Faye Webster
Underdressed At The Symphony


2.2
poor

Review

by Dakota West Foss STAFF
March 5th, 2024 | 17 replies


Release Date: 03/01/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Underwritten at the Recording Session

Faye Webster is never beating the “terminally chill” allegations. Underdressed at the Symphony is appropriately named, finding its gorgeous and lush instrumentation clawing at the ceiling, the wall, the floor -anywhere!- for a single idea to latch onto. Sadly, they rarely leave a mark with even the most biting songs like “He Loves Me Yeah!” being little more than a nibble, with its rareform energy being subsumed by the listless platitude “my baby loves me, yeah he loves me, yeah.” Perhaps we’re getting a little ahead of ourselves though. There’s nothing inherently wrong with Faye’s brand of gentleness; at its best, her songwriting can anchor itself in delicate swirls that are perfect for morning coffee and swaying in the summertime. That’s still the case here as the production and sound design are still sublime as ever, as slide guitars add twangy whispers to buttery smooth jams, but you get the sense that the band members are looking at each other with panicked hesitation to present any actual songwriting when the improvisation has its bluff called. “Lego Ring” serves then, as a much-needed shot in the arm with a left-field collaboration with Lil Yachty that works far better than it has any right to, only to immediately be kneecapped by the shockingly vacant “Feeling Good Today”. That one-two punch? is a good microcosm of the album, with the former using Yachty’s flamboyant delivery as a charming feature and the latter auto-tunes Faye’s otherwise gorgeous voice to some sort of ill-conceived MySpace-era hell. The title track stands as another highlight in a sea of nothing, again making the album’s name too appropriate, with an actual hook to hang your coat on and some genuinely arresting strings to match its cozy-but-eager jazzy instrumentation. It’s in that moment that I can once again see the vision of Faye Webster’s music soundtracking some closed-eyes swaying at a summer festival. Sadly, the rest of the album sounds designed to soundtrack concert-goers talking to each other about anything but what is happening on stage.



Recent reviews by this author
Taylor Swift The Tortured Poets Department (Anthology)Future and Metro Boomin We Still Don't Trust You
J. Cole Might Delete LaterElbow Audio Vertigo
DragonForce Warp Speed WarriorsBleachers Bleachers
user ratings (25)
2.7
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

Quick lil soundoff-ish review. Really not a lot to say here. Kinda disappointing and the definition of "Go girl, give us nothing"

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2024


1779 Comments


I'm really glad you took the time to write this cause I was a bit on the fence as to if I was gonna check this out. Nothing since her s/t has done anything for me so seeing this, I might just skip it.

TheManMachine
March 5th 2024


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is great

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

Each one of her albums seems less and less concerned with the songwriting itself, which is a shame because it's usually quite good when she takes the time to flesh things out a bit more. I think if you cobble up the best of her last three albums you'd have something pretty special but as is, it's just semi-enjoyable nothingburgers

someone
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2024


6651 Comments


I'm still planning on checking this. There's sth charming about her lightweight anti-writing.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

I agree. I want to like this more than I did. I was actually quite fond of I Think I'm Funny, Haha but I think this one really pushes the lack of writing to over the limit

TheManMachine
March 7th 2024


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love that lil yachty and her went to middle school together. a somewhat endearing explanation as to why on earth he's on this record

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

lol had no idea that was the case. That's cute

theBoneyKing
March 7th 2024


24439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agree with the general sentiment that I wish her songwriting were sharper but the general production and vibe of this are really enjoyable. It’s like Lambchop-lite.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

My initial listen was a lot more favorable than my review ended up being because of the attention I tried giving it. This album is perfectly fine for just tuning out and having some pleasant background noise, but I maintain that her other albums are just plain better for that.

artificialbox
March 7th 2024


1685 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I didn’t want to believe this review. One song in and I was like this isn’t bad! I love Faye Webster! and then I got hit with blunders like Lego Ring and He Loves Me Yeah and was like uuuggggggggghhhhh

Odal
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2024


2095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

I had a very similar experience lol I was like "alright! More vibes like the album!" and then I realized that not only was that not what I really wanted, but also that this was just a lesser version of that

Slex
March 7th 2024


16610 Comments


Nothing she's done has ever been remotely interesting in the slightest imo

someone
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2024


6651 Comments


"lil yachty and her went to middle school togeth"

That has got to be the wildest or the mildest school in the world.

TheManMachine
March 11th 2024


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the video for their song together is great

AmericanFlagAsh
April 18th 2024


13332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Massive letdown compared to her last one

Jash
April 18th 2024


4962 Comments


Yeah last one was great, scared to listen to this one now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy