Night Verses
Every Sound Has a Color...: Part I


4.4
superb

Review

by Tyler White STAFF
March 13th, 2024 | 162 replies


Release Date: 09/15/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Just the beginning of night

Night Verses has established themselves as instrumental geniuses. From the Gallery of Sleep proved this with their impressive display of heavy riffing, peaceful ambiance, and dynamic songwriting. The trio of guitarist Nick DePirro, drummer Aric Improta, and bassist Reilly Herrera are each extraordinarily talented on their own, yet accentuate each other’s proficiency through their performances. Every Sound Has A Color In The Valley Of Night builds upon the instrumental success of Night Verses’ previous album. Much like the album itself, this review is split into two parts to amplify the power of the album’s division.

Sometimes words aren’t necessary. After sitting with the first 30 minutes of the album for half a year, Night Verses’ technical instrumentation speaks louder than words could ever. A lucid landscape presents itself throughout Every Sound Has A Color In The Valley Of Night embedded within the dream-like atmosphere, interrupted only by subtle and brief audio clips. Much like its predecessor, the record relies on a dynamic that is sometimes volatile. “8 Gates of Pleasure'' opens with a haunting sense of urgency as the drums roll through with an accentuating siren-like effect. This explodes into a chorus full of vibrant guitar and bass leads that maneuver along into a punishing riff and drum groove that is both heavy and catchy. “Arrival” and “Bound to You” follow a similar pattern, with fast-paced riffs and leads contrasted by softer verses with smooth bass passages and fluid drumming.

However, not every track contains that stark contrast between the heavier songwriting and ambient sections. “Rose Wire” and “Love In A Liminal Space” interject themselves in between tracks of controlled chaos, opting to dive deep into the atmospheric progressions of synth pads, bass grooves, and clean guitar leads rather than the intensity found in the surrounding sections. “Séance,” which has the first feature in Night Verses’ discography from bassist Justin Chancellor of Tool, continues to follow the path of these softer tracks, allowing the instrumentation to flow uninterrupted. It’s a tranquil conclusion to the return of Night Verses.

But it isn’t a conclusion now, is it? No, this is only just the beginning. This beautiful, yet at times chaotic, dreamstate is just establishing itself. Can’t you hear the colors of the valley of night?



Recent reviews by this author
One Step Closer All You EmbraceDiamond Construct Angel Killer Zero
Greyhaven Stereo GriefNight Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part II
The Callous Daoboys God Smiles Upon the Callous DaoboysRed (USA) Rated R
user ratings (271)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Part II tomorrow

SteakByrnes
March 13th 2024


29829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lets go thats my friend tyler man one hundred and twenty eight

Slex
March 13th 2024


16597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am so ready oh my god

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am stoked to hear anthony green on pt II lol

onionbubs
March 13th 2024


21087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lfg

clavier
Emeritus
March 13th 2024


1171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pt II hype train let's go

JayEnder
March 13th 2024


19951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So confused how this is gonna work in the database. Are we classifying both parts as separate albums? Or just adding Part 2's tracklist onto here and considering it one album? (also subsequently making it a 2024 release)



Idk why my head is spinning about this but HYPE regardless

clavier
Emeritus
March 13th 2024


1171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's an interesting question from a listener's perspective too, since we'll now have to consider it as a whole after months of only having the first half

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm viewing it in a similar way to when Coheed did the same thing. They are separate releases, but the same "era" imo

clavier
Emeritus
March 13th 2024


1171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's how I think it would end up for me as well, although Aric's comment from a while back suggests that he intends for this to be considered one release (i.e. listening to the first half only is like omitting everything from No. 0 and onwards from the previous album)





FrozenFirebug
March 13th 2024


851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i'd say keep it separate in the database since part 2 plans to be more distinctly vocal



and so existing ratings don't have to be potentially re-evaluated



but i'm probably going to tag them as the same album locally unless part 2's cover is sick

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My hope is that pt. II can both stand on its own and combine with this for a satisfying experience. I don't think I can fundamentally treat the two as one release nor completely separate. I think Coheed executed the concept well, as did Trophy Scars with Darkness, Oh Hell and Never Born Never Dead. Then you have nightmare examples like Justin Timberlake lol



If they really wanted this to be treated as one whole release, they shoulda just not split it up lol

clavier
Emeritus
March 13th 2024


1171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed, it's just a fact of the matter that people will hear it that way given the release schedule



having vocals again is nice, especially with vocalists who can stand out with their style/technical proficiency





JayEnder
March 13th 2024


19951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh man that pt. 2 album art is 🔥

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


26199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

did we not have a rev for this?? such a killer album

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2024


32043 Comments


Whoa boss move reviewing this before the new one Tyler.

Scoot
March 14th 2024


22205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's a complete mystery as to how this album did not yet have a review

onionbubs
March 14th 2024


21087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh i remember a lot of talk when this dropped around how people didnt want to talk about it until they had part 2 so i get it

clavier
Emeritus
March 14th 2024


1171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like Glitching Prisms more than anything off Part I and would have judged the album very differently without it

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2024


60503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For a style I normally couldn't care less for, I had a really great time with this album - but the absolute furthest thought from my mind at any given point was "this needs an Anthony Green feature"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy