Night Verses
Every Sound Has a Color...: Part II


4.2
excellent

Review

by Tyler White STAFF
March 20th, 2024 | 107 replies


Release Date: 03/15/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As the night ends

Without skipping a beat, Part II jumps into chaos with the blistering “Plague Dancer,” starkly contrasting the serene closing of Part I. Much like the front end of the album, Part II relies on a dynamic of heavy, intense moments and withdrawn, peaceful moments. “Crystal X” and “Desire To Feel Nothing,” though different in mood, achieve the same end goal with an ebb and flow between the aggressive riffing and groovy, softer atmospheric sections. Where the former frantically shifts tempos and intensity, the latter embraces a slow burn approach that relies an a haunting ambiance that slowly grows darker with each buildup.

Now, remember when I said sometimes words aren’t necessary? Go ahead and strike that off the record for now. With their first inclusion of vocals since Into the Vanishing Light, “Glitching Prisms” and “Slow Dose” integrate beautiful vocal melodies intricately into the lucid-like soundscapes of the tracks. In the first of the vocal tracks, Brandon Boyd of Incubus pulls off one of his best vocal performances in recent years, perfectly fitting into the dreamy atmosphere and subtle groove of “Glitching Prism.” On the other track, Anthony Green utilizes his higher range to loftily sing atop the softest song of the entire record. Although the track doesn’t really go anywhere in particular, it’s a unique addition to the second half of the album that shows Night Verses digging deeper into experimental options of vocal features.

However, the true highlight of the both parts of the record lies in the closing “Phoenix V Invocation.” With a slow countdown from 16 lingering in the background, the song builds atop a persistent guitar progression that explodes into one of the heaviest sections performed by the band. Shifting between a breakdown-like riff and verses driven by bass grooves and drum chops, the closer brings together everything that makes Night Verses as amazing of an instrumental band that they are. Concluding with a cacophony of drums and grainy, low-tuned guitars, the song fades into the opening audio recordings of “Copper Wasp,” bringing Every Color Has a Sound in the Valley of Night full circle with the rest of their discography.

Though not quite reaching the same consistency of Part I, Part II brings about fresh ideas and experimentation from Night Verses. With highlights like “Glitching Prisms” and the closer, the highs lift up the lows and tie the album together with Part I. Though there isn’t a clear-cut distinction between the two parts, one thing is certain: the complete Every Color Has a Sound in the Valley of Night is a fantastic addition to Night Verses’ instrumental era.



Recent reviews by this author
Greyhaven Stereo GriefNight Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part I
The Callous Daoboys God Smiles Upon the Callous DaoboysRed (USA) Rated R
Polaris FatalismJohnny Booth Moments Elsewhere
user ratings (139)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2024


4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Finally finished the full review, here y'all goooo

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2024


60206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

words are just noise

words are just noise

Slex
March 20th 2024


16497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Johnny switch yr ratings for Pt 1 and 2 so we match

JayEnder
March 21st 2024


19713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'VE BEEN UNSURE



I'VE BEEN UNSURE



I'VE BEEN UNCERTAIN ALOTTTTT

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2024


26050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

This is so good

JayEnder
March 21st 2024


19713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They should just drop a whole album with Brandon. Glitching Prisms is amazing

onionbubs
March 21st 2024


20597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the homie tyman

Mythodea
March 21st 2024


7457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, amazing album, more varied than the first part, probably, though not as consistent. On the whole, though, I think they might have surpassed "In The Gallery..."

FrozenFirebug
March 21st 2024


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

they released it like this so it could be aoty for 2 years in a row

Demon of the Fall
March 21st 2024


33540 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This seemed like a major step down from pt. 1 on initial inspection



The vocal features actually detract from the experience

LunaticSoul
March 21st 2024


2398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Phoenix V still floors me everytime I put it up



I wasn't a big fan of glitching prisms but it really grew on me





Mythodea
March 21st 2024


7457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I thought at first that the songs didn't add much, but both "Glitching Prisms" with its intricate vocal lines and the laid back nature of "Slow Dose" have become important to the listening experience. Both vocalists slay in their own way

Pikazilla
March 21st 2024


29714 Comments


this is my favourite night verses since lift your existence

FearThyEvil
March 21st 2024


18523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Anthony Green track completely halts the rhythm of the album in the worst way possible

KrillBoi
March 21st 2024


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Shit slaaaaaps, especially Phoenix V, what an absolute face melter

LunaticSoul
March 21st 2024


2398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd really like a Lift your Existence updated version with guest vocalists and like better production/songwriting. I gave it a spin yesterday and man the production/mix quality is so behind lol.



Also the instrumental bits, man they all levelled up their game since then.



Personally I really like this pt. 2 is a bit more experimental, and it fits with pt. 1 being more "standard"

gravityswitch
March 21st 2024


1874 Comments


Always be fond of vocals in Night Verses, will listen.

Also great album art

SteakByrnes
March 21st 2024


29691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Closer is gas but the rest of this is so hit or miss

outliers
March 21st 2024


4894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The Anthony Green track completely halts the rhythm of the album in the worst way possible"



this hard. the transition from Crystal X to Slow Dose is so jarring lmao

SteakByrnes
March 21st 2024


29691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea antonio verde is an unfortunate miss on this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy