Civerous
Maze Envy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (164 Reviews)
March 24th, 2024 | 81 replies


Release Date: 03/22/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't be scared....nothing can hurt you in the maze.

Death metal is a beautiful genre of music. That may sound like a weird thing to say about a genre that is all about death, decay and your flesh rotting off of your bones, but its damn true. There's always tons of great new bands coming out with skull crushing riffs that hit you like a strike of lightning out of the sky. Civerous is a band from California formed in 2019 and their second album, Maze Envy, reveals a band that is ready to be put in the death metal spotlight.

The album title is perfect and the album art is an accurate display of what the music actually sounds like. It is a "maze" in the fact that you never quite know which direction this album is going to take. You obviously have your more traditional down and dirty death metal riffage that blasts you like a newly risen corpse from a mausoleum, but there's an equal amount of face ***ing black metal chaos and grueling and plodding sludgey doom passages that give the listener plenty of variety. The effortless transitions between these genres makes for some of the most engaging and emotionally draining metal that you can't help but be whisked away into the maze (see what I did there) of dizzying riffs and indignant snarls that sound like they're spewing straight from the dark lord's rotten vocal chords.

The production on this album should seal the deal for any fans of death metal. None of that overproduced techy nonsense going on with Maze Envy. Its almost a lo-fi(ish) psychedelic mind *** in a way. The flurry of riffs are thick and chunky, the perfect compliment to the way the vocals weave in and out of the storm demonically and sounding as if they're coming out of some type of sickening black vortex.

Overall there's not much to complain about here. Nobody can bitch and moan about this being another one-note death metal band. Civerous push the boundaries of what death metal is and can be. They're not working with the most original genres in the world and yet they make this sound completely their own on Maze Envy and give the listener a glimpse inside their sick minds. The best is yet to come for these twisted bastards and I am all aboard the hype train. I hope you all will join me on the other side of the maze.



Recent reviews by this author
Primordial ImramaAcathexis Immerse
Traveler (CAN) Prequel to MadnessPeeling Flesh Slamaholics Mixtape
Violent Magic Orchestra Death RaveGrandaddy Under the Western Freeway
user ratings (59)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
March 24th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This albums fills the void left by new Slimelord, which is dece at best. Jam this now bros. M///

PostmanPat
March 24th 2024


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i never herd these guys but if Hawks did revue and say gud, i will listen. Hawks is cool dude. Even if he no like Contortionist.

Hawks
March 24th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lmao get on it bro!

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2024


622 Comments


Awesome album, well written

Hawks
March 24th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks buddy! Album is a straight ripper.

PostmanPat
March 24th 2024


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yo this album gud. i can't give it a 4 doe. i guess i'm out of touch. solid as feck tho fo sheezy my neezy.

PostmanPat
March 24th 2024


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also, I particulary enjoyled this line: "ut there's an equal amount of face ***ing black metal chaos and grueling and plodding sludgey doom passages that give the listener plenty of variety"

PostmanPat
March 24th 2024


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

K but.... maybe I'm wrong. Some of these riffs tho.... and the sludge.................................................... that bass tone......................................... eff u Hawks

PostmanPat
March 24th 2024


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Last minute of Labyrhinth Charm convinced me. Sorry, I was Helldiver 2-ing while listening on first go round. But that stuckout. and it continues to stick out. Album is dope. Still not giving it a 4 tho. Why? I dunno, I drank 7 vodka seltzers this morning, piss off.

edit: Geryon rly gud

pizzamachine
March 24th 2024


26998 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is hitting the spot. Levitation Tomb is so heavy haha

PortalofPerfection
March 24th 2024


3133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Total gut stomper. Nice review Hawks!

Orb
March 24th 2024


9340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Needed a review. Album is splendid!!!

PortalofPerfection
March 24th 2024


3133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I just love how this feels. Most death doom is atmospheric in the drab and dreary bog at dusk kind of way. This is atmospheric in the help I can't breathe while be dragged into the ground by zombies kind of way.

brainmelter
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2024


8318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hell yea Hawks, album brings the metalz

Hawks
March 24th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah bros!!

canczar
March 24th 2024


216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic release. Kudos to this review

Hawks
March 25th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Much appreciated brother!

slikphuk
March 25th 2024


615 Comments


Cool review hawks, love the heavy chugs and different variations of black and death, even some doom riffage on this one. Definitely worth a spin for any metalhead, 20buckspin been pumping out good bands lately. Cheers! m//

trilo
March 25th 2024


6211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds intriguing

Hawks
March 25th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

20 Buck Spin is prob my favorite label atm. Nothing but banger after banger.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy