Four Stroke Baron
Data Diamond


4.7
superb

Review

by Tyler White STAFF
June 7th, 2024 | 39 replies


Release Date: 05/31/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A zany success

Data Diamond is nothing short of ambitious. With their unique blend of progressive rock/metal and electronic elements and experimenting with odd vocal effects and modulation, Four Stroke Baron’s fourth full-length pushes the boundaries of modern rock in a captivating manner. Though their past records have experimented with synthetic effects, Data Diamond takes a deeper dive into the avant-garde, stripping down their predominantly metal style to a more electronic-centric focus.

With opener “On Mute,” Four Stroke Baron displays their emphasis on creating a strong atmosphere for Data Diamond, beginning with pulsating bass and pitch-shifting vocals. However, this subtle atmosphere quickly explodes into chaos as “Monday” kicks into gear with sporadic drum rhythms and sliding, down-tuned guitar riffs. Throughout the tracks, dramatic Tears For Fears-esque vocals are heavily distorted and manipulated, complemented by wacky synths and frantic electronics that add to the intensity of the track. This dynamic between the calmer sensibilities of the opener and the metal-focus of the follow-up perseveres throughout the entirety of the record. Tracks like “Cyborg Pt. 3 (Because I’m God)” and “People In My Image” resort to the band’s heavier style with bouncy riffs and catchy grooves accented by the subtle intricacies of audio effects and ambient elements. On the other end, interlude “VALLTT” and “Open The World” dive headfirst into jazzy, experimental sections give a new facet to the band’s style that focuses more on the out of the ordinary songwriting and ambitious musicianship.

Where Data Diamond succeeds the most is when it balances the dynamic throughout a track. One-two punch closers “1,000 Threads” and the title track elevates the style of the album to a new level. The former, as one of the heaviest tracks on the record, does a perfect job of transitioning from the aggressive composition of the first half to the dark atmosphere of the end of the song that seamlessly gives way to the title track. Standing at 7-minutes, the closer takes its time as it grows into an epic climax with vibrant refrains of the classic song “September.” In between the guitar-driven choruses, the stripped down verses give room to breathe and allow the electronic elements to take the spotlight in a powerful way. It may not be the heaviest or craziest track of the bunch, but it packs the biggest punch as a strong closer to an even stronger record.

Although Data Diamond is sure to be polarizing, one cannot deny its ambitious efforts. While progressive rock/metal mixed with electronics has been done plenty of times before, Four Stroke Baron pushes the balance of the two, leading to avant-garde tracks that can only be described as “zany.” It may not be conventional by any means, but that’s the beauty behind it all.



Recent reviews by this author
Wage War StigmaOne Step Closer All You Embrace
Diamond Construct Angel Killer ZeroGreyhaven Stereo Grief
Night Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part IINight Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part I
user ratings (28)
2.7
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

This album came out of nowhere for me. "Monday" and "1,000 Threads" go absolutely crazy

SteakByrnes
June 7th 2024


30135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

hell yea brother I gotta check this, the song you sent me was cool

Slex
June 7th 2024


16801 Comments


Sounds v interesting will check, awesome review

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Thank you brothas! Hope y’all dig it

WatchItExplode
June 8th 2024


10480 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I really like the first album...it's been a heck of a slide.

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Well that's unfortunate

Ebola
June 8th 2024


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I did not enjoy this much at all. Found it gimmicky and directionless. The "zany" elements seemed forced, as if meant to distract listeners from the overall lack of memorable songwriting.

Eakflanderyof
June 9th 2024


5663 Comments


Hey guy these guys used my nickname in college

WatchItExplode
June 9th 2024


10480 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is robot farts. Reminds me of the movie Grandma's boy and I do not have robot ears to hear this.

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Get those robot ears then already

WalrusTusk
June 9th 2024


1823 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

First impression is that this is nowhere near as good as Classics.

Calc
June 9th 2024


17382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah this is not it at all

Tundra
June 9th 2024


9864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is what breaking benjamin sounds like in another dimension

Tundra
June 9th 2024


9864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Eak was gonna make a similar joke, they are just asking to be made fun of with that name LOL

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2024


4552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

The name goes crazy fr… sad to see y’all not enjoying this but I get it

Bloma
June 10th 2024


162 Comments


Didn't expect to like this but I very quickly am loving it. Will buy it on bandcamp now and delve into it more. It's really genuinely odd but poppy and catchy.

bloc
June 11th 2024


70400 Comments


I can imagine this album would be pretty polarizing, but I thought it was fun

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


61289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Monday might be the single worst song i've heard in my life. was genuinely shocked when the rest of this turned out to have occasional salvageable moments. i remember this band circa Planet Silver Screen having cult hype and ear-catching tunes, guessing they flopped since then. production is absolutely horrid across this

ban all prog bands from touching pop etc

Comatorium.
June 11th 2024


5087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is fun as hell. But it’s not a post punk revival that steals swans songwriting choices so Sputnik gonna hate.

kalkwiese
June 11th 2024


10489 Comments


I saw these guys live recently
The drummer and the bassist were cool, but I guess I need to listen to their studio work to understand what they were going for with the vox



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy