Traveler (CAN)
Prequel to Madness


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (164 Reviews)
March 30th, 2024 | 23 replies


Release Date: 02/23/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: METAL WILL LIVE ON!

There's nothing like some good, old fashioned, balls to the wall heavy metal. For me personally, the journey through metal music was a bit backwards. I bypassed all the "classic" heavy metal bands and went straight for the extreme stuff. Now 2 decades into my metal fandom, I'm starting to enjoy the traditional heavy metal sound more than ever and Canadian band Traveler's new album Prequel to Madness popped up at the perfect time.

These guys have a sound that is clearly rooted in traditional 70s/80s heavy metal a la bands such as Priest or Maiden, but they also have a bombastic speed and power metal intensity you'd hear from bands like Mercyful Fate or Helloween. The riffs have tons of melody while maintaining an extremely fun thrashy edge. There's an epic vibe throughout the entirety of Prequel to Madness, as if you're trekking through time and space to slay the demented octopus type monster depicted in the album art. The vocals are theatric, haunting and operatic cleans that could remind the listener of a cross between Halford and King Diamond.

Metal fans in general can probably agree that we listen to this kind music for the journey it can take us on. Extreme metal is usually for more violent and somber moods. Traveler aren't for any kind of that depressing BS. Prequel to Madness is all about adventure and passion. It's a theatric adventure to the core of what makes heavy metal so great. It's catchy, it's fun and it is riff-***ing-tastic. As a metal fan, what else can you ask for?



Recent reviews by this author
Primordial ImramaAcathexis Immerse
Peeling Flesh Slamaholics MixtapeCiverous Maze Envy
Violent Magic Orchestra Death RaveGrandaddy Under the Western Freeway
user ratings (30)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
March 30th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quick writeup for a great album. Needed a review bad. M///

Pikazilla
March 30th 2024


29702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

band slaps

Hawks
March 30th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Frigg yeah at least u appreciate this Pika!

bloc
March 30th 2024


69881 Comments


Consistent band is consistent

Hawks
March 30th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was my first experience with them.

bigguytoo9
March 30th 2024


1409 Comments


My buddy was in Gatekeeper w JP the singer from this group. Glad to see JP has still been able to continue in a successful project.

Hawks
March 30th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jam this bro!!

ChaoticVortex
April 1st 2024


1580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember really digging the first album from these guys, glad to hear they're still around and better than ever. Nice review.

south_of_heaven 11
April 1st 2024


5611 Comments


Didnt even realize this was out! Couple tracks popped up on my Spotify last week. Good stuff

Hawks
April 1st 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Grant my dude!! How you been buddy??

Hawks
April 2nd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thx for the feature mod bros! M///

rockarollacola
April 2nd 2024


2164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gud album

Hawks
April 2nd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

Purpl3Spartan
April 2nd 2024


8448 Comments


Will prob check

Hawks
April 2nd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

U should bro it slayz.

Frost15
April 2nd 2024


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Does this slay that hard Hawks?

I have a long 'to check' playlist and I don't know where to place this priority wise

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Props to you for reviewing this Hawksy, album's a banger.

Hawks
April 2nd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does slay very ahrd Frost and thanks Dewi bro! Wanted to get outside of my normal extreme metal realm with this one lol.

ChaoticVortex
April 3rd 2024


1580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shreds hard.

Hawks
April 3rd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed it does. M///



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy