One Step Closer
All You Embrace


4.5
superb

Review

by Tyler White STAFF
May 17th, 2024 | 66 replies


Release Date: 05/17/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A little piece of nostalgia

All You Embrace is simply nostalgic. Moving further away from their hardcore influences, One Step Closer dives deeper into the melodic tendencies of pop-punk without losing an ounce of their passion. Full of soaring choruses and catchy riffs, their newest effort feels straight out of the 2000’s – and it feels comforting. Though One Step Closer has deviated from their more aggressive-tinged debut record, All You Embrace still maintains their high-energy performance while shifting their focus more towards the harmonies and melodies.

The one-two punch of “Leap Years” and “Blur My Memory” brings back memories (ironic) of their previous sound with blistering drum grooves and hardcore guitar/bass rhythms, while incorporating catchy melodies throughout. However, this raw aggression sound of their last album begins to fade away outside of these songs as One Step Closer leans into a softer style. “Color You” opens the record with strong harmonies that shows their emphasized focus on the melodic aspect of their sound. “Orange Leaf” and “Topanga” are reminiscent of the early, energetic years of pop-punk with dynamic shifts between subtle, building verses and high-powered choruses. However, where All You Embrace really excels is in the more experimental moments of One Step Closer’s journey into slower melodic compositions.

“The Gate” is a slow-burn track that brings more energy with each verse as it builds into a climatic final chorus. With this new territory, the band succeeds in this ambitious style with cohesive harmonies and maintaining a consistent progression that maintains both melody and energy. Similarly, “Giant’s Despair” is another slow-burn, yet it leads to an even greater pay-off. Following a stripped-down bridge, the track explodes into a highlight of the year full of brass/horns and immersive guitars. Accompanied by closer “So Far From Me,” All You Embrace concludes with a beautiful ballad that ties together their new melodic style in a cohesive manner.

Though One Step Closer stripped away a lot of their aggressive style, All You Embrace is a bright step in a new direction for the band. Their blend of pop-punk melodies while still maintaining the energy of their hardcore-influenced beginnings produces an intense passion that elevates the album to new heights. While the heavier sound of This Place You Know is exceptional, this shift in style shows a band looking to consistently progress their sound – and boy is it something to be excited about.



Recent reviews by this author
Wage War StigmaFour Stroke Baron Data Diamond
Diamond Construct Angel Killer ZeroGreyhaven Stereo Grief
Night Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part IINight Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part I
user ratings (101)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2024


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Giant's Despair" might be a SOTY contender

Anyway, album is absolutely tasty and so much fun to jam

deathofasalesman
May 17th 2024


8638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys rule. excited for this one. great write up!



the horns at the end of giants despair caught me off guard but it works

artificialbox
May 17th 2024


1932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell yeah LFG. got an early bed time tonight but I can’t wait to hear this tomorrow.

onionbubs
May 17th 2024


21325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

some of these hooks give me strike anywhere vibes

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2024


1958 Comments


Lfgggggg Tyler review

Gonna check this just for you bb

artificialbox
May 17th 2024


1932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ohhh this turned out so much better than I expected. I can tell I’m gonna be jamming this for a long time.

Slex
May 17th 2024


16690 Comments


Excited to check this

Feather
May 17th 2024


10252 Comments


I loved these guys last ep and have dug the singles for this one so far, listening now and loving it so far.

Kurai
May 17th 2024


476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Getting some Title Fight vibes in places, but yeah this slaps. Excited to catch them in London fairly soon!

bigweinerdon
May 17th 2024


2693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slaps

henryChinaski
May 17th 2024


5052 Comments


let's goooooo

Purpl3Spartan
May 17th 2024


8715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oooo heck yeah their last album slapped so I’m hyped to check this

hotsoap
May 17th 2024


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, this record is really good. Reminds me a lot of "Youth"-era Citizen at times. Killer melodies and hooks across the whole tracklist

jrlikestodance
May 17th 2024


1268 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Excellent review of this record! Wish I enjoyed it as much as you but Melodic hc has always been a massive hit or miss genre for me.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2024


5523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck yeah ty, just need a new anxious record and nostalgiacore will have been completed

artificialbox
May 17th 2024


1932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, last Anxious single was probably their best song. Can’t wait for a new full length from them

KillingMoon
May 18th 2024


115 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is hitting way more for me than their past stuff, I’m so glad.

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2024


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Appreciate the love y’all! Definitely love the direction they’re going now

GhostShelter
May 18th 2024


995 Comments


This sounds good. Actually don’t think I’ve listened to any of their past stuff.

henryChinaski
May 18th 2024


5052 Comments


loved the singles, my new favorite song atm is Esruc



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy