Acathexis
Immerse


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (164 Reviews)
April 1st, 2024 | 19 replies


Release Date: 03/20/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Acathexis has just set the standard for black metal in 2024. Good luck trying to surpass it!

Acathexis is a mysterious group of guys. They burst on to the black metal scene 6 years ago with their ferocious self-titled debut (which was/is a furious whirlwind of riff heavy atmospheric black metal).....and then they disappeared. Not a peep about any new music. That is until now. Acathexis is back boys and their second album Immerse is a real kick in the nuts.

Of course I mean "kick in the nuts" in a good way. It takes something truly special to blow me away after listening to black metal for 2 decades and Acathexis just seem to hit all the right spots. The production makes this album what it is. It's fuzzy and hazy yet everything is easily decipherable. There's slight and subtle post-rock, gothic and folky leanings throughout. The whole vibe is very airy and naturally raw, possibly reminding the listener of albums such as Agalloch's The Mantle or Woods of Desolation's Toward the Depths. The riffage is varied and catchy. There's plenty of tremz to be found but there's also some progressive and psychedelic influences sprinkled into the madness, keeping up with the lighter and almost relaxing atmosphere.

The star of this show, however, is the soaring and epic vocal performance. They're like the icing on an already delicious cake. The sheer force of the poltergeist like banshee shrieks has got to be a strain on this guy's vocal chords but the power and emotion that comes from that strain is well worth it. Think of early era Dani Filth vocals, put them into a demonic blender and thats what you have here. The highs are painful and uneasy. The low growls echo like a boulder being thrown off a skyscraper. They are just incredibly done and deserve all the praise.

Immerse was well worth the 6 year wait. Acathexis took their time crafting this album and it paid dividends for them. When it comes to modern atmospheric black metal, you aren't going to find many albums that are better or more powerful than this one right here. My personal black metal bar is high and Immerse has passed with flying colors.



Recent reviews by this author
Primordial ImramaTraveler (CAN) Prequel to Madness
Peeling Flesh Slamaholics MixtapeCiverous Maze Envy
Violent Magic Orchestra Death RaveGrandaddy Under the Western Freeway
user ratings (25)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best bm so far this year for me. What a fucking ripper gents. M///

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2024


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Man, you have my interest. Will check!

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sunny I think u will definitely dig this!

FearThyEvil
April 1st 2024


18523 Comments


Similar bands seem right up my alley

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2024


9947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok this sounds uhhh kind of nutty based on the similar bands tag lol yeah i'll check, I dig anything Agalloch adjacent.

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agalloch is just one of many similar sounds bro def not a clone! But yeah the atmosphere here is so insanely good.

dachstheangry
April 1st 2024


231 Comments


Sounds interesting, but is this an AI album cover?

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2024


9947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Artwork by Kieran Wakeman of Divine Chaos art"

https://www.instagram.com/divinechaosart?igsh=M29wNzFnaDM1Y3p3

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2024


9947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nope and his artwork is immaculate

Rastapunk
April 1st 2024


1540 Comments


I definitely need to try this out.

"The star of this show, however, is the soaring and epic vocal performance."

Dany Tee is such a great BM vocalist, his work with Selvans and Los Males Del Mundo is out of this world!

necropig
April 1st 2024


7405 Comments


here, wtf, didn't know they had a new one

someone
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2024


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Acathexis really could be the biggest name in US bm today but their insistence on being "anonymous" and low-radar works against it.



some truly blistering work here

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yeah bros!!!

Above
April 1st 2024


158 Comments


first record was good, can't believe that was released in 2018. gotta check this

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love the debut but this is even better. M///

Orb
April 1st 2024


9340 Comments


Oh hell yeah

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man the atmosphere here is untouchable.

SrpskiCekic
April 12th 2024


159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still need to give this a couple more listens, but the first impression is that they've yet to beat 'Veins Hollowed' from their last offering.

someone
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2024


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Veins Hollowed" and "Life Only Festers" are like some of the most grandiose and (surprisingly) beautiful bm tracks ever. That's hard to beat by anyone.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy