Wild Pink
Strawberry Eraser


4.1
excellent

Review

by Sowing STAFF
March 23rd, 2024 | 23 replies


Release Date: 03/21/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A microburst of creativity from one of indie-rock’s best bands right now.

Wild Pink is one of those rare bands that only seems to improve with every release. From the glistening self-titled debut to the even more beautiful and fully fleshed out LPs Yolk in the Fur and A Billion Little Lights, we watched them grow into the best Americana/shoegaze hybrid this side of The War on Drugs. Even given their obvious upward trajectory, 2022’s ILYSM was still a major revelation. It took the stunning, smoothed out soundscapes of its predecessors and fused them with hushed, Antlers-adjacent folk to brilliant results.

Strawberry Eraser sees them take yet another step into the huge shoes they seem destined to fill. It’s only a brief three track EP, but it’s a microburst of creativity that proves their place as one of indie-rock’s best bands of the moment. The release takes the jaw-dropping aesthetic of ILYSM and ushers it out of its shell, resulting in a sound that is as stunning as it is bold. ‘Air Drumming Fix You’ is immediately among the best and most spellbinding things that Wild Pink has ever written, propelled by a pulsing beat with spaced-out saxophones that entangle and intertwine around Ross’ reflections: “I guess the good life / Didn't look like you thought it might.” Rocking to a countryish sway and atmospheric synths, the whole song comes together like the synthesis of all of Wild Pink’s greatest strengths: it possesses the gossamer sheen of Yolk in the Fur, and the earthy roots of ILSYM. ‘Unconscious Pilot’ follows suit with a moment of jazzy, hazy, and reverb-drenched bliss, while ‘Cielo Wheed’ ties the ephemeral experience together with sprawling, melodically abuzz guitars that feel dense and cutting compared to the moments that led up to it.

Even for an EP, Strawberry Eraser is extremely brief as it clocks in at just under ten minutes. Despite its overall transience – and how ‘Unconscious Pilot’/‘Cielo Wheed’ can feel like relative afterthoughts compared to the majesty of ‘Air Drumming Fix You’ – this feels more like another stylistic proof-of-concept than anything else. It shows that Wild Pink is still firing on all cylinders, and builds anticipation for whatever full-length the band currently has in the oven. If Strawberry Eraser is any indication of where they’re taking their music, then the best may still be yet to come for this ever-evolving group.



s
Recent reviews by this author
Taylor Swift The Tortured Poets Department (Anthology)Bayside There Are Worse Things Than Being Alive
Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties In Lieu of FlowersVampire Weekend Only God Was Above Us
Sum 41 Heaven :x: HellWaxahatchee Tigers Blood
user ratings (12)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2024


60521 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Air Drumming Fix You" sounds like a Brothers in Arms C-side in a slightly more modern palette - not what I was expecting from this band

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2024


26201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

ooh!

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2024


5911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to see this get a (nice) review, thanks Sowing!



I like this EP a lot, would be at least a 4 if there was another quality song to close things out. The two shorter tunes are nice, but feel like little addendums to Air Drumming Fix You more than anything.

Sowing
Moderator
March 25th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is basically a single, haha.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2024


5911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Air Drumming Fix You is so good

Sowing
Moderator
April 13th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah that song makes the EP. Definitely one of the band's best.

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2024


18868 Comments


haven't listened yet but that's one of my favorite song titles of the year so far haha

Sowing
Moderator
April 13th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Every time I see the song title I imagine someone actually trying to do it and it makes me laugh

theBoneyKing
April 13th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta check

theBoneyKing
April 13th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wait this is awesome

Sowing
Moderator
April 13th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ohhh shit. Boney-approved.

theBoneyKing
April 13th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like the more lo-fi, bedroom pop sound this has.

Sowing
Moderator
April 13th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did you hear ILYSM?

theBoneyKing
April 13th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did, it was a strong 3.5

Sowing
Moderator
April 13th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is excellent obviously, but ILYSM is perfection.

theBoneyKing
April 14th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This could trigger a heel turn on these guys for me. I know many with similar taste to me in current bands absolutely love them. “Cielo Wheed” is a perfect little miniature.

theBoneyKing
April 15th 2024


24438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well last night she was dying

To get something off of her chest

There was more gas in the tank

But the tank was on fire, I guess


Sowing
Moderator
April 15th 2024


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess the good life

Didn't look like you thought it might




...hits hardest for me

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2024


26201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

huh this kinda sound is exactly my shit but im feeling a bit lukewarm on this

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2024


26201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

did not expect the scuzzy/noise aesthetic here... not sure if I buy it coming from them, feel like they're wearing a Halloween costume



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy