Apogean
Cyberstrictive


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (627 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2024 | 25 replies


Release Date: 03/08/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: now that’s metal

Apogean’s sound is not restrictive, and yet they show a good deal of restraint. They play technical death metal with a never ending onslaught of riffs and drums. However, excess is not overused in the same way that Rings of Saturn become annoying. The little doodles and weird bits all sink into a well written composition. Beats stay consistent and are surprisingly not overwhelming, despite unrelenting heaviness. The band will not take it easy on you. Track four bursts in like a grenade explosion breaking open your home door or Lara Croft entering another tomb. Like Lara’s predictable nature, you can expect the same thing to happen over and over in Cyberstrictive. The rest is head banger material. This can be said because the beat patterns are quite catchy, yet thunderous. Technical death metal has the tendency to make you wanna shake your booty, and Apogean understand that a confusing mess of bullshit only hinders that experience. Sure, the patterns are fast and furious, but they are well synced and calculated. It’s no slapdash experience like a shitty fish and chip restaurant adding more grease to replace flavour. In fact, this release is quite juicy from beginning to end. Their little ambient moments add a lot to what would be a simple soundscape. Synced instruments fit like a glove, and these definitely do. I hardly listen to technical death metal but this one had me returning like a dog returning to its owner.



Recent reviews by this author
Blood Stain Child CyberiaVorga Beyond the Palest Star
Taylor Swift The Tortured Poets DepartmentILLIT SUPER REAL ME
Dark Oath Ages of ManTriton Project Messenger's Quest
user ratings (28)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
NexCeleris
March 23rd 2024


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice little write-up, pos'd.



Glad this finally got covered. Loved every second of it and still spin it on a regular basis.

Pikazilla
March 23rd 2024


29816 Comments


interesting will check

pizzamachine
March 23rd 2024


27252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

‘twas surprising this didn’t get a review til now

Hawks
March 23rd 2024


88268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like the exact kind of tech death that I hate lmao. Pos ahrd bro.

Tundra
March 23rd 2024


9715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it is good

NexCeleris
March 23rd 2024


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Already predicted you'd 1.0 this, Hawks. Who knows, maybe you'll show mercy this time and give it a 1.5?

bloc
March 23rd 2024


70237 Comments


Solid tech death, but I will say, per Nex's prediction, I thought the Into Madness EP was way better

Dmax28
March 23rd 2024


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was hyped for this for months. I love how clean and catchy this style of tech death is. Nice review. Informative and straight to the point.

dachstheangry
March 23rd 2024


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice seeing a review for this.

bellovddd
March 24th 2024


6022 Comments


nice pizza! gotta jam this!

Hawks
March 24th 2024


88268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I stand corrected, this slayz.

pizzamachine
March 24th 2024


27252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Told ya

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2024


650 Comments


I will listen to this soon, ty for covering

Hawks
March 24th 2024


88268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed with Tundra's soundoff for this also tbh. Reminds me a lot of Inferi which is never a bad thing.

Purpl3Spartan
March 24th 2024


8643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will check

Tundra
March 24th 2024


9715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Also has that cosmic dm vibe I associate with Inanimate Existence

Purpl3Spartan
March 24th 2024


8643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the most conventional review from pizza I have seen in years

Hawks
March 25th 2024


88268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short and sweet reviews are the best.



Album ripz ahrd. Love the sci-fi themes here and this brand of tech death is nowhere near as wanky and aimless as I was expecting.

pizzamachine
March 25th 2024


27252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeh this is more shreds/chugs

Hawks
March 25th 2024


88268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Other than Inferi I definitely get some Origin vibes as well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy