Truck Violence
Violence


3.8
excellent

Review

by DadKungFu STAFF
July 10th, 2024 | 23 replies


Release Date: 07/05/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The bear as effigy?

The backbone of this country is the independent truck, so saith the spitting mirror held to the great western underbelly, and violence is the message being carried down the highways to every cancer-ridden capillary in this great and dying beast. Trace that genealogy from there to this album and you might get a sense of the foundation Truck Violence’s attack is built upon. Our northern brethren are reveling in the slow slide to oblivion we’re all wrapped inescapably in, as drunk on raging passion and self-absorption as Sprain were last year, but clothed here in flannel and the violence of the Canadian backwoods, much as Chat Pile took the utterly bleak urban Midwest as its canvas two years ago.

But it requires something more than those comparisons, as favorable as they are, to completely recommend it. Certainly, Truck Violence are much more focused than Sprain were, much to their benefit. What Violence does well (very well, in fact) is translate that same raging alienation into its own particular language, but what comes across is often simply the same brand of fury dressed Canadian, a theme that certainly bears exploring based on the wealth of riveting material to be found here, but which speaks in the same tones and cues of its forebears. The banjo-dirges, as centerpiece and interlude and latter-day ballad makes for more than a whiplash veering off the trail and into the undergrowth, but lockstep-clicks with the hardcore seethe boiling up from the rest of the album. It’s a wonderful element that adds a sufficiently original tone to the mix, but which doesn’t quite break away into something that makes Truck Violence completely its own beast. The poetics, if not as self-consciously built off of the narcissistic confessional/vomiting of The Lamb As Effigy are at least as consciously wrought from erudition and disgust in equal measure, and we can say that much of what we love about the interplay between the musical roar and this feverish emoting is how deft Truck Violence are at pushing and pulling between Karsyn Henderson’s roars, moans, bellows and whispers and the ever-simmering, often explosive hardcore violence of the rest of the band. Violence may not be as original as it perhaps hopes to be, but its attempt to express a universal alienation in local terms is both admirably constructed and intuitively thrilling.



Recent reviews by this author
Bon Jovi ForeverDick Gaughan Handful of Earth
The Avett Brothers The Avett BrothersAdeem The Artist Anniversary
Kee Avil SpineMeat Beat Manifesto and Merzbow Extinct
user ratings (23)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
PumpBoffBag
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


1624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Absolutely wonderful review, will check this soon!

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


5078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

It deserves checking, hopefully this band gets more exposure in the future

Sykx
July 10th 2024


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw their roadside clip on /r/hardcore. Cool to see them here and fantastic review. Loving this release.

SlothcoreSam
July 10th 2024


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, ok I'm on it.

Hawks
July 10th 2024


90597 Comments


Chat Pile name drop mean I gotta jam this right now.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


10818 Comments


For some reason, I keep seeing the album art everywhere.

Will read and listen.

Sharenge
July 10th 2024


5457 Comments


for some reason bear compels me to listen

Pikazilla
July 10th 2024


30446 Comments


folk punk ew lmao

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


5078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah that tag doesn't fit this band at all

Pikazilla
July 10th 2024


30446 Comments


okay, I will then give this a shot

had me extremely worried there

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just jammed this randomly last night and it goes hard

FowlKrietzsche
July 10th 2024


1401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opening track is very very good, cute animal album covers always win

Pikazilla
July 10th 2024


30446 Comments


I listened to the first track, it was good

whoever tagged this as folk punk

die

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


5078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Lol FowlKrietzsche did you get a closer look at the album art?

SlothcoreSam
July 10th 2024


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this and the new Crippling Alcoholism back to back, so good!

Sharenge
July 10th 2024


5457 Comments


just cus he dead doesn't mean he can't be a cute

naughtcturnal
July 11th 2024


2697 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gatdam this is good

kildare
July 11th 2024


374 Comments


"The bear as effigy", "certainly bears exploring," "same tones and cues of its forebears", in a review for an album with a black bear on the cover. I love this kind of thing

And I was going praise the review for using ALL the sense of the word "bear" I could think of. Then I looked in a dictionary and saw around 22 senses between "bear" and "forbear," not counting sub-senses. So not all of them, then

Still damn good musical wordsmithing tho

FowlKrietzsche
July 11th 2024


1401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aw I didn't realize he was dead

PumpBoffBag
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2024


1624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

This is brilliant



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy