Coming Up Roses (UK)
Coming Up Roses


4.0
excellent

Review

by jesper STAFF
April 14th, 2024 | 21 replies


Release Date: 04/05/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: i checked the time and it's vibe o'clock

Clocking in at precisely sixteen minutes and sixteen seconds, Coming Up Roses is this year’s first true splash of summer. The self-titled EP by the Singapore-born, London-based outfit is a delightful batch of dreamy indie, dishing out shimmery vibes like June's already here. However, merely calling the record ‘summery’ and ‘shimmery’ feels like a disservice: sure, its four tracks manage to be both of those things, but every moment here is distinctly unique, shifting in and out of gazey and dreamy textures while retaining a wistful, uplifting atmosphere. Even though the subdued and straightforward “Silence” stands out as the project’s most touching moment, opening cut “Don't Let It Break Your Heart” forms Coming Up Roses’ absolute highlight: the song is pure dream pop perfection and crafts a gorgeous, highly addictive melancholic haze. Throughout the EP, Emily Sera’s vocals are confident and confidently elegant, but she only assumes the spotlight when songs require it: during the sonic crashes of “Why” and “Back the Way We Came”s catchy-cutesy riffs the focus shifts to the band’s effective instrumentation - everything is simple, clean, and knows exactly what it wants to achieve. Summer is here, in all its beauty, if only for a few minutes.




Recent reviews by this author
Bathe Alone I Don't Do HumidityDIIV Frog In Boiling Water
Graywave Dancing in the DustBring Me The Horizon POST HUMAN: NeX GEn
Knocked Loose You Won't Go Before You're Supposed ToBladee Cold Visions
user ratings (25)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god i fucking love this, the unspeakable things i'd do for a full length



and thank u for adding this to the db sunny!!

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2024


5964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah, this is a great one-paragrapher, Jesper.



This rules, might be my favorite EP of the year so far.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2024


26306 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

aw this is really nice (:

budgie approved, I wonder?

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay, ty!! def my fav ep of 2024 as well, tho it did help that i first heard these tracks atop a mountain in beautiful weather haha

lfg neek, one would hope/think so!

MonotoneCulprit
April 16th 2024


199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sputnik never fails to deliver me a day-brightening summer anthem type record right around this time every year. EP with a tight vision that absolutely crushes what it intends to do without even remotely overstaying its welcome. Common Jesper W.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

❤️❤️

Gmork89
April 16th 2024


8694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beautiful stuff Jesper, excellent write up. Last song solidified a 4 for me.

SteakByrnes
April 16th 2024


29988 Comments


hi jesper

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you gmork! hi steak!

SmurkinGherkin
April 16th 2024


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listened to this on a walk today. Undoubtedly pretty but only the last song really stood out. So much of this sort of dreamy indie pop gets put out it starts to all blend together in my mind now. Gonna give it another go tomorrow, gotta rep UK shit

ZackSh33
April 17th 2024


731 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hatchie called, she wants her sound back.



No but seriously, this is fine, but only the first track really stuck out to me and "Silence" was really tough to get through.

PumpBoffBag
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2024


1587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

What a lovely write-up. Will have to czech soon

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

may you vibe pump < 3



haha fair zack! i think i like the t/t more than anything hatchie's ever done tbh. didn't fw silence on first listen either but its lyrics made me reconsider and now i kinda love it

vult
April 20th 2024


2375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is awesome

Bilbodabag
April 23rd 2024


165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Late to this but I dig it. Just the vibes i needed rn. First song especially rules

Nikkolae
April 23rd 2024


6702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh damn this is lovely, such a nice summer feel-good ep

Gmork89
April 24th 2024


8694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so good almost wanna 4.5 haha

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2024


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

warms my heart fr

Gmork89
April 25th 2024


8694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had my little 5 month old daughter on my knee while I worked listening to it, she loved it too, she said it was an ez 5

Bilbodabag
May 5th 2024


165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't stop listening to this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy