Francis of Delirium
Lighthouse


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
April 1st, 2024 | 14 replies


Release Date: 03/22/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Livin' for a lost cause

Lighthouse is an uncomplicated but utterly delightful little debut record. Hailing from Luxembourg, Francis of Delirium have been considered a “group with potential” for a while, an enviable label acquired through their series of well-received EPs showcasing indie fare tinged with punk and grunge. With the first full-length, there’s been a notable shift towards less gritty and more dreamy stylings, while still highlighting Jana Bahrich’s engaging vocals. These eleven songs are consistently catchy but largely avoid cathartic explosions in favor of meandering in shimmery and contemplative territory. Tracks like the gorgeous “Real Love” and the anthemic (by the restrained standards of this album) closer “Give It Back To Me” are some of the best tunes I’ve heard this year so far, but every tune manages to carry forward the record’s mellow brand of dynamism. I wouldn’t be surprised if this album proves disappointing for a good chunk of Francis of Delirium’s existing fanbase, given its glaring lack of cathartic bangers along the lines of previous standout “Quit Fucking Around”, but with any justice, Lighthouse should garner the group wider attention given its satisfying combination of immediate accessibility and well-constructed songcraft.



Recent reviews by this author
Mark Knopfler One Deep RiverHamferd Men Gu​ð​s Hond Er Sterk
Hawkwind Stories from Time and SpaceRide Interplay
Verwoed The MotherAdrianne Lenker Bright Future
user ratings (12)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quick review for an album which has been on steady rotation for me in the last week plus, record has great replay value.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PS, check this Jesper, it's very Jespercore.

SlothcoreSam
April 1st 2024


6194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not quite as good as the EPs, but still a nice easy listen

WatchItExplode
April 1st 2024


10447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nothing here comes close to the fun house which is far and way their best song

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is easily my favorite release of theirs, which is impressive given I feel like bands primarily focused on EPs often have an iffy first LP, but that may be an unpopular opinion. This lighter sound really works in my book.

WatchItExplode
April 1st 2024


10447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This thing is very nice and consistent. I just enjoyed this band most when their songs have a bit of edge to them

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2024


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh yes this band has been on my radar for a while!! will absolutely check right after this widowspeak concert lol!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2024


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(yeah i love this)

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah!



How was Widowspeak?

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2024


26051 Comments


Oooooooh sounds tasty might check (:

alexslavco
April 2nd 2024


196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great debut LP, she has a beautiful voice. I just wish they would make more longer songs, but that is just my preference, i cannot stand album with 10x 3min tracks xD

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2024


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

widowspeak were lovely, plum is one of the most blissful live songs to have ever songed!

this alb is such excellent writing music goddamn

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Jesper, nice! And yeah, I'd imagine - extremely relaxing and pleasant.

WalrusTusk
April 10th 2024


1800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are some really powerful moments on this album, but the front half feels like it's packed with a lot of songs that sound and feel to similar.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy