Sessanta
E.P.P.P.


2.2
poor

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
March 29th, 2024 | 13 replies


Release Date: 03/29/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like a young child on their birthday excited to receive toys, only to get clothes instead.

It’s James ‘Maynard’ Keenan’s 60th birthday next month and with it comes a surprise EP, as a way for fans to celebrate the occasion with him. For those not privy, here’s the deal with the EP: Maynard is about to embark on a tour next month with A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, and Primus, so Maynard must have seen an opportunity to have a little fun and record some tracks with the bands before hitting the road. The Sessanta E.P.P.P is comprised of three tracks – one from each band – all co-written by Maynard. Since two-thirds of the roster has Maynard fronting it anyway, I can’t say I was overly intrigued (though it’s certainly nice to get more material from Maynard’s projects); however, the Primus one, since I’m a huge Primus fan, piqued my interest when it was announced, as there was a lot of promise given the ingredients going into it. Unfortunately, the product overall is rather flavourless. While Puscifer’s “No Angel” and APC’s “Kindred” are serviceable offerings, they don’t really provide anything noteworthy – it all sounds very paint-by-numbers and lacking in any distinct character or purpose. “Pablo’s Hippos” however, is just an outright poor track – providing even further proof (if there wasn’t enough already) Primus are completely incapable of writing a fun song post Green Naugahyde. The track just sits in accordance with all of the other anodyne albums and EPs Primus have released this past decade and a bit.

While I appreciate Maynard’s gesture, and really like the idea of this EP, the execution feels half-baked at best. “Pablo’s Hippo” in particular feels incredibly lacklustre and just ends with little building up to the fact; while “Kindred” sets off in the right way, with Maynard’s signature poignant melodies at the forefront, there’s nothing gripping about any of it. “No Angel” is probably the best song on here, for its stacking groove and decent harmonies, but even then, the band is hardly operating on all cylinders. Overall, I wish Maynard a Happy 60th Birthday and thank him for taking the time to make something a little different, but E.P.P.P, honestly, just isn’t fun to listen to.



Recent reviews by this author
Mick Mars The Other Side of MarsPlanet B Fiction Prediction
Paradise Lost Icon 30Static-X Project Regeneration Vol. 2
Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes Dark RainbowRoger Waters The Dark Side of the Moon Redux
user ratings (16)
2.3
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2024


4708 Comments


Imagine my shock to discover that an EP made by three bands most beloved by restaurant dishwashers and carnies is not album of the year

DDDeftoneDDD
March 31st 2024


22100 Comments


Eheheh ep looks silly af

bigguytoo9
March 31st 2024


1409 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

That Primus cut stinks.

Aerialist
April 1st 2024


139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

A Tepid Circle, Lameus & Snoozecifer

Aerialist
April 1st 2024


139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Was not expecting to enjoy the Puscifer song the most here, but there you go.

Brabiz
April 1st 2024


2185 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

it's honestly amazing how hard Maynard fell off.

SomeCallMeTim
April 1st 2024


4057 Comments


too bad my worst album ever month just ended, seems like it would have worked

Aerialist
April 1st 2024


139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"it's honestly amazing how hard Maynard fell off."



Honestly, what's the deal with this? Is it laziness? Or has he forgotten how to write a good vocal line? His chops are still intact because he can sing older Tool material well enough live.

Brabiz
April 2nd 2024


2185 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Everything is sang with the same delivery and emotion, and even when he’s yelling, it feels half-assed. It feels like he’s consciously trying to not do something memorable with his vocals. Ever since he started doing that soft falsetto nonsense. I’d pin it to Puscifer or that last APC album where he started that nonsense. It’s not interesting

Aerialist
April 2nd 2024


139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah 100% that was the turning point. A shame.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2024


18241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

I like his approach to APC's last album lol. But yeah, his vocals here aren't very inspiring. It's just Primus man, what the hell happened to that band? The last decade has seen the same homogenous milk toast songwriting repeated unflinchingly, and it's actually driving me insane. Give me the riffs, dammit.

FrozenFirebug
April 5th 2024


818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

serviceable circlecifer songs

best primus track since 2011 objectively speaking

ShadowOfTheCitadel
April 15th 2024


408 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wanted to like it. Turns out it's all pretty lame. In the case of APC, Billy needs to just write heavy shit and tell Maynard, "Tough titties, time to sing about anal again".



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy