Beth Gibbons
Lives Outgrown


4.5
superb


Release Date: 05/17/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Darkness, my old friend...

Beth Gibbons has been making music for over 2 decades. Being of Portishead fame, she certainly is no stranger to some sort of spotlight. I myself am a relatively new listener of Portishead, only recently getting into them within the past month or so, but it’s not hard to see why Beth is as highly lauded as she is. Her serenely melancholic vocals soaring behind the somtimes warm, sometimes extremely eerie production is the main highlight of the entire group. Lives Outgrown is Beth’s first album as a solo artist, and be warned, if you’re expecting a mere Portishead ripoff, you’ll be highly disappointed.

Lives Outgrown is rooted in folk music, but that would be the worst way to pigeonhole the beautiful art that Beth has created here. There’s an everlasting sense of melancholy and a heaviness draped over the entire 46 minute runtime. The cold atmosphere of chamber pop is just as prevelant as the folky backdrop of the whole album. Take for example the aptly titled “Burden of Life”. The desolate acoustics hum as Beth’s haunting voice croons that “the burdens of life just won’t leave me alone”. Lives Outgrown has the sense of dread around every corner. Yes this is folk music but the underlying darkness gives you the vibe of Beth making her way through a medieval village of some sort. Pleading for help as she tries to escape capture. On “Oceans”, Beth complains about her life being “tired and worn” as the acoustics create a dark “old Western” esque atmosphere.

I truly hope Beth is alright because this is some extremely dark and morbid stuff. The outright depressing lyrics are as if Beth is writing in her diary about all her hopes and dreams that have been dashed into pieces. Right when you feel a sense of being uplifted, the dreadful atmosphere and haunting vocals will pull you right back down. One step forward, two steps back. That’s how life can be a lot of the time. Lucky for us, Beth’s misery is our enjoyment. Lives Outgrown is in a league of its own. You’re welcome to join in on the depression!



Recent reviews by this author
Chief Keef Almighty So 2Summoning Minas Morgul
Selbst Despondency Chord ProgressionsTzompantli Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
Brutalism (USA) Solace in AbsurditySnow Strippers Night Killaz, Vol. 2
user ratings (116)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe not my best work idk but this needed a damn thread so here it is!

FowlKrietzsche
June 2nd 2024


1187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to see this get a review! I def need to spend more time with it, I think I still prefer the variety of her album with Rustin Man over this, but this is ace stuff too

Trifolium
June 2nd 2024


39278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It SO needed a thread oh my god.



Thanks Hawks! Album is wonderful seeing her live in three days yippeeeeeeeeeee!!!

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2024


26316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

just spinned this for the first time and it is lovelyyyy

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah boys!!!



I hope I did it justice idk I enjoyed writing this but I always try to find the right way to describe highly acclaimed albums like this.

DDDeftoneDDD
June 2nd 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very Abba cover. Can't wait to check this

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Def u will love it!

hamid95
June 2nd 2024


1205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

no lie, some of the best moments here are up there with the best of porthishead. in many respects very different tho

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still need to jam the last 2 Portishead albums I love Dummy.

Pikazilla
June 2nd 2024


30048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

geth bibbons

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice rating Pika.

DDDeftoneDDD
June 2nd 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You'll prob remember some S/T tracks Hawks

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna get on that one this week sometime.

83Bumakis
June 2nd 2024


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah man, this needed a review badly. Great and concise writing, as always. Album is indeed fantastic and has been on regular rotation. And like others have said, you def need to visit the other two portishead albums asap. Self titled is prolly one of my top 10 all time favorites.

Hawks
June 2nd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks buddy! I will get on them for sure!

Jash
June 2nd 2024


5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you based Hawks, Ilu bro

Hawks
June 3rd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ily more!!!

Hawks
June 3rd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm fucking obsessed with this right now. Her album with Rustin Man is really good but this smokes it in every way imo.



Also jammed the Portishead s/t earlier and it was even better than I was expecting.

Spec
June 3rd 2024


39659 Comments


Fun fact: the song “Beth” by Kiss was written about Beth Gibbons.

Hawks
June 3rd 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have jammed like 5 Kiss songs in my entire life lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy