CD just drops, but this is tolerable because the final song still sounds amazing.
The band has never been a good one for solos, drum, guitar or otherwise, and that doesn’t change in this CD. In fact, it could even be said that the band doesn’t particularly consist of incredibly talented musicians, but the blend of music and samples, along with the duel lead singer shtick creates an original sound that can be appreciated by any fan of metal or industrial.


user ratings (278)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Acey (3.5)
...

psycho888999 (2)
Mushroomhead's weakest effort....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

too short

f_u_c_t
September 19th 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the review could use some work, but you got the concept down.

Cravinov13
September 19th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Weak review. I can't wait to hear this though.

DanD
September 19th 2006


86 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you didn't really explain why you gave the album the rating you did.



nonetheless, its a pretty damn good album, i was extremely surprised. Waylon definitely holds up his own (some people may kill me for this) and i think does a better job than what JMann would have.

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cravinov, i bought the CD today, and it shows some promise, once i listen to it a few more tiems i will do another review for it. i voted against because it only was too short, but you did get the concept down.This Message Edited On 09.19.06

Cravinov13
September 19th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it wasn't horrible, but not the best, I didn't vote. How does the new harsh vocalist sound? That's what I've been wondering the most. I love Mushroomhead, so i have high expectations for this.

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he is actually pretty decent, he doesnt rap like J-Mann used to, but is a great fit in for this band.

Cravinov13
September 19th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I won't miss the rap so it's all good.

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it still sounds like the old Mushroomhead, they just didn't come up with as many catchy jingles, but the CD is still very good.

Cravinov13
September 19th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, just one more question, how are the keyboards on the album (cause I love keyboards).

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they are better than on XIII, they make great use of them, but then again i have only listen to the album completely through once, as i got it this afternoon and have had other commitments

Cravinov13
September 19th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, thanks. I'm hoping for a song with keyboards that are like their songs The Wrist, One More Day, and Bwomp.

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the fourth song on this CD (Save Us) is the one that gets catchy at first, because it sounds like it uses a couple of elements of the songs on XIII.

DanD
September 19th 2006


86 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they keyboards arent very prominent on this album compared to their earlier stuff, but more active than most of the stuff on XIII

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, XX used great keyboards

superfascist
September 19th 2006


118 Comments


I have some high hopes for this album. XII wasn't really all that great, but XX rocked something hard. I'm pretty curious as to how the new vocalist sounds too.

I think the comments for this review gave me a better idea of what the album is like than the review itself. =/

Acey
September 19th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

to get the full scoop, you should listen to the CD

superfascist
September 19th 2006


118 Comments


I should. I'm curious, and Soulseek has always been my favorite reveiwer anyway.

DarkLordCheesy
September 20th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I apologize for the shitty review...I agree that it is not my best work, and in the future I will take a little bit more time and care in writing my opinions...I was trying something a little different with this review and it obviously did not work...thank you for your feedback...Peace

Acey
September 20th 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it is pretty good, but not as good as XX but better than XII, for the most part. i would think you would like it mudvaynian



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy