You Wish
Lathe


3.9
excellent

Review

by jesper STAFF
April 24th, 2024 | 12 replies


Release Date: 04/05/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: still guilty

“Gazey tunes with simple, repetitive electronic drum patterns”: it’s the type of sentence that might describe a very whatever set of demo recordings. It’s also the type of sentence that, in the right hands, might describe an excellent and subtly unique album. Brandon Setta (ex-Nothing) possesses that pair of hands. His first full length outing under the You Wish moniker is deceptively simplistic, and primarily succeeds due to his ability to create mesmerising soundscapes with very little - sometimes, haze, fuzz, intersecting abstract melodies, and more haze and fuzz are all you need.

In spite of its short runtime and relatively sparse scope, Lathe feels patient throughout, allowing each song to establish the specific atmosphere it aims to tackle. There’s abrasive moments (“Lathe”), there’s tracks characterised by quiet yet total dissonance (“Spun Sugar”, “Junk Drawer”), there’s pieces of haunting dream pop perfection (“Radium Girl”) - however, the commitment to a straightforwardly entrancing ambience ties the record together. Each melody is as mesmerising and impactful as it is abstract, revealing no concrete outlines but rendering its ambiguous shapes entirely enduring. It’s a testament to Setta’s songwriting, and one that culminates in the incredible highlight “Stellar Jay”. The penultimate track is equal parts catchy and tranquil, allowing its oppressive atmosphere to elevate the seemingly limitless chorus to immense heights. While Lathe may finish on a minor misfire of an acoustic track and be slightly too brief to captivate to its full potential, it is an excellent first record from one of modern shoegaze’s most talented voices.




Recent reviews by this author
Bathe Alone I Don't Do HumidityDIIV Frog In Boiling Water
Graywave Dancing in the DustBring Me The Horizon POST HUMAN: NeX GEn
Knocked Loose You Won't Go Before You're Supposed ToBladee Cold Visions
user ratings (11)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

yea u got that yummy yum that yummy yum that yummy yum

Odal
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


2200 Comments


Goddammit, now I got that bieber song in my head again

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

better check stellar jay to get rid of it (this is a marketing technique known as the yummy yum)

someone
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2024


6712 Comments


the day Jesper stops plugging shoegaze is the day the sun freezes

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

and u know me, i'd never let my precious sun freeze

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2024


5964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I should've known Jesper wouldn't lead me astray... This is quite good

JayEnder
April 25th 2024


20150 Comments


HELL YES JESPY

Album is pretty great, like a more laid back Guilty of Everything. No idea what to rate it yet though. Peaks with Stellar Jay (and no I'm not just saying that for obvious reasons) also pleasantly surprised to see Brandon Setta still active. Nice rec buddy!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

hell yeah bois!!

he's actually been quite busy! he did that white lighters album and was involved with oubliette and aa something else too i believe

Imperial
April 27th 2024


2053 Comments


Lots of clever chord progressions. Song structure just lacks something that wraps each song up. Otherwise I really liked my first listen. Will give it a few more. Title track is the standout so far for me. I love the wall of sound.

Cygnatti
April 27th 2024


36066 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wasn’t feeling it on the first listen, but there’s something here I’m not sure what. 2nd listen felt a bit better. 🤔

gryndstone
April 29th 2024


2768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wish it was a little longer. good windows down summer music!

MCJACKDAHL
May 2nd 2024


350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is cool but I like White Lighters a lot more



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy