Shiranui Flare
Canvas


4.0
excellent

Review

by resident sputbirb with fancy hat USER (2 Reviews)
March 29th, 2024 | 10 replies


Release Date: 09/23/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: average half-elf moment

Shiranui Flare's debut album, "Canvas," presents a compelling challenge for evaluation, let me explain. The record unfolds in three distinct flavors.
The first flavor comprises previously released singles from 2021 and 2022. "Smile & Go!!", "Zenryoku-Jumping!", and "Hurray! Hurray! Elf-Friend!". These are classic idol anthems – catchy, fun, but maybe a little predictable. They're a bop for sure, but they don't push any boundaries.
That brings us to the second flavor on the record. Flare really shines with three mellower songs released in 2023. "Skysonar," "Atelier," and the standout "Yggdrasil" all feature beautiful music videos and showcase a clear growth in Flare's artistry. "Yggdrasil" is particularly impressive, with its folky yet epic soundscape that's both beautiful and melancholic. I would consider it one of the best songs Hololive has ever produced. These three tracks are the heart of the album, while ironically forming its bookends, offering a more personal and introspective side to Flare.
However, “Canvas” also throws two curveballs into the middle of the experience. These previously unreleased tracks are unlike anything else on the album. "YOMATSU-RYTHM," a frenetic blend of 8-bit sounds and autotune, it completely flips the serene mood set by "Skysonar." It's all over the place, but that's kind of the point. It might be my least favorite track, but I gotta admit it's audacious and undeniably creative. "Daikangensai!Yumeno Flare Channel!" takes the eccentricity even further, its Maximum Flare. The track opens with a pounding hardstyle beat that morphs into Flare unleashing her inner Maximum the Hormone. Her vocals get aggressive, the whole thing escalates into glorious madness. Honestly, this could be a b-side on a Maximum the Hormone album and no one would bat an eye. It's crazy, it's fun, and it's a perfect encapsulation of Flare's strong personality.
Flare's vocals are naturally the most important element of “Canvas”. She possesses a powerful and expressive voice that can effortlessly soar through the upbeat idol tracks and lend depth and emotion to the ballads. However, this strength can be a double-edged sword. Her laser-focused delivery might be a bit much for some listeners, especially during the more energetic songs. It's a unique quality that adds a layer of personality to her music, but it's worth noting for those who prefer a softer vocal style.
"Canvas" is definitely a mixed bag. At only 32 minutes with 8 tracks, it's a whirlwind tour that leaves you wanting more, especially of the soothing variety. But that unevenness is what makes it so interesting – it showcases many facets of Shiranui Flare, the idol singer, the introspective artist, and the hyperactive genre-bender. It might be messy, but it's a captivating mess.


user ratings (1)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Flugmorph
March 29th 2024


33861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I absolutely did not expect to write my second ever review today, least of which on this album. This thing started out as an overlong soundoff, which sputnik simply wouldn't accept from me. I really felt like I had a lot to say about this debut album from one of Hololive's more underrated members, so I took the first draft and expanded on it for a couple hours until I ended up with this. Doubt anyone here knows about Flare or even cares about her music but thats completely fine with me, because I wrote this for the singular purpose to satisfy myself.

Also pretty fucking funny that this almost marks ten years since my first review lmao.

KevinKC
March 30th 2024


1253 Comments


I'll check the album. Because it took you ten years to write another review.

KevinKC
March 30th 2024


1253 Comments


AH AHA AH AHA AH AHA AHA AHA HA HA HA HA

It sounds like Sonic the Hedgehog !!! with lyrics.

Flugmorph
March 30th 2024


33861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

... uhm I'm speechless



thats a pretty funny reaction not gonna lie

KevinKC
April 1st 2024


1253 Comments


I have never heard that kind of music before.
But I didn't mean it in a negative way.
I've given another listen to it and yeah seriously, it sounds like the OST of an 90s japanese video game with lyrics. I don't mean this in a positive or negative way, I was just very surprised.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RD4iyCH4JZ4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvGryNOLui8&list=PLpR0mcxRIDvUHGpcR4DIg6a4z0BBoGuDk&index=2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GoqcxAphTGs&list=PLpR0mcxRIDvUHGpcR4DIg6a4z0BBoGuDk&index=6
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-i8HYi1QH0&list=PLB1223F61F39B601C

KevinKC
April 1st 2024


1253 Comments


Well, I've now read the review and you talk about the 8bit sounds.

KevinKC
April 1st 2024


1253 Comments


It's a fun album. Track 5 is hilarious.
I think I like track 7 & 8 more than the rest.

Flugmorph
April 1st 2024


33861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hell yeah, I'm surprised that you would enjoy this without knowing any context honestly, or that you would even listen and read my review, so thank you a lot, and for the pos too.

I'll go through your youtube videos later when I'm at my pc again, thats bound to be interesting lol.



KevinKC
April 1st 2024


1253 Comments


I sometimes look for Asian music (Korean or Japanese) because my partner speaks a bit of Japanese and of Korean and she's happy when I find one or two nice songs in these languages.


And then, I read your comment and I was simply curious of how you'd review the album.




Flugmorph
April 1st 2024


33861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hey thats pretty cool i respect your open-mindedness a lot.



checked your links now and yeah i can see why you would associate them with the sound of this album especially 2 and 3. YOMATSU-RHYTHM and Hurray! Hurray! Elf-Friend! have a pretty clear video game music influence. I don't know too much about Flare but I think shes a fan of 90s famicon games so I'm sure it was that preference that caused this sound.







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy