Order of Nosferat
The Absence of Grace


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (172 Reviews)
May 11th, 2024 | 34 replies


Release Date: 03/21/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: THE LORD OF THE NIGHT HAS RISEN!

There has been a recent wave of raw black metal bands heavily incorporating dungeon synth into their brand of demonic madness. Like any genres, the blending of these styles is a bit of a mixed bag. Some bands can't get the ratio correct or they simply meander along with no real direction. Order of Nosferat's newest album The Absence of Grace is the latest example of a band meshing these two medieval loving styles of music and doing it better than a lot of the rest.

The first thing that really hit me about this album is how epic and uplifting the atmosphere is. Of course there’s an underlying darkness, but similar to Coldworld’s Autumm, the hypnotic trems invoke feelings of warm triumph. Kind of like walking through a forest on a freezing winter day but the sun is shining on you the entire time. Black metal has evolved immensely since its inception in the way that an album like this can feel “warm and fuzzy” and yet have a constant cloud of vampyric energy behind it. Every single riff is trance inducing in the way that Burzum’s early albums were. It may be repetitive but ultimately it enhances the feelings that Count Dracula himself was hunting you down. Vocals aren’t really anything special, but it doesn’t matter. They go well enough with the music and don’t detract in any way from the atmospheric blizzard going on around them.

As far as the synths go, they are perfectly incorporated into the black metal madness. While synths in this genre can often sound cheesy and too bombastic, their inclusion on The Absence of Grace is tasteful and not too in your face. They have an almost “church organ” type tone to them, as if you’re at Nosferatu’s funeral only for him to rise out of his coffin and slay every person in the room.

It's hard to find much to complain about here boys. The only thing that might annoy the casual black metal listener is the lack of variety, but once again, this album is meant to be hypnotic. Its goal is to transport you back to the age of vampires and all the chaos (and lustful beauty) that came with it, and in that way, this album is a complete success. If you dig the good ole fella Dracula, do yourself and listen to The Absence of Grace.



Recent reviews by this author
Tzompantli Beating the Drums of Ancestral ForceBrutalism (USA) Solace in Absurdity
Snow Strippers Night Killaz, Vol. 2King Von Welcome To O Block
Adversarial Death, Endless Nothing and the Black Knife of...Necrot Lifeless Birth
user ratings (6)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
May 11th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rulez bros. Shoutout to Futures/Garas for bringing this to my attention! M///

budgie
May 11th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

word i only jammed vampiric wrath will check this

budgie
May 11th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

BLACK ,METUL FOREVUR

Hawks
May 11th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

M///////

budgie
May 11th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wait is futures garas?? no way

Hawks
May 11th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No I meant both of them lmao.

Futures
May 11th 2024


10837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yoooo nice review my man! such a cool band, glad you dug this. the church organ synths really create a cool atmosphere. soaring and kind of uplifting it's weird but works so well. like i told budgie i will have this band on repeat in the weeks leading up to eggers nosteratu movie.

Hawks
May 11th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah buddy! M///

budgie
May 11th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hawks make a vampiric black metal list

Hawks
May 11th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol I'm still working on my third part of my bm series its friggin TOUGH.

budgie
May 12th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like the vampiric wrath album a lot more than this one actually this one kinda plods?

Futures
May 12th 2024


10837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i'll have to jam that one soon, great cover art on that one

budgie
May 12th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

youll love this https://assets.echomtg.com/magic/cards/original/8071.jpg

Futures
May 12th 2024


10837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

oh hell yeah lol. is it a good card?

budgie
May 12th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nooo. i mean when MTG came out it was a good creature. but there has been a lot of power creep in 30 years it's very bad now

Hawks
May 12th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Budg I get what u mean but the riffz and atmosphere are soooo good.

ToSmokMuzyki
May 12th 2024


10929 Comments


first there was MEN posting, then there was BALLS posting, now get ready for MTG posting

ToSmokMuzyki
May 12th 2024


10929 Comments


r we the unholy trinity

budgie
May 12th 2024


35799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

men posting was awful im all for mtg posting

Hawks
May 12th 2024


88483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Men posts are the best posts.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy