Jessica Pratt
Here In the Pitch


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
May 13th, 2024 | 33 replies


Release Date: 05/03/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And the storyline goes forever

Jessica Pratt has been releasing music over the last twelve years at a leisurely pace - Here in the Pitch marks just her fourth LP in that span, and all are pretty brief in runtime. The singer-songwriter seems largely content to stay within fairly restrictive confines - each album relies heavily upon her gorgeously-reedy voice, delicate musical backdrops, and subdued atmospheres. The resulting stripped-back yet ethereal folk sound has echoes of the genre’s ‘60s and ‘70s forebears, but never falls into mere revivalism. Pratt’s songs approximate the effect of a scratchy transistor radio playing softly in the next room over - a sound both rather comforting and rather haunting. The music doesn’t demand your attention, but draws it nonetheless, while proving suitable for a wide range of situations - equally apt as an accompaniment for sipping on a morning cup of coffee or as a companion in fireside rumination. Here in the Pitch doesn’t alter Pratt’s formula overmuch - all this review’s depictions of her “typical vibe” still apply. But, this time around the arrangements and ensuing soundscapes are a little more “busy” than usual, allowing for added depth and texture without damaging the fragile beauty of the music’s heart. As such, it’s easy to argue that this album represents Pratt’s peak to date. Without a doubt, the record contains some of her finest songs - “Life Is” provides an unusually vibrant and bouncy start to the proceedings, “World on a String” is exceptionally beautiful, and “The Last Year” brings the vocals front-and-center in a gorgeous closing statement. Even with its expanded palette, Here in the Pitch doesn’t really escape from Pratt’s typical status as an artist who will be immensely “boring” for one listener and “entrancing” for another. For myself, though, I’ll go with entrancing, and more entrancing than ever with this latest release.



Recent reviews by this author
Young Jesus The Foolahem Avoider
From Indian Lakes Head VoidAmerican Culture Hey Brother, It's Been a While
Lightning Bug No Paradisesomesurprises Perseids
user ratings (53)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


5917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quick writeup for one of those contemporary folksters who never disappoints - this is probably her best so far.

Trifolium
May 13th 2024


39103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YIPPPEEEEE SUNNNYYYYYYY!!!!



I was already thinking this deserved a review. Love it (both the album and the review).

Ryus
May 13th 2024


36993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

“on your own love again” is one of my all time favorites, i think she’s a really special songwriter on that album and i love her voice

wasnt enamored with the follow up. this is somewhat of a return to form i think, don’t think it will top “on your own love again” but it’s quite pleasant

hamid95
May 13th 2024


1197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first-time listener here. this is easy to love

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


5917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Trif!



@Ryus, I just revisited her whole discog in the last week - I think my impression is each album is a slight improvement over the previous one, but they're all pretty close in quality.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


10742 Comments


Read the description of her style in her Sputnik band page, and I must say I'm intrigued.

Is this streaming anywhere, (particularly Bandcamp)?

Trifolium
May 13th 2024


39103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it is, her stuff is on Bandcamp.

theBoneyKing
May 13th 2024


24447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a really lovely album, it grew on me a lot over the past week. Definitely like it better than her last one. Lovely vocal work/melodies even if a few tracks in the middle are a bit weaker in the songwriting department.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


60571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed that this dips in the middle, but there's defs something to it. nails the aesthetic + there are a couple of potential keepers here, doesn't overstay its welcome either

Ryus
May 13th 2024


36993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

opener is literally guess im dumb but who would complain about that

DoofDoof
May 13th 2024


15108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Her best, songwriting needed to get that bit more distinctive and this one delivers that

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


60571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

World On a String is just perfect for this style

ReefaJones
May 13th 2024


3662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been jamming this a lot this past week. loving the bossa nova influences and her voice

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2024


60571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bossa tracks aren't catching for me atm - she fits the style well, just don't think those songs are as strong

ReefaJones
May 13th 2024


3662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First 2 tracks are definitely my favorites here especially Better Hate

Slex
May 13th 2024


16622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excited to listen to this

Cormano
May 13th 2024


4136 Comments


looks like this could be right up my alley

Slex
May 14th 2024


16622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opener is so so so phenomenal holy shit

someone
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2024


6667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

probably the one album this year that makes me sorrowful and warm at the same time

Trifolium
May 14th 2024


39103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's an ultra sweet record. Still prefer Quiet Signs, that one played with silences super nicely, but this is definitely one of her best so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy