Amon Amarth
Wrath of the Norsemen


5.0
classic

Review

by Foodforthegods USER (35 Reviews)
September 14th, 2006 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


It's seems that a lot of band are now delivering awesome DVD's. Arch Enemy's Live Apocalypse and Dream Theater's Score are great example. Amon Amarth's Wrath Of The Norsemen is one of them.

CONTENT

This DVD is massive!!! almost 7h of material divided in 3 disc. It is basically 5 live shows and a 30min documentary about the making of the cologne show.
The Cologne set is very impressive. 22 songs!!! You almost got all of their albums.

QUALITY

All of the 5 shows could have been released as a single DVD. Their is no bootleg *** as a bonus. The cologne show is the best. Filmed with 11 cameras, you can't miss a detail of the show. The image quality is crystal clear even if the lightning is very dark. The Sound is impressive. The mighty B-tune guitars will blew your speaker. The Documentary is not really interesting. I've seen better. The Wacken show the other show that sticks out. Wow for guys who are playing at 2:00 A.M. In Front of a tired crowd they had a lot of energy. Th e Set-list is nice. The Other show are great but they'are more of a regular show with nothing special but the quality is nice and If you're a fan it's woth it.

HIGHLIGHTS:

Fate Of Norns at the cologne show
Pursuit of the vikings at wacken
The Six Feet Under Cover at the Metal Blade RRROOOOAAAARRRR!


PROS

The quality of all the shows
Large Set-list
Energical band

CONS

Bonus could have been better but the amount of live performance makes you forget.



Recent reviews by this author
Dave Matthews Band Away From The WorldU2 360° at the Rose Bowl
Dave Matthews Band Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux KingNeal Morse Testimony
Dimension Zero Silent Night FeverNovembre The Blue
user ratings (93)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Neoteric
September 14th 2006


3243 Comments


o_O

Zmev
September 15th 2006


983 Comments


Since theres 7 hours of content, theres a lot to be reviewed.

It doesn't look like that took place.

Foodforthegods
September 15th 2006


425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that review a DVD should not take so long. I think it should be covered in overall. Not song by song...for example I think it is not good to say: The guys on the first song were in fire!!!!! All was perfect!!!.....I Think it's the same thing for alll the show so why waste the time of the people who'll read the review. The performance is energical, the image quality is awesome and the sound is perfect what more can I Say. It's not a cd....if you want a review of the song checkout the album one.

Pete
September 15th 2006


188 Comments


You should write at least a full paragraph reviewing each show, this is just lazy. You get a neg vote from me, good Sir.

whatsgrimace
September 15th 2006


47 Comments


This is not a good review... Too many typing errors and not enough information at all.

Shattered_Future
September 15th 2006


1560 Comments


You don't need to write a track by track for it to be a good review. You DO have to include information though. Which you sorely neglected to do.

KoraX
September 15th 2006


161 Comments


Tracklist 2 times longer than review is funny.

kalkal50
May 27th 2007


2386 Comments


Em very bad review.

Angmar
June 27th 2007


2688 Comments


do it, the first show is really amazing, they play for like 2 1/2 hours and never start sounding bad, and don't forget the staged viking battles!

Slaytan
August 29th 2007


1185 Comments


I should pick this up sometime. Amon Amarth always manages to deliver good material with substance, something this review lacked.

SCREAM!
December 19th 2007


15755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review was way way way too short.

This would've been better with less concerts and add a documentary and some videos.

Still good though.

Shattered_Future
December 19th 2007


1560 Comments


I realized that they could have condensed this DVD down into 1 song (Death In Fire) and it would still have the same impact. :lol:

FenderUsa
July 25th 2008


582 Comments


Awesome review

SorrowLyric
July 25th 2008


119 Comments


But, Amon Amarth is just... not. that. good.

FR33L0RD
January 7th 2011


1474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Must have DVD for any dedicated metal heads.



DVD 1 Live at Cologne...is a classic melo-death metal concert.

pedro70512
February 3rd 2014


4167 Comments


I still want to know what energical means.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy