Saidan
Visual Kill: The Blossoming of Psychotic Depravity


4.6
superb

Review

by Gary STAFF
May 24th, 2024 | 237 replies


Release Date: 05/24/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All killer no filler: Saidan does not disappoint.

Saidan is a rather inventive and distinctive band in the black metal genre today, not only for its interesting thematic concept (Japanese horror stories) but also for its style (heavily punk-influenced, vibrant, uplifting melodies). Roughly two years have passed since their previous album, yet the Nashville duo has not been idle in the meantime. Their latest creation, Visual Kill: The Blossoming of Psychotic Depravity, is a bold and qualitatively outstanding album — much like its predecessor, Onryō II: Her Spirit Eternal, it stands out significantly in its field.

Has Saidan's style changed? Partially, yes! Fortunately, the band has retained and perfected their tried-and-true combination of punkish, cheerful, major chord-rich riffs, accompanying synthesizers, and energetic but straightforward drumming. The stylistic change can be found in certain details of the album, such as the opening track, or in "Visual Kill", where bouncy, true old-school thrash metal riffs make an appearance (especially in the latter track, this genre turn is very memorable). But that's not all; in their latest release, Saidan also has made some unexpected forays into classic heavy metal and Led Zeppelin-esque rock. The first noticeable moment of this experimentation can be heard in the second half of the track "Sick Abducted Purity", which features a bombastic guitar solo that Jimmy Page himself would be proud of. The Led Zeppelin vibe is further reinforced by the album's short interlude piece, "Seraphic Lullaby", which serves as a "mini Stairway To Heaven" amidst the endless sea of riffs. Overall, Visual Kill: The Blossoming of Psychotic Depravity delivers what makes Saidan so likable: a refreshing blend of black metal and punk in the form of a highly melodic and exciting album... with a little extra!




Recent reviews by this author
Morgul Blade Heavy Metal WraithsDarkthrone It Beckons Us All
Coffin Storm Arcana RisingNemedian Chronicles The Savage Sword
Necrowretch Swords of DajjalWizards of Aldur Magician's Gambit
user ratings (110)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2024


8091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

I've tried to keep this short. Brilliant album, as expected.

DaveyMonsoon
May 24th 2024


1135 Comments


Whew, that rating. I remember checking their first album and while I found it alright, it didn't really feel like my kinda thing.

Hawks
May 24th 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

LETS GOOOOOOO BAND SLAYZ SO AHRD!!! M///

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2024


10771 Comments


New album from these guys? Loved the previous one.

Will read shortly.

Spec
May 24th 2024


39659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Major chord riffs m/. Gotta check.

Hawks
May 24th 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The title track might be the best bm song ever made tbh.

PizzaBear
May 24th 2024


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I swear you say that one per month MINIMUM lmao





Only had time to listen to the first half earlier but it rips so hard

SteakByrnes
May 24th 2024


30003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is very cool, jammed this morning. Sick rev

Slex
May 24th 2024


16671 Comments


So excited to listen to this

Hawks
May 24th 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah no shit Pizza cause there's 59298218282 amazing bm tracks.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2024


60907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jfc that schoolgirl artwork lol.

last album slapped, downloading this asap

someone
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2024


6719 Comments


Japanese horror stories? Sold!
Punk-influenced? Sold!
Uplifting bm? Sold!
Weeb-coded Led Zeppelin? Eeeh, I was sold three times already, I ain't docking points now.

Zac124
May 25th 2024


2811 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album does indeed slap.



PizzaBear
May 25th 2024


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Yeah no shit Pizza cause there's 59298218282 amazing bm tracks."



But only one can be the best ever ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Hawks
May 25th 2024


89540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's where ur wrong friend.

CugnoBrasso
May 25th 2024


2754 Comments


"Sick Abducted Purity" sounds like a black metal anime opening.

Comatorium.
May 25th 2024


5075 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is brilliant band is brilliant been waiting for this for two years. Really since onryo II dropped and I realized this band was something special.

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2024


10098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck jolliest BM band this band might be the most wholesome thing to produce sounds ever tbh

Ngl I almost insta 5d this lmao

Zac124
May 25th 2024


2811 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, this is my aoty so far. Desecration of a Lustful Illusion and Sick Abducted Purity are just too fucking good.

zaruyache
May 25th 2024


27488 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

saidan do a what a saidan do



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy