Your Ghost In Glass
Drowning to Escape the Fire


3.0
good

Review

by artificialbox USER (14 Reviews)
May 19th, 2024 | 20 replies


Release Date: 05/17/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More 2000s emo worship for your woes

Your Ghost In Glass is a one man solo project based out of Los Angeles, CA which aims to recreate the raw intensity of 2000s post hardcore bands like Senses Fail and... mostly Senses Fail, if we're being honest. Cameron McBride's first EP under the Your Ghost In Glass moniker was almost a perfect recreation of the vibe that Let It Enfold You brought to the world in 2004. It was honestly impressive how he managed to capture the pure essence of songwriting, guitar playing and vocal delivery which made Senses Fail's early material so raucous and heartfelt. Now with his debut full length, Cameron continues to pen his love letter to a bygone era of music which is held so deeply in many of our hearts, with varying degrees of success.

At it's core, Drowning to Escape the Fire is a passionate and convincing resuscitation of emotional guitar driven music with a heart-on-your-sleeve approach to vocals and lyricism. It suffers a bit from a patchy DIY production job, but the fact that this was recorded by one person in a bedroom adds a bit of context and forgivability there. The programmed drums in particular are a bit of an obstacle to enjoyment. Despite providing the album with a solid infusion of energy, the hits are static and not mixed very well. On my first listen, I found the kick drum to be so loud and distracting that it actually made it hard to focus on the songs. It's a shame, because the guitar and vocal takes are so rich and organic, and the artificial drum tracks don't give them the support they deserve. I found these songs actually sounded the best when blasted out of my phone speaker, so your mileage may vary depending on your sound system. The whole thing is raw and imperfect, but underneath the flaws lies some seriously infectious song writing and attention grabbing hooks that will have your head bobbing in no time. Cameron's songwriting is at it's best when it's loud and in your face, with songs like "Pistol in a Pulpit", "Cellophane Veil", "Porcelain Heart" and "Don't Look at the Sky" being obvious highlights for their hurricane of dizzying riffs and intense vocal performances which are very reminiscent of a young Buddy Nielsen. On the flip side, "Hospice" is too barebones and mellow for it's own good, and songs like "Heaven in Flames" and the title track closer suffer heavily from out of place Owl City-esque synthesizers and awkward, religious-centered lyrics that miss the mark in their attempt to be ironic or thoughtful. Still, the pros far outweigh the cons here, as the good moments on this album are plentiful and offer a high level of emotional engagement.

If you're looking for something to scratch the itch that Senses Fail left behind in the mid 2000s, then Drowning to Escape the Fire will make for a fun, 43 minute blast of nostalgia. Unfortunately, it's staying power is handicapped by a rough production job and a few unsavory songs that you might just want to remove from the playlist in order to maximize your enjoyment. Regardless, Your Ghost In Glass is an act to keep your eye on, because I believe with time, and perhaps a real drummer, the project will only improve.



Recent reviews by this author
Clairo CharmDiphenylchloroarsine Subterranean Existential Warfare
If Kansas Had Trees Where You Thought You Would Benothing,nowhere. Hell Or Highwater
Inter Arma New HeavenStand Still Steps Ascending
user ratings (12)
3.3
great
recommended by reviewer
Senses Fail Let It Enfold You


Comments:Add a Comment 
artificialbox
May 19th 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

a short write up for this cool one man project. there are complaints to be had, but some of these songs are really great and definitely worth a few listens if you're really into this style of music.



https://yourghostinglass.bandcamp.com/album/drowning-to-escape-the-fire

bellovddd
May 19th 2024


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I GOTTA CHECK THIS

artificialbox
May 19th 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think you'll like it dude. If I removed track 6, 8, and 12 from the album it would probs be a 3.5

bellovddd
May 19th 2024


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some minor production issues but man I'm digging this. Right in that sweet spot for me. Pretty impressive for a one man band also.

bellovddd
May 19th 2024


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ye hugeeeeeee senses fail vibes off his cleans.

bellovddd
May 20th 2024


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dont look into the sky is very nice.

artificialbox
May 20th 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hell yeah I'm glad you dig it! some really good songs on here for sure. Don't Look at the Sky is probs one of the most metalcore sounding tracks on the album and it's really good.

Calc
May 20th 2024


17384 Comments


so this early 2000's pxh revivalism is a legit thing now. OSPH

Prancer
May 20th 2024


1621 Comments


I can already hear the album cover

artificialbox
May 20th 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol yeah he nailed the art aesthetic

OverSlyZed91
May 21st 2024


352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not bad. Senses Fail's last 3 albums are fucking trash.

artificialbox
May 22nd 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

have not been able to get the chorus of “believe in me” outta my head -_-

I also think I was a bit too harsh on the drums. I still don’t think they are mixed very well but they are written well and add a good amount of energy to back the riffs, despite the hits themselves being static.

edited the middle paragraph to reflect that.

LightAndGlass
May 22nd 2024


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening to Cellophane Veil right now and the screams and hooks are excellent but I'm a little unsure how I feel about the clean vocals. He has the squeaky whiny vocals that lots of bands I love(d) had, except I found those bands when I was 13 so at 31 I'm a little less forgiving. I'll give this a full spin though.

artificialbox
May 22nd 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cleans are a tad squeaky for sure, I wouldn’t blame you if that halts your enjoyment

LightAndGlass
May 22nd 2024


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll 3.5 it on a first listen. There's no originality here but I think it's pretty obvious he wasn't trying to be. I think the screams and guitars are the obvious highlights. Just a fun, catchy album. Not sure if it'll have any staying power but it's right up my alley.

bellovddd
May 22nd 2024


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I reckon his cleans are pretty much the same as Buddy from Senses.

LightAndGlass
May 23rd 2024


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not at all. Buddy's have never been especially good but he wasn't a squeaker. There was some grit and rasp to his voice.

artificialbox
May 23rd 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think he sounds like he could be Buddy’s little brother or something lol. Like there’s some difference in tonality but the way the melodies are formed and the way he shapes his vowels and consonants are very very similar

LightAndGlass
May 23rd 2024


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

" Like there’s some difference in tonality but the way the melodies are formed and the way he shapes his vowels and consonants are very very similar"

I can agree with that but it feels more like imitating the inflections rather than actually sounding like Buddy.

artificialbox
May 23rd 2024


2081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

true true!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy