High on Fire
Cometh the Storm


3.7
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
April 24th, 2024 | 45 replies


Release Date: 04/19/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yeah, Taylor Swift, but what about High on Fire?

After two decades of constant touring and record releasing, High on Fire geared down due to a number of events, which include the departure of founding member, Des Kensel, focusing on other projects (Mutoid Man, Sleep and Pike vs. the Automaton), plus Matt’s issues with diabetes. Thankfully, the band finally returned with a brand new album, Cometh the Storm. Right from the first note of “Lambsbread”, we can recognize that gnarly sound and the moment Pike’s raucous vocals kick in, it’s good times again. As the trio furiously sail through seas of riffs, we can observe an emphasis on scorching, mid-tempo grooves. Tracks such as “Burning Down”, “Hunting Shadows” and “Lightning Beard” all boast ripping guitars, usually over busy, tom-centered drumming. Newcomer, Coady Willis adds the necessary muscle to the tunes, retaining that thick atmosphere their music shares. There are less Motorhead tempos this time around, “The Beating” ending up the only number going nuts over its 2-minute span. However, discarding that clicking kick drum sound and the off-putting “bucket” toms Electric Messiah featured all over, automatically makes them feel more organic and pleasant to the ear.

Other highlights include the blistering “Trismegistus”, as well as the slow burning title cut, where both Jeff and Matt play smooth licks before the punishing chorus riff tears the house down. Meanwhile, the Turkish bağlama inclusion on the psychedelic instrumental “Karanlık Yol” makes for a nice break, yet it would have been interesting to hear it in a more expansive role, not just a few bars on the opener too. Also, the 10-minute closing epic, “Darker Fleece” builds up tension through fiery progressions, aided by solos and Pike screaming his lungs out. The final minutes, though, turn into a pounding, Sleep-like coda, which is welcomed. As expected, Cometh the Storm is another consistent High on Fire LP, quite an achievement for a band on its 25th anniversary. Still, more diversity overall could have improved its dynamics or had it been trimmed a bit, it would have maintained its momentum better. Nevertheless, this is nitpicking on an otherwise brilliant discography.




Recent reviews by this author
Moby Always Centered At NightBat For Lashes The Dream of Delphi
Stonebride Smiles RevolutionarytripleS ASSEMBLE24
Bongripper EmptyPearl Jam Dark Matter
user ratings (125)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
PsychicChris (4)
Cometh the Storm is ultimately a strong homecoming...



Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


6200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Another consistent album, but with less standout tracks.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8gbNvw58FM&list=OLAK5uy_kpBzfZLmfNEbzIfoczwII1F5uJF99jjx0&index=1

Veldin
April 24th 2024


5290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is rowdy af

Demon of the Fall
April 24th 2024


34386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is this better than their last two? Playing near me in June so may need to check



Guess I’ll read but that summary (lol wat?)

Hawks
April 24th 2024


89540 Comments


Band rulez. Can't wait 2 jam.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


6200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I enjoyed Luminiferous most, Electric Messiah had some awesome highlights, this one is just a bit less fun IMO.

someone
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2024


6719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Look, I'm not saying that this album doesn't contain some of their strongest tunes ever. All I think is that the middle section is a rut.

someone
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2024


6719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Like the album goes to great lengths of convincing mostly itself that it is beastly and brutal,where it really is just kind of crunchy.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


2226 Comments


Dudes are one of the most solid acts in that level of metal. They are crazy consistent

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wasn't convinced uppon first listen.

Need to check again.

Leaning to 3.5 which embodies disappointment.

Futures
April 24th 2024


11114 Comments


this a good entry point? always been meaning to jam these dudes but never did.

FearThyEvil
April 24th 2024


18657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm new to them as well Futures and I ended up really enjoying this so it's safe to say this is a good starting point. I have listened to past albums but years ago and barely remember what they sounded like.

Futures
April 24th 2024


11114 Comments


sweet, thanks man. excited to check this out.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah good start. Now jam the better ones eheh

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ahah for real tho. If you want a song to song jam do the previous one. If you want them on a journey mode jam De Vermis. Death is Communion is one mean riffer.



All their albums are very consistent and fun as hell though

FearThyEvil
April 24th 2024


18657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember liking De Vermis a lot when I did listen years ago. Just can't recall anything off of it

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeee prob their best but more about the journey

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to check this again

gregorgojira
April 25th 2024


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really good shit one this, not as good as luminiferous but edges out electric messiah for me

dedex
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2024


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

bringin' the stoner goods as always, thank u both HoF and insomniac!!

DDDeftoneDDD
April 25th 2024


22430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its getting a hell of a reception so maybe I missed somthing uppon first listen. I though some songs were dragging a bit too much. Electric Messiah is special on its own way for being one the most focused, straight fw, motorhead worship record from theirs.



So in way it was expectable to be back to a more cinematic, dragged doom sludge brand.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy