Dvne
Voidkind


4.5
superb

Review

by bananatossing USER (12 Reviews)
April 23rd, 2024 | 130 replies


Release Date: 04/19/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...a yin to both the more ethereal Asheran and the polished Etemen Ænka

Dvne is a progressive metal band from Scotland. Even though they released their first EP in 2013, the same year when the band was founded, it wasn’t until 2017 they released their first full length album called Asheran. By that point, the band already had developed their core sound; heavily inspired by post-metal with a tinge of prog rock and high-pitched vocals.

The debut album turned out to be very successful in terms of creating atmosphere and bombastic buildups. Even though production was a major complaint the band also released the vinyl mix in digital format, which sounds perfect and adequate to what they were going with on that record. Heavily inspired by Mastodon, The Ocean, Tool and early Baroness, the band released their follow up album “Etemen Ænka”. On this occasion, musically speaking, the band went for a “larger” sound. Bigger riffs, heavier moments, elongated interludes and the inclusion of female vocals saw the band aiming for a more “epic” feel overall when compared to their previous effort. At the same time, the production saw a significant overhaul just as much as the vocals, which sounded better and cleaner overall. Though this approach saw the band sacrificing a bit of the atmosphere of the debut, they retained most of what fans were looking for following up an album like Asheran, and also the middle eastern elements where still present here as well (listen to “Sì-XIV” or “The Crimson Path” for reference).

Enter Voidkind. So far, if you aren’t familiar with the band, then this album isn’t a bad place to start at all since it is a very immediate album, but if you are already a fan of the previous records then this may come as a surprise. In general, Voidkind is… well, a different kind of Dvne. While this isn’t a total departure from the band’s core sound, this sounds stylistically different in terms of composition and production. Keeping the usual cryptic science fiction themes, “Summa Blasphemia” takes no time in introducing the album’s overall aggressive vibe. The snare drum is right at the forefront and the music sounds very dense, as if a wall of sound clouds the listener while entrapped in the constant heavy riffing throughout.

At first, personally speaking, I was a bit taken aback with the more “garage” sounding approach and the immediacy of the songwriting but by the time I got to “Reliquary” I got what they were going with and, while unexpected, it was a pleasant surprise. The quieter moments serve as short breaks within the songs (which are shorter than on previous releases, for the most part) and the songs rarely focus on buildups. “Sarmatæ” may be an obvious exception of this, clocking at only 4 minutes but never losing any steam from beginning to end, closing with what might be the most explosive moment of the album. The harsh vocals (courtesy of guitarist Daniel Barter) also sound rawer. A couple of good examples are the ending bit of “Reliquary” and the beginning of “Abode of The Perfect Soul”, but the clean vocals (by guitarist Victor Vicart) also go unhinged in a couple of moments like in the ending of “Eleonora”, going for a higher pitch and almost shouted performance. In contrast, “Reaching for Telos” and "Plērōma" retrace some of the more atmospheric moments from Asheran.

At this moment, this very well may be my favorite album of the year. After several listens, I keep getting impressed by how fresh and consistent this hour listen is. It is a very intense experience and one I’ll keep revisiting in the following days or weeks. It almost functions as a yin to both the more ethereal Asheran and the polished Etemen Ænka, and in turn it also works as a closing trilogy to a first chapter of the band’s catalog. I hope there’s more to come and now I’ll seriously take heed on what these guys might bring next.



Recent reviews by this author
All Them Witches Baker's DozenHopesfall Satellite Years 2.0 (Remixed and Remastered)
Baroness StoneElement Eighty A.D.
Heavenward (USA) PyrophonicsThe Butterfly Effect IV
user ratings (170)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
April 23rd 2024


33949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice. Probably their best album. Will read.

KrillBoi
April 23rd 2024


469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Doesn't top Asheran for me, but think I generally like it more than EÆ, even if that might have some higher highs. Brilliant band and another fantastic addition to their catalogue.

dachstheangry
April 23rd 2024


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Without Reaching for Telos this would be a 5.



PortalofPerfection
April 23rd 2024


3176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, really nice album. Still not 100% sure how I feel about it. I do agree that this is probably their most consistent effort. There aren't really any moments of "hmmm, why is this here?" like there were a few times on their first two albums.

DungeonBoy
April 23rd 2024


9737 Comments


High up on my list of records to check out. Loved Etemen Aenka

Beardog
April 23rd 2024


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this was really good!

Pikazilla
April 23rd 2024


29822 Comments


doesn't top asheran but better than the last one [2]

PortalofPerfection
April 23rd 2024


3176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Y'all are trippin, every single "actual song" on Etemen was a total banger, only reason it's not a 5 is because the interlude tracks are meh and make the whole thing too long.



This has two or three really great songs and the rest are just solid/very good

trilo
April 23rd 2024


6310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

opener, reliquary and closer are good yeah

PortalofPerfection
April 23rd 2024


3176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reliquary and Cobalt Sun are a cut above and they're still not as good as almost every main track form Etemen, or Asheran for that matter.



Gave this 4 spins and really want to love it and kinda do but overall it's a step down. Trimming the heaviness was a bad move.

bananatossing
April 23rd 2024


2331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@PortalofPerfection Thanks, man. Yeah, I'd agree Etemen highs are higher, and Omega Severer might be one of my favorite songs by them but I think I prefer the top to bottom consistency for a full album listen. Love all three for sure, and Asheran still might be my favorite but is a close call.

bloc
April 23rd 2024


70260 Comments


This is a great album, I'm finding it more memorable that the yellow album cover one

Demon of the Fall
April 23rd 2024


33949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It’s better for sure. This sound suits them. Memorable hooks, some heaviness but plenty of atmo-moments that don’t entirely feel like they’re borrowing from their influences



The upgrade in cleans is a definite boon

Gmork89
April 23rd 2024


8677 Comments


Jamming this now.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah. Divided between the 4.5 and the 5, but not for too long.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 24th 2024


22376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Can't stop jamming. 3 massive records these lads have put out!

nash1311
April 24th 2024


8152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More consistent than EÆ but lower highs is pretty much my take on this also

PortalofPerfection
April 24th 2024


3176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm the opposite, after 4 listens I remember almost nothing specific from this besides the ending of Cobalt Sun, whereas I still have riffs from Towers, Matriarch, Omega, and Satuya stuck in my head.



Again, I agree this is more consistent and it's a little easier to just let it play from start to finish but I feel like they gave up too much other cool stuff in their sound and songwriting to do that.

Demon of the Fall
April 24th 2024


33949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It’s refreshing to hear a prog leaning metal band not collapse under the weight of their ambitions tbh. Refinement isn’t a bad thing…



but contrary to some of y’all I believe this DOES have a few highs, of at least comparable quality to their previous efforts

trilo
April 24th 2024


6310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It’s refreshing to hear a prog leaning metal band not collapse under the weight of their ambitions tbh [2]



even tho i think this is their worst by a good margin i'm glad they did not succumb to the fate of prog metal bands. this do still be bringing some riffs. think i'm feeling diminishing returns on this band's sound coupled with some questionable production. and the cleans still suck, improved or not



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy